We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Haytor Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Haytor Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

968 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Haytor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 958: English reviews
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Stayed at the haytor for 4 nights at beginning of sept, the reviews were fantastic but on arrival I was a little disappointed. The owners were very helpful throughout and we were Pleasantly greeted and showed to room, must admit this is the first I have ever been asked to pay up front on arrival, still not a problem. We...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank readservices
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you only found us average and obviously you did not have the experience either with us, or in Torquay you were looking for or we would have hoped. Your review contains a significant number of inaccuracies and false claims which we must address as this site is supposed to provide guests with accurate and reliable...

Annecy, France
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Perfect city to stay for few days, beautiful properties, nice walks from the cliff to the harbour, a selection of good restaurants. Close to the hotel. The hosts welcomed us very warmly with good advices to visit the area. The room was gorgeous and clean, very well decorated. Lovely private garden and terrace where you can sit down to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lcdi133
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments. It was lovely to look after you and we look forward to your next visit. Best wishes.

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Once again we stopped at the Haytor for just 3 nights. Again the hotel is the cleanest I've seen! The breakfast is amazing, great choice! The hotel is very close the harbour front just a short 5 minute walk. It is in a quite area so peaceful nights are the order. There is a nice garden area to relax in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sirmike3806
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments. It was lovely to look after you and we look forward to your next visit. Best wishes.

Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We have just got back home after spending 5 nights at the Haytor Hotel , the owners and staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble for them . The hotel was spotless and our room was a delight to stay in, the breakfast was delicious and the gardens charming, we will be returning next year , well done...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments. It was lovely to look after you and we look forward to your next visit. Best wishes.

Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Lovely three night stay, room lovely, spotlessly clean. Great welcome, with info on the area. Breakfast was fabulous, and only a few minutes walk from the harbour, although a pretty steep walk back! Parking not a problem as a space for each room. Would highly recommend the Haytor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments. It was lovely to look after you and we look forward to your next visit. Best wishes.

Reviewed 13 September 2016

Stayed at the Haytor 15 years ago it was excellent then and visited again two weeks ago. The hotel has maintained it excellent standards, actually I think it has been improved by another staff member, Jean, nothing was too much trouble. Friendly and helpful staff and fantastic breakfast. Location is great only a few minutes walk from the harbour,with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tony r
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments. It was lovely to look after you and we look forward to your next visit. Best wishes.

Bexleyheath
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We arrived in Torquay without a booking and were very lucky to get the last room available. It was clean, newly decorated and attention to detail was good. Everything worked. Bed was comfortable. Shower room was bright and modern and clean...it looked brand new! We were greeted by a very helpful gentleman who recommended an excellent fish restaurant for our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joannaphillips
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments. It was lovely to look after you and we look forward to your next visit. Best wishes.

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Booked this as part of a surprise weekend to Torquay for my boyfriends' birthday. Had read the glowing reviews on TripAdvisor. We had a warm welcome by Peter, who was very thorough and gave us lots of tourist leaflets which were very helpful. Although we only briefly saw Roger he was extremely helpful with giving me recommendations on restaurants to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments. It was lovely to look after you and we look forward to your next visit. Best wishes.

Reviewed 10 September 2016

We stayed just the two nights, but in this time it was the most relaxing of hotels. Staff polite and professional. Very close to town and marine. Many places to eat/drink. Spacious parking, and WIFI on hand. Breakfast is fantastic with lots on offer catering for all. We could go on, but my last comment would be, book this Hotel,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bonez1305 .
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments. It was lovely to look after you and we look forward to your next visit. Best wishes.

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 7 September 2016

The Haytor was perfect for our short break. Roger was so helpful, informative and made our stay so nice. The hotel is charming, tastefully decorated. We stayed in the King room which was lovely, The room was newly decorated and spotless. The breakfast was delicious, looked just like the video online. Jean made us so welcome and nothing was too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
PeterandRoger, Owner at Haytor Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments. It was lovely to look after you and we look forward to your next visit. Best wishes.

534 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (154)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (43)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (366)
Viewed
Executive King Room (46)
Viewed
Premier King Room (49)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Standard Double with Bath (39)
Viewed
Standard Double with Shower (51)
Viewed
Superior King Size Room (54)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)
Viewed
The Suite (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.4 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 89 in Torquay
2,384 reviews
4.6 km away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#8 of 89 in Torquay
419 reviews
0.1 km away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.5 km away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 89 in Torquay
449 reviews
1.6 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luxury award-winning Torquay accommodation. The Haytor Hotel is an elegant detached early Victorian villa built in 1835 and set in beautiful gardens. The hotel is located in a conservation area on leafy and peaceful Meadfoot Road just 400 metres from central Torquay and the harbour with its many bars, restaurants and shops. A short walk the other way takes you to the award-winning Meadfoot Beach and coastal paths with stunning bay views. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Haytor Hotel

Address: Meadfoot Road, Torquay TQ1 2JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: ₹ 6,076 - ₹ 10,855 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haytor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Haytor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haytor Hotel Torquay, Devon
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Torquay
#2 Family Hotel in Torquay
#2 Business Hotel in Torquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Haytor Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Haytor Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“newly added suites are good value”
 of 5 bubbles RobertG326, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 is great if you have mobility issues”
 of 5 bubbles cbennett238, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had room 6 which was great for us, it was at the front of the hotel but was nice & quiet as the hotel is in a good location”
 of 5 bubbles steveashepherd, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 9 is one of the best ,try to get it if available”
 of 5 bubbles rodneybowden, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Did not see all the rooms but our Room 1 was lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles johnD1758UC, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay