We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Suncliff Hotel

Hotels.comUS$ 55*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,895 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,879: English reviews
Start your review of The Suncliff Hotel
 Click to rate
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed today NEW

Although our room was at the back of the hotel, with a view to the sea from a distance, it had obviously been refurbished with new carpet, modern lights and furniture. The bathroom was clean and adequate with very hot water. We had a good deal with Superbreak, which included an excellent 3 course Carvery meal on the first night....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lmus
Devizes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We booked a couple of nights here at the last minute (sun was forecast for next two days). All staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean, comfortable and had a sea view. The hotel is part of a chain that includes the hotels either side of it and guests can use facilities of all three - restaurants, pools,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gallopingranny
Wellingborough
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

When we arrived at lunchtime no parking spaces what a start room ready after 2.30 room very dated shower in bathroom dribbled water out rubbish .Had evening meal which was average.breakfast was average cheap sausage with no taste table for two was really a table for one .Hotel was in good position on top of cliff outside poolarea a real...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Russellgayton
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were pleasantly surprised at the standard of accommodation at the Hotel. It was much bigger than we had anticipated. The bedroom was very spacious and the staff were outstanding. My husband has not been well for a long time and we dithered for a long time as to whether we should just stay at home as he has great...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Archiedog2010
Jsulimenko, Front Office Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Archiedog2010, What a wonderful feedback! Thank you so much for your 5 stars - this review is a rewarding one for our staff to read. I am sure Miguel will be excited to know that his service was exceptional and we are proud of the fact that this the way all our staff are trained. We really look forward...

Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Good service, decent coffee and food next door as well. Comfortable room, good wifi . Bed a bit too noisy and needs to be changed in that room, stay at back of hotel for it to be cool On hot days. Leisure facilities. Rooms could maybe benefit from some air con.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bakernick
Jsulimenko, Front Office Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bakernick, Thank you for your nice comments. We are happy to read that your stay was enjoyable! Fortunately, we had a bit of sunshine recently; therefore rooms might have been a bit hotter than normal. Being a 3-star hotel, we do not provide air conditioning; however, this is something we might consider in the future. We hope to have...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked a package deal 2 night DBB, which they upgraded at a small charge to the penthouse floor - a gorgeous view from our balcony (Happy anniversary!). The food was good and the bar was welcoming and parking is good and the position between the 2 piers is ideal if you can stroll along ok. Although the restaurant is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
Jsulimenko, Front Office Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tim, Wonderful feedback! We are thrilled to know that your stay was enjoyable and you would return back to our hotel for another getaway. Our penthouses are unique indeed - they provide amazing views that are worth to upgrade to. We really look forward to your next visit - please do not hesitate to contact our Reservations Team on...

stoke on trent
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We find ourselves in Bournemouth hoping for good weather, and that is exactly what we got. Checked in with the front desk staff, who are friendly and welcoming. Ride the pre war lift to the second floor to find my rather spacious sea view room. Wow the bay window of the room gives you 3 different views over the cliffs...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hmonster
Jsulimenko, Front Office Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hmonster, Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear that you have not fully enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our apologies regarding the mattress - your comments were passed to our Housekeeping team for further investigation. Thank you for complimenting our staff - they all work very hard and I am sure they will be...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed a great weekend, great staff,great food and lovely atmosphere.have been many times before taking with us our fa.ily and friends. Every time we have had a good room,excellent food and great staff.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank anstransport
Jsulimenko, Front Office Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear anstransport, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very happy to know that you had a great time and we look forward to your future visit. Best rates are always available when you book directly with the hotel, therefore please do not hesitate to contact our Resevrations Team on 01202 298350 for our latest offers. Kindest Regards...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just stayed at this hotel , the hotel is very dated , it's a bit scruffy in places, the rooms are small , it's ok for a group of friends but not the sort of place you would take your wife. There is one lift that takes for ever . Our room was poor , a twin with ensuite, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
Jsulimenko, Front Office Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris, Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate your comments as without them we cannot improve our service. Thank you for complimenting our staff - I am sure they will be thrilled to know that they are doing a great job! All our rooms are different - I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied...

Essex
Reviewed 1 week ago

My goodness me, must be the worst ever carvey. Food was Luke warm, over cooked veg. I had salmon which was also lukewarm. Chicken pie was in a big dish in squares like school dinners. Didn't stay for pud. The restaurant is like being in a dungeon, view was fencing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CheeseyEssex
Jsulimenko, Front Office Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CheeseyEssex, Thank you for your feedback and I am really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your carvery. This is surprising for us as we are proud to be serving one of the nicest carveries locally. Our apologies that your salmon was not hot enough - I am sure that if you brought this issue to our...

628 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (452)
Viewed
View from Room (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (165)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (154)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Beach (2)
Viewed
Double (20)
Viewed
Four Poster (20)
Viewed
Harry Suite (23)
Viewed
Pool (4)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
Single (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 km away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,388 reviews
0.0 km away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
74 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
2.9 km away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.6 km away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Sunday Carvery
Sunday Carvery
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mission Statement: The Suncliff hotel situated on the East cliff of Bournemouth five minutes from seven miles of sandy beach is a traditional English seaside hotel which has achieved a high AA 3 star rating of 75%. We offer comfortable and versatile bedrooms, as well as indoor leisure facilities. Boasting various bars and lounges were we provide live entertainment most evenings and a restaurant known for its scrumptious food and excellent service. Our friendly customer service is exceptional and with our ‘can do’ attitude we are happy to go the extra mile to make sure every guest enjoys their time with us. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Suncliff Hotel

Address: 29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: ₹ 3,392 - ₹ 14,312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suncliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Suncliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncliff Hotel Bournemouth
Suncliff Bournemouth
The Suncliff Hotel Bournemouth, Dorset
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Suncliff Hotel staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question
Mold
over a year ago
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Greater London
over a year ago
Staffordshsire
over a year ago

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from The Suncliff Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for a room as high up as possible to avoid noise from below. Room 108 has a tester bed so tv is blocked by upright.”
  • Tv screen obscured by bedpost.
gallopingranny, 28 May 2017 | Read review
“Park in adjacent car parks if no space. All owned by one chain, don't pay to park outside on street ! ”
Bakernick, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“It's worth getting a sea view as it is uninterrupted”
timw400, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“some mattresses could do with renewing”
jsteel83, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Penthouse rooms were wonderful ”
Robls, 5 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$ 55* /night
View Deal
CancelonUS$ 62
Orbitz.comUS$ 56
Hotwire.comUS$ 56
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates