We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Winter Dene

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Winter Dene
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Winter Dene
See the most recent reviews
Showing 97: English reviews
Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Reviewed 10 August 2016

The Winter Dene is a grand old house that has been beautifully renovated and decorated with character. It is well located, 10-15 minutes from the town centre and within easy reach of the beach. The spacious, comfortable and airy room was on the 2nd floor, under the eaves, which added to the charm. I enjoyed waking every morning to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FizzyJazzle
Croydon, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Everything was good here, the room was lovely, bathroom looked new and very fresh. Nice and quiet,we were at the top of the house. Lots of choice at breakfast and freely replenished. I must say, contrary to a previous comment, that we found the host made the breakfast experience, his humour livened it up. This is very near excellent, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nursecsb
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2016

just had a nice five days at winter dean hotel great breakfast to start the day rooms are great.very close to the beach just a walk down the chine .and it is a good location for buses into town and poole. we will be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oge12365
herefordshire
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

Just stayed one night as I was working in Bournemouth. I chose the hotel from the reviews and was not disappointed! Friendly hotel very clean! Lovely comfortable beds and clean sheets. Breakfast was freshly cooked and excellent selection. Will definitely stay again! Well done to the owners it was a pleasure!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank binnie-7
rompipalla, Owner at The Winter Dene, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay here and hope to welcome you again.

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Just spent 3 excellent evenings at the Winter Dene. A lovely Victorian building 10 mins walk from the beach and clifftop walks. Close enough to the town to walk to but far enough away from the hustle and bustle. The hotel owners were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very nice with a good selection of food to choose from. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank spikeynorm
rompipalla, Owner at The Winter Dene, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review - it has done wonders for our morale!

Maynooth, Ireland
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Renzo is of not asset to this hotel especially with his smart comment of "Good Afternoon" when we arrived at breakfast at 9.05am. This kind of humour does not work for me maybe in Como it might.. As soon as you put any cutlery down he clears the plate away with seconds.. how they achieved Excellent Breakfast is beyond us....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mallie6666
rompipalla, Owner at The Winter Dene, responded to this review

We are extremely sorry you took offence at Renzo's comment it was meant light heartedly. With regard your other points: Our guests are usually grateful that they do not have to sit for prolonged periods of time with a dirty plate in front of them. We have the Breakfast Award because we provide an excellent choice and well cooked fresh...

Reviewed 16 May 2016

The location was excellent, less than 10 mins walk to the beach and the city centre. We had a large and beautiful room with tv and fully equipped bathroom. Lovley garden and living room. Excellent breakfast!. Friendly and helpful owners. They made us feel welcome

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalia H
rompipalla, Owner at The Winter Dene, responded to this review

Thank you for your taking time to write a comment and we hope to welcome you again sometime.

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights for a girly weekend away and was great. Room was big and bed very comfy. Very friendly and welcoming staff and in a great position near town and beach within 5-10 minutes. Would definitely recommend. Also does great breakfast too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

Needing a base for our day trip to Guernsey and having studied the reviews of Hotels in Bournemouth, we decided to give The Winter Dene a try. The previous reviews were correct, everything about our time there was excellent, the Owners are great, the whole Hotel is spotless, our room was comfortable with top quality linen and had a newly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wadlowphil
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed the weekend in this hotel. The room was large and the bathroom was newly refurbished. Everything was clean. The large bed was very comfortable. The hotel was quiet. The full English breakfast was very tasty. The owners were very friendly. We would definitely stay here again. The sat nav directs you to the back of the hotel but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RS187634

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 km away
Tower House Hotel
Tower House Hotel
#35 of 66 in Bournemouth
223 reviews
0.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Montague Hotel
BEST WESTERN Montague Hotel
#45 of 66 in Bournemouth
474 reviews
0.7 km away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Living Room Bournemouth
Living Room Bournemouth
#17 of 133 in Bournemouth
353 reviews
0.4 km away
Blue Palms
Blue Palms
#15 of 133 in Bournemouth
256 reviews
0.1 km away
Applewood Hotel
Applewood Hotel
#14 of 133 in Bournemouth
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Visit Britain 4 Star Guest Accommodation with Silver Award and Breakfast Award. An elegant Victorian villa which has been lovingly refurbished to offer comfortable surroundings for your holidays. Situated in a quiet area of the West Cliff, just 5 minutes walk from beach and 10 minutes walk to Bournemouth International Centre and town centre, pier, etc. All rooms are en-suite with bath and/or shower, TV with freeview/radio, hairdryer, safe and tea/coffee making facilities. Superior doubles and family rooms have king size or superkingsize beds. Large car park within hotel garden. Refrigerator for guest use and ice. Free WIFI. Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Winter Dene

Address: 11 Durley Road South | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: ₹ 3,722 - ₹ 9,924 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winter Dene 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Winter Dene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winter Dene Bournemouth, Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Winter Dene staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
UNITED KINGDOM
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Winter Dene staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room at ground level, room 1 was good size and quiet”
martinades1, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Top floor, if you don't mind the climb!”
FizzyJazzle, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are good”
oge12365, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Not good if you dont do stairs as the breakfast room is in the basement.”
887francesm, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Family room overlooks garden”
Tud59, 2 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5