We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Headland Hotel

Show Prices
#11 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expert photos
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

724 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Headland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 724: English reviews
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2015

since my last review the refurb is progressing well, the New Lounge is completed and the indoor swimming pool is under way. This was a turkey & Tinsel trip which I didnt realise at time of booking. Food and accommodation was excellent, staff very helpful and keen to please. The only "problem" we had was the shower area in bathroom....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margaret C
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Margaret C, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm so pleased to see that you and your Mother had a fabulous time with us. I will certainly pass on your lovely comments about the team to all the staff here. I'm sorry you encountered an issue with the disabled facilities in...

Hayle, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2015

First ever turkey and tinsel with my Mum I thought I would enjoy it but it exceeded my expectations, had a fab time lovely hotel, staff and entertainment and the food was lovely would recommend to any one

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Susan T
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susan T, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm very happy to read that you enjoyed your first Turkey & Tinsel experience and I do hope that you will be returning for a second one - or even visit us sooner than that! Wishing you a very merry Christmas! Kind Regards, Lucy

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Having been very sceptical about accompanying a group of 16 eighty year olds to the Tinsel and Turkey weekend, I have just returned from the best weekend I've had for a long time. The hotel was decorated beautifully for Christmas and the many lovely trees were stunning. My mum and I shared a room which was adequate, very clean. The...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank jan6611
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jan6611, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am so happy to see that you enjoyed your tinsel & turkey break. Visiting as part of a group - regardless of age is always a fabulous experience. I'm proud to say that we have maintained our AA rosette for our Romanoff Restaurant...

Corsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2015

Our family of seven people (three generations) have been visiting the hotel since 2007, taking a couple of breaks here every year. On our very first stay, when the eldest of the three children was nine years old, we saw Peter Baffles. Together with the wonderful location of the hotel and the beautiful building, he is the main reason we've...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank maureen c
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear maureen c, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your turkey & tinsel break. I took you comments on board regarding the music and can confirm that we now have some familiar favourites added to our festive playlist. We are very proud of the standard...

Armitage
Reviewed 30 October 2015

What an absolutely fabulous long weekend myself and my sister had. We arrived Friday afternoon and at our leisure we were welcomed with mince pies and coffee. We had a second floor room with a fantastic view across Torbay towards Brixham. We enjoyed three absolutely fabulous six course evening meals and of course breakfast in the mornings. You are sure...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Chickweed2015
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chickweed2015, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your Turkey & Tinsel break. We have made a lot of effort to ensure that everyone is in the festive spirit and Santa has been very happy that there has been so many good girls and boys...

Reviewed 27 October 2015

Hotel is still a very nice one. Last time we where here room was great food was great staff where great, this time room with great view (bed not so good).Food not so good we told them four times the plates where to cold the food was to cold.The staff where not to bad.But foe a turkey and tinsel it...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Ronald C
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ronald C, I am saddened to see that as a regular customer, you thought it best to put your complaints on such a public forum instead of coming to us directly, as we would have done everything in our power to recover and enhance your experience if you had told a member of our management team at the time....

Halesowen
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Returned with family after 4 years to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday and we were all very impressed with the recent improvements to bar/entertainment room and sun terrace. Rooms were spotless and we had an executive room which had wonderful sea views. All staff were very friendly and approachable - particularly nice to get welcome call from Ben two days...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Anita T
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anita T, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am so pleased that you had such an enjoyable time here. We are all working extremely hard to ensure only the best for all of our guests and it's always great to get wonderful feedback for our team members. I will...

Halesowen
Reviewed 21 October 2015

Just back from a fabulous weekend we had a marvellous time the new Gallery bar is amazing as are the improved views from the redesigned patio. We had a free cocktail reception every night before our 6 course evening meal,afterwards there was first class entertainment each night culminating with Just for the record on Sunday who were brilliant. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MikeHalesowen
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mike, Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your gourmet weekend here with us. We all worked extremely hard to make sure that everything ran perfectly for everyone. We all look forward to welcoming you back for your New Year's break! Kind Regards Lucy & the team.

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights .We had arrived from staying in a 4 star hotel in Cornwall and had a bit of a shock on arrival as this is primarily a coaching hotel. On arrival we were greeted by Ben who is a real asset to the hotel and during our stay nothing was too much trouble for him....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear readers, I must point out that we are on the edge of being a 4* hotel and are the highest ranked 3* hotel in Torbay! All that I can say to this reviewer is, thank god for the retired people! Regards Lucy

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2015

Great weekend at the headland s gourmet weekend .staff are always kind and happy ,will help with any problems.first time seeing new glass conservatory such lovely views can be seen from here (ideal for a wheelchair user like myself)

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kim_m768
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kim_m768, Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our Gourmet weekend! We have a fabulous new Head Chef, Owen, who is an amazing asset to the hotel and our team and he thoroughly enjoyed creating a brand new innovative menu for you to sample over this special weekend. I'm also pleased to see...

250 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (147)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Other (57)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (78)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Beach (1)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 89 in Torquay
2,386 reviews
1.8 km away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
2.1 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
566 reviews
1.9 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 89 in Torquay
993 reviews
1.8 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel

Address: Daddyhole Road, Torquay TQ1 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: ₹ 6,074 - ₹ 12,079 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Headland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Headland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Torquay
The Headland Hotel Torquay, Devon
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#24 Family Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Headland Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Rowley Regis, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Headland Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Second floor”
 of 5 bubbles W9256RQchristinet, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“As at Jan 2016, avoid Room 185 until refurbished”
 of 5 bubbles Baronscroft, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Need to be up three or more floors for a good view”
 of 5 bubbles VivNix, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book a front room.”
 of 5 bubbles colinb429, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Exective, sea view”
 of 5 bubbles broganmc, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay