We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Headland View

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Headland View
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Headland View
See the most recent reviews
Showing 167: English reviews
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We booked this property whilst it was under different ownership....our booking was then taken over by the new owners (David& David). I called a day in advance, just to ensure that everything was ok for our arrival the next day and was assured that it was and not to worry. We were coming with friends and had rooms next to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DebandFrank
HeadlandView, Owner at Headland View, responded to this review

Sorry you were not happy with the compensation offered to you as a result of a genuine booking error, which we did our utmost to rectify during your stay with us. We were pleased to read your comments on our high standards of service we have worked tirelessly to provide. I am certain you will find excellent alternative accommodation for...

england
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

This is just what we believe a good guest house should be, beautifully decorated, scrupulously clean, in a great location and with wonderful, attentive service. The property is beautiful and very well maintained, the sea view rooms are lovely with gorgeous, unobstructed views of the coast. We have stayed in many 4 and 5* properties all over the world and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicolawug1976
HeadlandView, Owner at Headland View, responded to this review

Hi Nicola and Jamie, it was great to meet you and hope Jamie has managed to leave here recharged after such a hectic work schedule. Thank you for such a wonderful review and we are very excited at the prospect of you bringing the entire family next time and taking over Headland View entirely. We look forward to hearing from...

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

I am writing this review on behalf of my Mum who stayed here on her own. My husband and I dropped Mum off here and were given a warm greeting by David and some very welcome refreshments even though we were not staying with them. Mum says it was a very clean room she stayed in and comfortable. She enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amanda b
HeadlandView, Owner at Headland View, responded to this review

Dear Amanda, Thank you for your Review on Roz's behalf, we enjoyed getting to know Roz and delighted everything met her expectations. We look forward to seeing her again when you all come back to visit and we will ensure you have adjacent rooms, so we can open up the two balconies to make the sea view experience something you...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Hotel and room very clean and tastefully decorated. Breakfast well cooked presented and made with good quality ingredients. The view from the front of the Hotel and surrounding Downs is to die for. David & David are excellent hosts and run a very nice Hotel, we will definitely return. Great value for money J&K

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johndig1
HeadlandView, Owner at Headland View, responded to this review

Dear Karen and John. Thank you for such a lovely review, so happy we met and hopefully exceeded expectations. That is our ultimate goal for all our guests. We are so looking forward to seeing you again soon, plus that beautiful Jag is a lovely attraction on the forecourt. Enjoy the summer and see you soon. Regards David

Heathfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Part of a Victorian terrace on the beautiful Babbacomb Downs. This clean nicely decorated guest house was taken over in May 2016 by new owners. The rooms, particularly on-suite facilities, are small; with basins in the room rather than the bathroom. Not all room have an on-suite so if this is important for you check what you are booking. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank purpleTerry
HeadlandView, Owner at Headland View, responded to this review

Thank you Teresa for your review. Our niche is definitely the leisure market aimed at people looking for an amazing location, setting, to be comfortable and treated as individuals, catering to their specific requirements. We were not advised you were a business traveller, having tried to communicate prior to your arrival as we do with all our guests, we regularly...

Reviewed 28 July 2016

The Headland view has recently taken over in May 2016 by David and David two of the most welcoming and hospitable guys that we have had the pleasure to meet. We were greeted by David when we parked on the FREE parking space outside. He helped us with our luggage and whilst we had coffee he had brought us, he...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank judget101
HeadlandView, Owner at Headland View, responded to this review

Thank you for a wonderful review and you certainly are valued guests, we hope to see again soon. We are working on making the view and light into the breakfast room even better, well if David agrees to the removal of the large canopy. As soon as the busy season easies, I will be sending you offers and updates, so...

Bridport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2016

We recently stayed at the Head View for three nights. We were NOT disappointed. Far from it. This is an excellent small hotel - the owners do everything to ensure your stay is memorable. Absolute First Class. We shall return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rogerandjulia2016
HeadlandView, Owner at Headland View, responded to this review

Hi Julia and Roger. Thank you for your lovely review, which was so kind of you and we can't wait until you return. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Headland View. Regards David

Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

We have stayed at this delightful guest house many times over the years, and have had lovely hosts along the way. David and David are the new management this year, and we are so lucky to meet such nice people, who by there manner and attentiveness, have made yet another four night break so enjoyable. Headland View is a delight,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
HeadlandView, Owner at Headland View, responded to this review

Dear Michael, I think we were the lucky ones to meet such a lovely couple, and congratulations on your 33rd anniversary. So happy you enjoyed your visit and hope it will be the first of many with us. I have stayed in literally hundreds of hotel rooms during my years in sales and marketing for the major hotel chains, and...

Birmingham
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Spent three nights at the headland view in a second floor sea view room and it was lovely. From the minute we arrived the two owners were very friendly and could not do enough to make our stay comfortable, welcoming us with coffee and biscuits while checking us in to sorting out maps and guides they thought we would find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JJJLG
HeadlandView, Owner at Headland View, responded to this review

Hi Jill, it was lovely to meet you and Jason and delighted you had a great first visit to Babbacombe and hopefully the first of many. We are very fortune, that Babbacombe is a tucked away enclave away from the hustle of Torquay harbour. Although we are a mere 2 miles away, we have a very different atmosphere. Many of...

Reviewed 16 July 2016

I have stayed at Headland View before and was delighted to find it was as good as ever. David is indeed the perfect host, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are delightful, everything is spotless and you won't get a better breakfast anywhere. There is a very relaxed friendly atmosphere, I am looking forward to a longer stay next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine R
HeadlandView, Owner at Headland View, responded to this review

Dear Geraldine. It was such a pleasure to meet you, and delighted you enjoyed your stay and that we lived up to previous stays and expectations, which we fully understand the importance of. Looking forward to seeing you again when you can stay for longer next time. Also to meeting your friends, whom you intend to bring with you. We...

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 km away
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
Seabreeze at Babbacombe
#50 of 153 in Torquay
137 reviews
0.0 km away
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
#48 of 153 in Torquay
250 reviews
0.2 km away
Babbacombe Guest House
Babbacombe Guest House
#55 of 153 in Torquay
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Babbacombe Palms Guest House
0.0 km away
The Downs, Babbacombe
The Downs, Babbacombe
#36 of 153 in Torquay
348 reviews
0.5 km away
Aveland House
Aveland House
#70 of 153 in Torquay
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
AA four star gold award and AA breakfast award. This beautiful Victorian guesthouse with panoramic unobstructed sea views over the spectacular world heritage coast of lyme bay is a fabulous place to stay. Positioned directly on the Babbacombe Downs, the guest house has six individual bedrooms the majority having French doors opening on to balconies with tables and chairs to sit and relax while taking in the magnificent seaviews. Or choose one of our rearview rooms with superking/large twin beds or with four poster bed. The guest house has retained many of its original Victorian features and architecture, with a sun lounge and pretty dinning room, for you to enjoy your traditional freshly prepared and served English breakfast or choose one of the daily specials fruit pancakes, omelette, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon or poached eggs on English toasted muffin. All accompanied by cereals, fresh fruit, fruit compote and toast with conserves and homemade marmalade. A great place to stay for visiting the surrounding area of Torquay, Paighton, Brixham, Dartmouth, Dartmoor and the southwest coastal path. Ideally located for lovely blue flag beaches with a great choice of traditional English pubs and a large variety of restaurants nearby. Spoil yourself and enjoy the view. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Headland View

Address: 37 Babbacombe Downs Road | Babbacombe, Torquay TQ1 3LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: ₹ 5,612 - ₹ 7,427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Headland View 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Headland View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland View Torquay, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Headland View staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 4 was great”
simonhurley, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the front have a balcony and sea view”
louised603, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 1 and thought it was perfect”
heatherbN6375ZY, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“the seaview rooms with balcony are lovely, it is great to wake up to the wonderful view”
marionn393, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms have a private bathroom and some have en-suite facilities”
alanjking, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5