We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hinton Firs Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hinton Firs Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

346 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 344: English reviews
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel was spotlessly clean, the staff were helpful and friendly. The rooms were lovely and big, great decoration. The hotel is just a 10/15 min walk to the city centre and a 5 min walk to the seafront.

Helpful?
1 Thank JacksH1960
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jacks H, Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay with us here at the Hinton Firs, really glad you enjoyed your visit. Look forward to welcoming you back at anytime. We are only as nice as our guests.... Have a great Christmas. More 

Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have no problem with dated hotels, especially with the price we paid, but I would not recommend this hotel as a place to stay for more than a night or two and certainly not if you are planning on spending a lot of time in the hotel. Bar is expensive, full English breakfast average. The stick out thing for... More 

Helpful?
Thank LAC172
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay with us. Sorry you found us cold. We have altered the time clock so that the heating is now coming on earlier and going off later to try and make sure this problem is sorted. We do state in the guest compendium, that if you need more... More 

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was looking forward to my sea bass; came out uncooked as did a lot of others in party. Manager advised I should have said something- why I would then be dining on my own! Chef should know how to cook!! I wasn't even offered a complimentary drink...poor customer service

Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie N N
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Debbie NN, I am very sorry that you felt that your fish was under cooked, this of course was not to our usual standard, as the party have been coming to us several times now as they are aware of our high standards of food. If you had made me aware at the time, we could have replaced it... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

stayed here before and we were happy so came back. went to have a shower and discovered that we didn't have any hot water. The shower was over a bath and this was filthy. after complaining twice they moved us to another room with a walk in shower, which was much more modern. breakfast service was very slow and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank teresab35
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us this time. If you do change your mind about giving us another chance. Please give me a call so that i can organise a room and rate that reflects the problems you encountered. You know we are better than this. Thank you for your comments, we are in... More 

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel for one night, our room was on the top floor. Room was cosy, but we had very little in the way of toiletries. Limited hot water and no hot water for a shower. The service in the restaurant for breakfast was awful with my tea arriving but my husband having to ask for his coffee... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine B
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

So sorry you feel we are only average. I apologise if you had to wait for your breakfast, As we are one of the few places that still serves breakfast to the table rather than putting it all out on a hot buffet, and letting people lose on it. I know this seems like it takes longer, but a lot... More 

Leicester- UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in August 2016 and was allocated the annexe building- The Cottage staying on the ground floor. I stayed with my husband and 8 year old son. Was pleased to get two bedrooms. But the rooms it self were no problem but there was a strange damp smell like a dark gloomy library... More 

Helpful?
Thank MsMMM
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms MMMM Thank you very much for your comments about your stay with us earlier this year. I really do wish you had mentioned to us at the time about the shower head as i am sure we could have got this replaced for you straight away. I have already spoken to our housekeeper with regards to doing something... More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for one night. Hotel has been renovated and it looks nice. The rooms are nice, equipped with a big TV and comfy bed. Room had a safe and hair dryer as well as kettle and tea's and coffee's. The one and only downside to this place was that the shower was really poor. It was a two tap... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Baiba D
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out to comment on your stay with us. Really pleased that you enjoyed the stay. So sorry about the shower, as we refurbish the rooms we are swapping them over. We do try our best to treat people as individuals, and make sure they get good service when they come away. Many thanks for... More 

Pontypridd, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2016

just got back from a 3 night stay at this hotel all the staff were very friendly and helpfull my room was very comfortable plenty of wardrobe and draw space the breakfast was very good ithis hotel is very good value and i would stay there on my next visit to bournmouth.

Helpful?
1 Thank CRAZ57MAY
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on our recent stay with us. really glad you enjoyed the hotel. Look forward to welcoming you back when you visit Bournemouth again. Thank you. More 

Barnstaple, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Stayed at the Hinton Firs again to see Shaun Locke at the Pavilion. Hotel's perfect for trips like this because it's in a quiet road but walking distance of the town center and beach (15 mins along the clifftop). Lovely big room again, easy parking, tasty breakfast, friendly welcome, all you could want from a classic Bournemouth hotel,

Helpful?
Thank Alison J
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time out to comment on your recent stay with us. So glad you enjoyed. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for your next gig. Many thanks Nick & All the staff. More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

I have stayed here many times and have always been satisfied and was again this weekend. My only criticisms (constructive) are that the pool and jacuzzi could do with refurbishment , bit grubby and that the website implies there is a 'spa' and u have to pay so I was surprised to see nothing had changed.

Helpful?
Thank Carol T
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

It is always nice to hear feedback from our regular guests. The Pool area is on our list to refurbish, but there is not a set time scale as we have to work on priority. The spa part that has a cost / payable is the lady that comes in to do massage etc. the pool, Jacuzzi and sauna are... More 

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 km away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#39 of 79 in Bournemouth
744 reviews
4.1 km away
Village Hotel Bournemouth
Village Hotel Bournemouth
#35 of 79 in Bournemouth
1,322 reviews
2.2 km away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 79 in Bournemouth
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Ocean View Hotel
The Ocean View Hotel
#50 of 79 in Bournemouth
353 reviews
0.2 km away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#28 of 79 in Bournemouth
1,689 reviews
0.2 km away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 79 in Bournemouth
3,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We would like to offer you a warm welcome to Hinton Firs Hotel, set in tranquil gardens on Bournemouth's prestigious East Cliff, just a few minutes' walk from the sea. Our traditional three star hotel is family owned, which means that we create an ideal atmosphere to ensure that your stay is a real home from home. We take pride in offering a truly personal service, and firmly believe that our hospitality is unrivaled. With beautiful beaches a stone's throw away, two theatres on the doorstep, as well as excellent shopping and many leisure activities, Hinton Firs Hotel is the perfect place to explore, be entertained or just unwind. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hinton Firs Hotel

Address: 9 Manor Road, Bournemouth BH1 3ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: ₹ 2,932 - ₹ 10,978 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hinton Firs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hinton Firs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hinton Firs Hotel Bournemouth, Dorset
Hinton Firs Bournemouth
Hotel Hinton Firs
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hinton Firs Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hinton Firs Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“none of the rooms are beach”
 of 5 bubbles MsMMM, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“i stayed in room 29 and it was very comfortable for a single room.”
 of 5 bubbles CRAZ57MAY, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There is a lift but some rooms are up a few steps from the lift so ensure you make your position clear.”
 of 5 bubbles 483mrshc, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Very little outside noise in the room we had on ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles HonestJohnofKent, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on top floor, rooms were really nice!”
 of 5 bubbles JoseycmT, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay