We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Richwood

Show Prices
#54 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Richwood
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

257 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for The Richwood
See the most recent reviews
Showing 256: English reviews
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2015

I would just like to thank Veronica, Sadia and Jo-Jo for a lovely stay,we where made to feel so welcome, the breakfast was lovely,we also had an evening meal and that was also lovely, rooms where very clean, don't listen to any negative feedback.

2Thank Racheal B
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015

I had previously booked at another B&B in Torquay but thought it would not be suitable for my mum, and booked The Richwood after seeing an advert. I stayed at The Richwood with my 89 year old mum, our room was on the top floor, a nice size room, clean and bright and very comfy with a view over the...

2Thank Jacqueline P
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you Jacqueline for saying it as it is! We look forward to the next visit!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2015

Great place, staff are so friendly, could not do enough for you. The rooms are clean. Terrace is lovely. Breakfast is amazing. Close to all the tourist spots. My family and myself really enjoyed our weekend there. Thank you so much.

2Thank Shereen P
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

A great review from really great guests! Thank you , we enjoyed having you!

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2015

We checked in for three nights in September, the room we were given was so small,we had to upgrade, for this we had to pay an extra £23 per night, the net curtain was filthy and torn, 2 tea bags and 2 coffees,no biscuits, we asked for more but was told the charge was 50pence,for clean towels the charge was...

27Thank Pat19492014
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

This person was on a VERY cheap deal. On booking she was given the opportunity to upgrade from our small standard rooms to a premiere room for £18 per night: she declined. On arrival she decided she did not like the small standard room and, having seen our "deluxe" room, upgraded. She seemed very happy to do so for an...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2015

We stayed here in June and got a good value for money 3 night stay. Our room was very nice and the breakfast was lovely. The venue also has an outdoor pool, which was a bit cold but ok once you got used to it. there is also a hot tub which is available to use at extra charge. The...

1Thank Julie D
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, we look forward to seeing you again.

Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2015 via mobile

I was super excited about staying at the Richwood, but I have to say it wasn't what I expected. The place was very old, it has a cold damp feeling to the place and smelt a bit unpleasant. The owners and staff were great, but I was disappointed. The room was big but very standard not great, we had one...

7Thank H K
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

I am really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and that you felt the £56 per night you payed was not worth the money. And yes! The Richwood IS old - it is over140 years old! We had had some torrential rain prior to your arrival and the humidity in Torquay was high - so maybe that was...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2015 via mobile

I visited the richwood for 2 nights to celebrate my boyfriends birthday. The owners are very lovely and really do go out of their way to make you feel very comfortable and welcome. The bedroom was dated. The bed was very comfortable and has been updated however the room is lacking the wow. Think they are doing it up room...

2Thank tillymarshall
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you slept well. One small comment: £10 for a hot spa is really not expensive... we do not make a profit from this, just covering our costs.

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2015 via mobile

Everything about The Richwood and it's hosts Veronica and Saida was faultless. We enjoyed the swimming pool, spa, games room, comfy beds, clean rooms, modern shower room and the food - in particular the extremely high quality evening meals available. We have never stayed in a B & B with so many facilities on offer before and plan to stay...

Thank michelle r
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you Michelle for your amazing review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed having you here!

Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

A very friendly atmosprere. Very welcoming staff. I felt like one of the family. Could have done with a slightly larger room . Bigger rooms are available. The food is good and served with a smile. The hot tub was fantastic and swimming pool pleasant but a little cold. Thank you very much Sadia and Veronica. We will be returning...

1Thank Amy C
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you Amy and Andrew, we are very happy that you enjoyed your weeks holiday here with us and look forward to the next time!

Bicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

Saida and Veronica make a wonderful team. I recently visited with my wife and 5 year old son. Our room was large and well equipped, the beds offered a very comfy retreat after a long day building sandcastles. Breakfast was ace, outdoor pool(if you have the weather) and the games room all added to the enjoyment of our stay. Most...

Thank Adam T
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

We enjoyed having you here and are already looking forward to the next time! Thanks for your great review!

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (24)
Bathroom (3)
Dining (4)
Room/Suite (5)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (46)
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Room/Suite (21)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Dining (1)
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 km away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.0 km away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#57 of 89 in Torquay
177 reviews
2.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#48 of 89 in Torquay
103 reviews
2.8 km away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
517 reviews
1.9 km away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 89 in Torquay
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
The Beirut Bistro at the Richwood
Cuisines: Lebanese, Middle Eastern
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the award-winning Richwood and Beirut-Bistro-Bar. When it comes to guest accommodation on the English Riviera, the Richwood is the only one which offers a combination of great facilities, excellent hospitality and a bistro bar which serves delicious Lebanese, Mediterranean, European and English cuisine. And everything is very reasonably priced! Winner of the English Riviera and South Devon Bronze Award for Excellence in Service 2013, the Richwood is comfortably furnished and centrally heated throughout. All 13 bedrooms are En-suite, have colour TV with DVD players and tea and coffee making facilities. Ideal for families, there are reduced terms for children when sharing with parents. The Richwood is situated 10 to 15 foot minutes from the seafront and town center. You want to enjoy the nightlife and attractions that Devon has to offer? Or just want a quiet break? ...Then the Richwood is the place to be. Around Torquay: The English Riviera: Torquay is the jewel of the English Riviera and Britain's premiere holiday and leisure resort, offering a wide variety of holiday entertainment for all the family, including many theatres featuring International stars throughout the season. There is fun for all the family. There are beaches for safe swimming, water-skiing, sea and river cruises, boating and wind surfing, tennis, fishing, golf, putting, riding and pony trekking. For those who like to explore there are miles of coastal walks at hand, many historical towns to visit and the rugged beauty of Dartmoor is only half an hour's drive away. Gay friendly. Pet friendly: one premiere double/family ensuite and one premiere Pet Friendly room. £10 pernight per pet. There is free parking at the hotel on a first come, first served basis. There is also free parking on the road outside the Richwood in the unlikely event our car park is full. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Richwood

Address: 20 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: ₹ 5,073 - ₹ 8,672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Richwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Richwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richwood Hotel Torquay
The Richwood Torquay, Devon
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Torquay
#33 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Richwood staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Taunton, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Plymouth, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Richwood staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room facing the pool as this hotel is on a busy road.”
 of 5 bubbles JetSetterJane, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had a small room at the front, were not bothered by noise. As advertised, small room are small, but perfectly adequate for a short stay”
 of 5 bubbles 508JudithH, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Only took a standered others were at request for extra fee.”
 of 5 bubbles josiet929, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ring first before going to the Richwood to clarify room quality. We were facing the main road and the traffic going passed was very noisy.”
  • Basic room. Small double bed.
  • Hang your clothes here!
 of 5 bubbles cherylj0anneh, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Find another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles stephenmillard2010, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5