We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Suncliff Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,803 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,789: English reviews
Start your review of The Suncliff Hotel
 Click to rate
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed for four nights . This was our fourth visit and we really enjoyed it . The food was good, although not a large selection but it catered for all. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice. Staff were helpful . Will visit again next year.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Nice place but the food was very poor. The only thing fresh was the meat. Veggies and yorkshire pudding look as though they had been there all day. Would not recommend half board though b and b value for money. Friendly staff and nice and clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel as part of a private tour party and had a wonderful time. The service on our arrival was great with the cases taken direct to the rooms Rooms we clean and tidy, Bar areas and entertainment were more than adequate. The food was excellent with great service. The Hotel its self is a 15-20 min...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colin_williams
Jsulimenko, Front Office Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear colin_williams, Thank you very much for your nice review! We really appreciate all your compliments and we are happy to know that your stay was enjoyable and you would recommend our hotel to your friends and relatives. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Suncliff very soon for another getaway. For our best rate...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have just returned from a 3 night break at the Suncliff, from the minute we arrived the staff on reception couldn't be more helpful and friendly. We had booked B&B in a superior room with seafront views (Penthouse room) which was clean, tidy - OK could do with a little sprinkle of TLC but the bed was comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kjmorg66
Jsulimenko, Front Office Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kjmorg66, Thank you for your great feedback! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and will definitely visit us again. We appreciate your comments regarding the accommodation and I can assure you that soon we are going through a refurbishment program so hopefully next time you stay at our hotel, we will be able to...

BANBURY
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very pleasant hotel, staff very friendly,food was superb, stayed a couple of days, excellant varieties of food to suit everyone taste,little bit of a walk to the city center, about 25 minutes, but only 15 minutes walk to the pier,

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandym631201
Jsulimenko, Front Office Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mandy, Thank you so much for taking your time to post some lovely comments about your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad that your experience was enjoyable and we really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Suncliff very soon for another getaway. Kindest Regards Julia Sulimenko Front Office Manager

Bridgend
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Staff very helpful couldn't do enough for us. Food was excellent especially the Sunday night Carvery. Only let down on the whole weekend Friday nights artiste failed to turn up ( so no entertainment in the ballroom ). Saturday & Sunday entertainment very good everybody enjoyed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank phillip_edwards333
Jsulimenko, Front Office Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear phillip_edwards333, Thank you very much for your kind review. We really appreciate all your compliments and our apologies about the entertainment - there was nice live music in our Pub that night, so I am sorry that you were not aware. However, I am glad that the weekend entertainment was enjoyable though and we really look forward to your...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I cannot fault this hotel for the money we paid. We got a free room upgrade with sea view, all staff were lovely,evening three course meal was very good and tasty, indoor pool was nice and warm, sauna I had all to myself, great location right on the seafront. Quiet hotel no noise all through the night. Will definitely return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
Jsulimenko, Front Office Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kelly, Thank you so much for your 5 stars and for your lovely comments! We appreciate all guest feedback and we are very happy to know that your stay was enjoyable. Our staff work very hard to please the guests; therefore this review is a rewarding one for them to read. For our latest offers please do not hesitate...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is the best 3star hotel I've been too. We first got a budget room which I stated I needed space, so they gave us a huge family room at the same price! We only asked for a double so that was really good of them. We also could see the sea out the window although wasn't a sea view....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura Naomi W
Jsulimenko, Front Office Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Laura, What an amazing review! Thank you so much for your taking your time to post such great comments about your recent experience at our hotel. We are so thrilled to know that you had a great getaway and would not hesitate to come back! The best rates are available when booking directly with the hotel - you can...

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a fantastic lunch with my family . Enjoyed listening to the a piano player which made the experience more enjoyable. Will definitely being going back very soon and for all family events . The service was very good and staff are excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrewashworth972
Jsulimenko, Front Office Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear andrewashworth972, Thank you for you great comments! I am sure that our team will be pleased to know that you and your family enjoyed the meal at our hotel and would not hesitate to come back soon. We look forward to your next visit! Kindest Regards Julia Sulimenko Front Office Manager

Crowborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Really good value stay at this sea front hotel. We were upgraded to a sea view room which also had a room sized veranda with artificial "grass". It was clean and well appointed with a comfortable bed. I have never stayed at a hotel before where ALL the staff were so friendly, efficient and hard working. The service in the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank andypayne2016
Jsulimenko, Front Office Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear andypayne2016, What an amazing review! Thank you so much for taking your time to post such nice comments about your recent experience at our hotel. This review will be a rewarding one for our staff to read and I am really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. For our latest offers please contact our Reservations Team on...

594 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (418)
Viewed
View from Room (51)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (95)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (149)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (154)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Beach (2)
Viewed
Double (20)
Viewed
Four Poster (20)
Viewed
Harry Suite (23)
Viewed
Pool (4)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
Single (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 km away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
3,272 reviews
0.0 km away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#40 of 68 in Bournemouth
30 reviews
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 68 in Bournemouth
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
2.9 km away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
1.5 km away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#7 of 68 in Bournemouth
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Sunday Carvery
Sunday Carvery
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mission Statement: The Suncliff hotel situated on the East cliff of Bournemouth five minutes from seven miles of sandy beach is a traditional English seaside hotel which has achieved a high AA 3 star rating of 75%. We offer comfortable and versatile bedrooms, as well as indoor leisure facilities. Boasting various bars and lounges were we provide live entertainment most evenings and a restaurant known for its scrumptious food and excellent service. Our friendly customer service is exceptional and with our ‘can do’ attitude we are happy to go the extra mile to make sure every guest enjoys their time with us. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Suncliff Hotel

Address: 29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: ₹ 2,946 - ₹ 12,192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suncliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Suncliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncliff Hotel Bournemouth
Suncliff Bournemouth
The Suncliff Hotel Bournemouth, Dorset
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Suncliff Hotel staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question
Mold
over a year ago
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Greater London
over a year ago
Staffordshsire
over a year ago

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from The Suncliff Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Very spacious room on top floor, little bit of wear and tear in the bathroom,but overall very clean tidy and comfortable ”
 of 5 bubbles Mandym631201, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms good, paying for an upgrade would be worth it, especially the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles phillip_edwards333, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rear rooms might be a little dreary in outlook so I would definitely ask for a sea view room.”
 of 5 bubbles andypayne2016, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Only had lunch”
 of 5 bubbles F6764LEhelenh, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“102, 103 sea views”
 of 5 bubbles sarahcatherinem2016, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5