We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Abbey Court Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Abbey Court Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Abbey Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 90: English reviews
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2015

Typical coach trip venue. Good things first, owners and staff lovely. Dining room beautiful. Food plain but adequate. Room, small, dated, windows kept banging 'till we stuffed them with newspaper.T.V. placed so that could not see it. New bedding and pillows urgently needed. Bath too small even if you could get enough water!!Carpet in bathroom...egh. Shower did not operate properly....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rome33
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Read some bad reviews so didn't know what to expect, however it was lovely, requested a room with a sea view which we had and also a lovely view of the pool, the food was delicious and all freshly cooked and served by a friendly waitress, I couldn't fault anything for 149 pounds for 3 nights dinner, bed and breakfast,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue L
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is a pleasure to note such encouraging and kind words. I thank you and look forward to being of service again on your next visit in the future. Once again, many thanks.

Accrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2015 via mobile

Hi this hotel is very clean and the food is good and very friendly staff well worth stopping here, bus stop is right outside the driveway it has a heated swimming pool the rooms are bright and I would not hesitate to come here again 😀it is a little bit out of town but not to far and there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jat999
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind and encouraging comments and we value them. Once again thank you.

west bromwich
Reviewed 17 September 2015

Hotel is lovely and clean that is the only bonus, on arrival ,there are steps to the entrance of reception, which was a struggle after a 7 and a half journey. Expecting a nice meal to ease the stress, and what do we get watery tomato,soup, a basic main meal, no tea or coffee if you wanted one you had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dawn H
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to write a review of your experience at the Abbey Court Hotel. I would assure you that and we work as a team and we are very proud of our loyal staff . Our Chef has been with us now for over sixteen years. I particularly regret your comments regarding the purchase of...

Romford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2015

We went on a coach trip and to be honest the old saying you get what you pay for is apt and considering it was August when most hotels are more expensive o.k.. Having said that the room was kept clean and it was spacious. The proprietor was usually around and attentive. The staff were very hard working and the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank susanne_huckle
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your observations. But for the record, I should mention that for health & safety reasons Torbay Council has put some conditions on the use of the pool because, as you will know, it is 2m deep and has steeper gradient going from 1m depth from the roman steps side to the deeper end. Further I...

Kidderminster
Reviewed 11 August 2015

I don't normally make reviews but I feel compelled to do so after staying at Abbey Court. I stay in hotels for business 3 times a week nationwide and maybe I have been spoiled by this. On arrival I was informed of some house rules, such as the pool was only to be used between midday and 5pm, bang goes...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Banny69
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I note your comments and I am very sorry that we clearly failed to meet your expectations & standards. But, I have to mention that we do not claim to provide a buffet breakfast or services of a night porter. With regard to the outdoor pool we have to meet the conditions of use of the pool for...

Chepstow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2015

We stayed at Abbey Court in room 8, as part of a Leisuretime bargain break in early August. Having paid just £169 each for 4 nights dinner, bed & breakfast, including coach travel from Wales, we were not expecting the Ritz! What we got was a clean, friendly and welcoming establishment, with much better food than expected for a 2*...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SueGB804
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind observations and suggestions for improving some areas in the service. I value your comments and take them seriously. Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2015

Booked with leisuretime £119 PP for travel and 3 nights DBB., a real bargain, hotel while a little tired looking is very clean, entertainment was reasonable for small hotel, food was fair for price. I would however suggest some improvements could be made by offering continental breakfast self service style, instead of english breakfast etc., evening meal optional extra with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roy L
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I thank you for your kind observations and will bear your comments in mind for the future. Thank you again for coming to the Abbey Court.

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2015

Spent three nights at this hotel on a half board basis. On arrival after a lengthy bus trip I found that there was no soap or shampoo in my room. When I approached the owner/manager about this a few minutes later, he just shrugged his shoulders and explained that the shops were not to far away. The hotel itself was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mr H
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I note your comments and bound to remind you, with all due respect, that you were given a shampoo albeit on your request. Doubtless, you would recall I came aboard the coach to welcome your coach party. I further have to mention that porterage was not included in the your Torquay Special Super Deal. I am sorry that...

llanelli
Reviewed 17 July 2015

the hotel was clean and the food was good.but i would say that the waitress needed more training as i didnot like my main course when i hadnt finished my first . there was 7 of us at the dining table but only 4 butters i know this might sound petty but we had to ask for more every day....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisgap
Karmjit P, Owner at Abbey Court Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry for your boring experience at the hotel. We do provide entertainment in the Bar; for a 4 night stay we usually offer 2 nights in-house live entertainment with an option to see a show on Tuesday evenings. The arrival day on Monday is a free night for the guests to settle in and relax in...

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 km away
Abbey Lawn Hotel
Abbey Lawn Hotel
#64 of 89 in Torquay
178 reviews
0.2 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#58 of 89 in Torquay
669 reviews
1.9 km away
Frognel Hall Hotel
Frognel Hall Hotel
#63 of 89 in Torquay
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Bancourt Hotel
Bancourt Hotel
#85 of 89 in Torquay
209 reviews
0.5 km away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#55 of 89 in Torquay
177 reviews
0.5 km away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 89 in Torquay
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in a tree lined road, Abbey Court is a peaceful hotel. It offers high standards and professional service at affordable prices. From views across Torbay to our heated outdoor pool and comfortable bar lounge, you will find the Abbey Court Hotel is the ideal place to relax and enjoy your holiday on the English Riviera ... more   less 

Additional Information about Abbey Court Hotel

Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: ₹ 4,385 - ₹ 7,461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Abbey Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Abbey Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Hotel Torquay, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Abbey Court Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
s wales
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Abbey Court Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Very good view from room 29”
 of 5 bubbles Enki40, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room at back 2 floor”
  • View from room
 of 5 bubbles Lin13238, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Basement rooms open onto the garden and outdoor pool.”
 of 5 bubbles 154markc, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“Sea view rooms are lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles patking, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 ground floor is very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles 85cherylj, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5