We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Greyhound Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Greyhound Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 150: English reviews
england
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Greyhound for 2 nights recently and it was a great experience! The staff were all wonderful, Matt, Anne, the bar staff and the cleaners were all friendly & helpful and ensured that we had a great stay. The rooms were clean and tidy, we stayed in James Brown, (great room), nice comfortable beds and good sized...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nugget00
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Haven't been to this pub for quite a few years but decided with friends to have dinner there. Very charming dining room with space around the tables excellent service and beautifully cooked food from the starters to the desserts my duck was excellent and the ham hock was a winner with our men defiantly will be making a repeat appearance...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carole P
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Disappointing, this pub has an excellent reputation and yet we were kept waiting over 30 minutes after ordering, the food wasn't particularly hot, the chicken was tasteless and the red wine jus had split. A very disappointing visit and one we won't be repeating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JulieF72
Matthew M, Manager at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am upset to learn that you were disappointed with lunch yesterday. First of all, due to extreme unforeseen circumstances, at very late notice, we lost a couple of staff members back of house, which may have had a bearing on the 30 minutes you had to wait from ordering, all that said, our chicken...

Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped by chance for lunch. Faultless cooking of good ingredients, faultlessly served and presented in great surroundings. Just faultless. Guinea foul supreme with the best black pudding I've had for ages, great Timothy Taylor beer.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul H
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This inn is in one of the prettiest villages in Dorset that it is certainly worth the journey from Dorchester. It is a very popular place that you need to book a table, even at lunchtime. As it was a very busy time of year, just after Xmas, the landlord was most helpful indicating how long food will take throughout...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helen T
Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely pub and caring owners and the new waitress was very attentive. Menu varied and exciting. Love the new dining area and the food was very good particularly the hake fish and chips .... best I've had. Drinks took a while in arriving but overall the lunch was a triumph for all ... In fact we are going back next...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank luckytones
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

We only stopped one night visiting a friend. The hospitality, cleanliness of the Room, and the excellent Breakfast this morning made the experience a memorable one, and we will definitely return. We saw the new restaurant and it looks great. Unfortunately they don't do meals after 5 pm on a Sunday so we went to the Saxon Arms a few...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Russell B
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016

We went for dinner last night, one of our regular haunts, and to check out the newly opened restaurant extension. Matt and team as always very welcoming. We were stunned by the beautiful new additional restaurant which blends with the old so well it looks as if has always been there. The lovely wood flooring is perfectly matched and runs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Quaver90
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

The Hotel was very welcoming. It was selected because it is dog friendly and so it turned out. The staff couldn't do enough for us. Very comfortable room. Very nice breakfast. Everything was very pleasant all round. Thank you - great to be looked after. Dog happy too and gave it its paw of approval.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TonythemadRussian
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

My husband and I were keen to try the Greyhound for dinner, after reading such amazing reviews, however, as we came in there was a large extension being built and from what we overheard, the new management have only been here about 18 months. We feel that they may have enjoyed the success of their predecessors perhaps as I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suziesue20

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
10.9 km away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
136 reviews
11.2 km away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
10.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
808 reviews
32.8 km away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
253 reviews
15.3 km away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Awarded Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence 2012 this is Dorset's Dining Pub of the Year twice in the past three years. Handsome 18th century coaching inn in one of England's prettiest villages, full of thatched cottages with a trout stream running through. Mentioned in Thomas Hardy's novels and the setting for Hollywood films of his work.Six newly refurbished bedrooms, dvds, ipod docks, proper pillows and duvets, wellies for bad weather and an award winning restaurant just across the car park from our stable block rooms.Families positively welcomed and we'll make you something to eat no matter what time you arrive. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Greyhound Inn

Address: 26 High Street | Sydling St Nicholas, Dorchester DT2 9PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Price Range: ₹ 6,818 - ₹ 8,148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Greyhound Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Greyhound Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greyhound Hotel Dorchester
The Greyhound Inn Dorchester, Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Greyhound Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Woking, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Greyhound Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay the little extra and get the bigger rooms”
 of 5 bubbles nugget00, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Possibly the rooms on the second floor are better”
 of 5 bubbles Birdwatcherhampshire, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not a place to stay if looking for a room with a view but you don't have to walk far to get one.”
 of 5 bubbles 550annetted, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I should imagine all the rooms are good; we were pleased we were in an upstairs room though in a sunny corner.”
 of 5 bubbles 100garyp, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Possibly an upstairs room is better for privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles Flyer19, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay