We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Seven Stars Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

545 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 541: English reviews
Start your review of Royal Seven Stars Hotel
 Click to rate
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Only stopped for a bite and a pint lunchtime but my friend and I had a very pleasant time. I had a crab sandwich washed down with a couple of pints of New Lion Pandit, a really complex tasty IPA. My friend had a generously sized baked potato with beans and cheese with Sharp's Doom Bar. The beer cost top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
RoyalSevenStars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a delightful review John, we look forward to welcoming you for a stay hopefully very soon.

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed initially in room 16 but was kindly moved to Agatha Christie room cos of thin curtains and streaming streetlights. The bathroom is tired in room 16 as is the room. Clean and comfy however. Agatha Christie room all pomp and circumstance but smells of drains, much more opulent though and it is a historic building so can expect stuff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fran G
RoyalSevenStars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for your feedback; room 16 is in fact now in the process now of being redecorated & updated. Any occasional reported drainage issues can be dealt with by us very quickly, I am sorry you found this in your new room but am sure it was addressed as soon as you reported it.. With a building as...

Totnes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our recent visit to the stars was a little disappointing. We are regular visitors and have had some lovely times there. The change in menu and prices is not a positive move. My steak, ordered as medium to well was more like medium rare. I have a royalty card and the staff are lovely but I'm not sure my visits...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shauna1966
RoyalSevenStars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this review

It's sad to read you were disappointed with your last visit to us. The kitchen would have been more than happy to rectify the steak being a little under done for you so please do always mention to a member of staff if there is something you aren't 100% happy with on future visits. We hope to see you soon,...

Broadway
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We are staying at The Royal Seven Stars Hotel in Totnes & wanted to say that it has been a lovely break for us. We have 2 dogs with us & they have been made genuinely welcome! We have even made to feel very comfortable here with them & nothing is too much trouble for any of the team that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynda P
RoyalSevenStars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, it's lovely to read that you were so comfortable & well looked after! We hope to welcome you back again soon...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

only stopped here for breakfast and while very busy, we were seated and served promptly by friendly staff. Had a bustling atmosphere while we were there and I'd recommend visiting if only for a pot of tea and some toast

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
RoyalSevenStars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review after such a flying visit Brian, we hope to see you again.. From all at The Stars

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had supper there recently & was very disappointed with the salmon fish cakes I had there. There was hardly any evidence of salmon, mostly potato & think perhaps the chef should go to Morrisons & buy their best quality fish cakes costing £2.70 for two large fish cakes filled with watercress sauce. I paid a £6.95 for just one which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hilarynorris
RoyalSevenStars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing about your experience Hilary, but I must inquire as to when you visited us because we have not had Salmon fishcakes available since our new Saloon menu was launched at the beginning of March... Please do contact me directly on alice@royalsevenstars.co.uk, I would love to invite you for a coffee to rectify your feelings of our...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Called for lunch on a Thursday. Enjoyed the general ambience and the fact that whilst well patronised the place wasn't too busy. Ordered a guinness and a pot of tea. The guinness arrived but the tea didn't until we had reminded the bar staff. Food was good but took a while to come and quite expensive for what was really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon R
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Situated at the River Dart end of Totnes at the bottom of the high street (called Fore Street at that end) its in an ideal location. Its attractive, a bit quirky and has a nice bar and restaurant and a sunny outside terrace. Loads of shops nearby. We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms Daniel Defoe, overlooking the square...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago when we were attending a family party and were exceptionally impressed by the lovely, quirky rooms and very friendly staff. The hotel room itself was very pleasant and the breakfasts were delicious. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel very welcome. Recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
minehead
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Seven of us stayed for a night and we all wished we had been staying longer. From start to finish the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The food was excellent and the rooms well appointed and comfortable. The Sunday night special (which we didn't realise was on when we booked) is ridiculously good value for money...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarah b

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totnes
0.4 km away
The Old Forge at Totnes
11.5 km away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
935 reviews
10.5 km away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
0.2 km away
King William IV Hotel
King William IV Hotel
#7 of 26 in Totnes
126 reviews
2.4 km away
Dartington Hall Hotel
Dartington Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dartington
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Royal Seven Stars Hotel

Address: The Plains, Totnes TQ9 5DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Totnes
Price Range: ₹ 8,313 - ₹ 13,634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Seven Stars Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Royal Seven Stars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal 7 Stars Hotel
Royal Seven Stars Totnes
Royal Seven Stars Hotel Totnes, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Seven Stars Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Royal Seven Stars Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay more for a quieter room removed from night revellers”
embleton07, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We found all the rooms we stayed in lovely”
, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“we were at the front but the double glazing ensured peace”
judithbliss, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front overlook the main square.”
StIvesmaid2014, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our room at the front had a view of the street and was over the bar so might be noisy some nights.”
maryWilts, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5