We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Suncliff Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,803 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Suncliff Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,789: English reviews
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2015

4 of us booked an outside table for the Friday Air Show. A smashing experience, with a perfect view of the action and great buffet food, I have to say a special thank you to ALL the staff and Managers on duty that day, everyone was happy, smiling, attentive and helpful, no mater where you met them in the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hardtop12
Tcornish, Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a time to post your review. I wanted to thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recently visit at the Suncliff. I’m very pleased that you and your group have enjoyed. As you mentioned, all our staff work very hard to ensure that every guest feel as welcome as possible and...

portland uk
Reviewed 22 August 2015

We spent the yesterday afternoon with a group of friends at The Suncliff Hotel in their conservatory to have a base to watch Bournemouth's Air Show. The hotel was Very busy but as pre-booked guest's our table was 'Set up' for the group on our arrival, Pimms was available on arrival and a reasonably priced bar was open during our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank david p
Tcornish, Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a time to post your review. Fantastic comments regarding your recently visit at the Suncliff. A pleasing result, with great feedback regarding your whole experience. We will be more than happy to offer you a unique experience with us any time you decided. We do guarantee the best rates booking direct with the hotel, so please...

Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

Had another fab air show day. Lovely staff. Fab food. Great view of the planes. Excellent service as always. Good value for money as had full buffet with wine, pimms and strawberries. Well organised and highly recommend to make the air show experience better. Will book again next year...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lewistoft
Tcornish, Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a time to post your review. Fantastic comments regarding your recently visit at Suncliff. Our team of staff will be delighted with your comments. We do pride ourselves in delivering excellent customer service. We hope to have the pleasure of welcome you back to our Hotel again in future. Once again thank you for your review....

Bournemouth
Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

Thank you for an excellent day, on arrival we were settled down to our table looking seaward and a glass of Pimms arrived. The buffet lunch spread was delicious and we'll replenished. The staff were friendly and attentive. Matched with the Bournemouth Air festival a splendid day, thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jonathan W
Tcornish, Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a time to post your review. Thank you very much for your lovely comments, it is always rewarding the effort of a whole team is recognized. I am very pleased that you had a wonderful experience during your visit to our hotel. I hope to have the opportunity to warmly welcome in our facilities when you...

Fishguard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2015 via mobile

This is our last evening here of a 4 night break. Myself, my husband and our 2 children are sweating in our hot stuffy smelly room. The only reason we're still here is to see the red arrows. It's a shame as the hotel is right on the cliffs edge, location is perfect and it should be a grand hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Chopper1983
Tcornish, Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a time to post your review. My sincere apologies your stay did not meet your expectations. We thank you for your comments although we were recently acquired by an International group and we currently have an ongoing maintenance programme which is dedicated to updating our Bedroom stock, some improvements will be made in short term but...

Harrow
Reviewed 20 August 2015

This hotel is in a perfect location on the seafront. We had a breathtaking view of the sea from our balcony. We were looking forward to a break but had no idea what to expect. What we experienced was a cosy hotel, sparkling clean and comfortable. The food surpassed our expectation especially the a la carte in the restaurant. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Montgmery
Tcornish, Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a time to post your review. Thank you very much for your lovely comments, it is always rewarding the effort of a whole team is recognized. It is a great pleasure to have offered a memorable stay with us. We do guarantee the best rates booking direct with the hotel, so please do visit our website...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2015

I booked this hotel for a weekend away with my friend having previously visited with my husband. It was just as I remembered it - clean, tidy, well maintained. Having checked in Friday afternoon, my friend and I started the weekend with a fabulous hot stone massage in the Oceana Spa, next door. This hotel is situated on the East...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith A
Tcornish, Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a time to post your review. Thank you very much for your lovely comments, it is always rewarding the effort of a whole team is recognized. It is a great pleasure to have offered a memorable stay with us. We do guarantee the best rates booking direct with the hotel, so please do visit our website...

Reviewed 17 August 2015

Night away in Bournemouth, located right by the sea. 10 minute walk to town centre. Room was average, good views. Hotel a bit run down, swimming pool a bonus to have, but again run down and in need of TLC, - it didn't feel clean unfortunately. The breakfast was buffet, very busy and our room number was used prior to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katemstace
Tcornish, Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a time to post your review. Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us although some small points did not fulfil your expectations although we were recently acquired by an International group and we currently have an ongoing maintenance programme which is dedicated to updating our Bedroom stock. Where we can, improvements will be...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2015

We were treated to a weekend here by colleagues due to my husbands ill health. We had a lovely room with a balcony and sea view. The staff were kind and helpful especially Claudia in the restaurant. My husband had a massage in the spa and couldn't praise Vanessa enough. All together lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
Tcornish, Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a time to post your review. Thank you very much for your lovely comments, it is always rewarding the effort of a whole team is recognized. I am pleased that your experience with us was wonderful. We do guarantee the best rates booking direct with the hotel, so please do visit our website or call our...

Berks
Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

We booked last minute. £100 standard room or £150 sea view. Opted for the sea view = worth the extra. It seems that the rooms vary a lot. Ours=311 was spacious/clean/comfy bed (but the bathroom was a bit dated). Great views as double aspect. Staff were friendly, hotel decor a bit ...how shall I put it? "Vintage"?! Worth knowing that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank acornantiques
Tcornish, Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a time to post your review. Fantastic comments regarding your stay with us. A pleasing result, with some great feedback regarding your whole experience. We do guarantee the best rates booking direct with the hotel, so please do visit our website or call our reservations direct on 01202-298350. I hope you give us the opportunity to...

594 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (418)
Viewed
View from Room (51)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (95)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (149)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (154)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Beach (2)
Viewed
Double (20)
Viewed
Four Poster (20)
Viewed
Harry Suite (23)
Viewed
Pool (4)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
Single (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 km away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
3,267 reviews
0.0 km away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#40 of 68 in Bournemouth
30 reviews
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 68 in Bournemouth
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
2.9 km away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
1.5 km away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#7 of 68 in Bournemouth
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Sunday Carvery
Sunday Carvery
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mission Statement: The Suncliff hotel situated on the East cliff of Bournemouth five minutes from seven miles of sandy beach is a traditional English seaside hotel which has achieved a high AA 3 star rating of 75%. We offer comfortable and versatile bedrooms, as well as indoor leisure facilities. Boasting various bars and lounges were we provide live entertainment most evenings and a restaurant known for its scrumptious food and excellent service. Our friendly customer service is exceptional and with our ‘can do’ attitude we are happy to go the extra mile to make sure every guest enjoys their time with us. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Suncliff Hotel

Address: 29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: ₹ 2,856 - ₹ 12,241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suncliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Suncliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncliff Hotel Bournemouth
Suncliff Bournemouth
The Suncliff Hotel Bournemouth, Dorset
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Suncliff Hotel staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question
Mold
over a year ago
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Greater London
over a year ago
Staffordshsire
over a year ago

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from The Suncliff Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Very spacious room on top floor, little bit of wear and tear in the bathroom,but overall very clean tidy and comfortable ”
 of 5 bubbles Mandym631201, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms good, paying for an upgrade would be worth it, especially the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles phillip_edwards333, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rear rooms might be a little dreary in outlook so I would definitely ask for a sea view room.”
 of 5 bubbles andypayne2016, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Only had lunch”
 of 5 bubbles F6764LEhelenh, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“102, 103 sea views”
 of 5 bubbles sarahcatherinem2016, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5