We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Topaz Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Topaz Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 244: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a terrible hotel. On our way down from London we had a call from the owner asking what time we would arrive I said before 20:00 they said fine. It was absolutely pouring with rain and we arrived at 19:40, reception door was locked so we rang the 3 doorbells numerous times and no answer we then called the... More 

Helpful?
Thank jenira2016
Anne_and_AK, Owner at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, First, we would like to thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We sincerely apologize for the negative experience you had. We had to leave the property urgently to go to the hospital, as we knew you were due to arrive around 8pm, we arranged to have a key available for you upon arrival, unfortunately we did... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

My wife and her two daughters (both over 30) stayed here for one Saturday night in September which was pre-paid via Booking.com. The hotel was 'adequate', BUT I discovered the Topaz had decided to take an additional £30 from my credit card on the day they checked out. I didn't find out until I received my credit card statement and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pete S
Anne_and_AK, Owner at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, First, we would like to thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. It is a shame that hotel guests these days seem to feel they have the right to abuse hotel linen and towels and think that this is normal practice and is included in the price of the room. Like most hotels, guests checking in to... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

We arrived at this "hotel" and rang the doorbell for entrance - no answer. Rang the phone number provided - no answer!! After 25 minutes of waiting we had to leave to attend a conference which was the reason for our stay with our luggage in tow! When we got back later that day again we got no answer at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cs1808
Anne_and_AK, Owner at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, First, we would like to thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. It is a shame that hotel guests these days seem to feel they have the right to abuse hotel linen and towels and think that this is normal practice and is included in the price of the room. Like most hotels, guests checking in to... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Would not recommend this 'hotel'. To start with we were ignored when we rang the bell to check in. We were 10 mins early so fair enough we waited. After finally being let in we were welcomed by a rude gentlemen which I assume is the manager. We got our key and made our way to our room on the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2016

I had a great stay at the Topaz. It is situated less than 8 minutes from the beach. There is a convenience store less than a couple of minutes away. There are lots of pubs and restaurants to choose from. Even though I shared my bathroom it was clean. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, and would definitely stay again.

Helpful?
Thank lyndebeer
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2016

On our arrival at the Topaz we were checked in by the owner who came across quite stern and serious but overall was a good host, parking on offer was an advantage however was quite narrow although this can't always be helped. We stayed in the family room which was very well presented and spacious, the facilities and cleanliness was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank James F
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2016

My children - 12 and 14 - and I really enjoyed our stay here. On arrival, the owner was all smiles, made my children and I feel really welcomed and at home, and he helped me up the stairs with my very heavy baggage! The room was clean and comfortable, and it made a change to stay in a family... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lexilexis
Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Very clean guesthouse , with parking, great breakfast, very helpful Hili, very nicely decorated rooms.Its been awhile since we last stayed there, but if you're on a budget holiday, its the place to go. Lovely place and walking distance to centre.

Helpful?
Thank Charmaine C
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Booked the topaz hotel for 3 nights in the school holidays. We stayed in the family room, double bed and two singles with en suite. The room was a good size for us all the kids absolutely loved the room. Tea and coffee replenished every day. The hotel is in a great location at the top of the street there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

It was a very amazing so comfortable bed didn't want to leave the bed (ever!) it was cheap and better than expected!!Very comfy!!! And nice staff good staff, really close to town very clean and tidy!! Nice choice of coffee😇😇😇😇😇😇😇😇😇😇😇😇😇😇

Helpful?
Thank elliepersence

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 km away
The Newark Hotel
The Newark Hotel
#46 of 144 in Bournemouth
193 reviews
0.0 km away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#83 of 144 in Bournemouth
146 reviews
0.0 km away
Shirley Hotel
Shirley Hotel
#55 of 144 in Bournemouth
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#88 of 144 in Bournemouth
282 reviews
0.1 km away
Mount Stuart Hotel
Mount Stuart Hotel
#29 of 144 in Bournemouth
174 reviews
0.3 km away
Applewood Hotel
Applewood Hotel
#22 of 144 in Bournemouth
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally situated on Bournemouth's Westcliff, we are within a 5 minute walk of the town centre, Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) & the award winning beaches. The Topaz has recently undergone a full refurbishment, bedrooms are modern "un-chintzy", clean, bright and decorated to a high standard, most rooms have en-suite facilities, all with LCD televisions, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and Free wireless Internet. We offer a high standard of bed & breakfast accommodation with delicious continental, full English and other breakfast options. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Topaz Hotel

Address: 79 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DR, England (Formerly The Redlands)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: ₹ 3,961 - ₹ 8,869 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Topaz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topaz Hotel Bournemouth, Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Topaz Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay!”
 of 5 bubbles jenira2016, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Back of property would be away from road noise, especially if opening windows at night.”
 of 5 bubbles lemec79, 10 May 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms I've seen are good, they have many rooms to suite different people's needs.”
 of 5 bubbles j36821, 13 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Avoid this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles R1945FBians, 15 Oct 2015 | Read review
“do not stay in the small double as the ensuite is very small especially the ensuite”
 of 5 bubbles LisaW955, 2 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay