We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Babbacombe Bay Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Babbacombe Bay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 236: English reviews
Start your review of Babbacombe Bay Hotel
 Click to rate
Baldock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Spent a night in the Oddicombe suite as a family of three. Fantastically fitted out with nice furniture, large rooms and good bedding. Reception staff are very friendly and helpful It is worth paying the extra for 5 star treatment and we will definitely be back. Only minor criticism was that the lady who took our order for breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OddsFamily
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I went for an evening meal with some friends and it was very good. Have been there before and the meals are always worth having. Will return later this week to sample their wares again. Hopefully with the same results.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rogerteignmouth
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is class at its best. Décor throughout is stunning and spotlessly clean. Definitely not your boring run of the mill hotels. All the staff give a ready and genuine smile from the housekeepers to cafe. We always felt they were happy to be there for us and not just because it was a job. The restaurant for breakfast has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a group in deal party of eight friends , what a fabulous meal . The menu choice is excellent , the food is surprisingly really top notch didn't have great expectations as was a very cheap deal for two courses . The presentation of the food was fabulous , all really enjoyed . Service is attentive and atmosphere buzzing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nickyherenow
Alan F, Owner at Babbacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review and feedback. The sauces should not have been out and we shall bring it to the attention of the restaurant manager. Pleased to see you all enjoyed the evening and we look forward to your return visit. 

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went with not much expectations as haven't really head that much about this place but having got a groupon voucher for a 2 course meal for two. Decided to go with a group of us and it's was great the food ,was great. Also my partner was a vegan which they then catered for no charge extra . The girl...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Tiny Room , No Parking , Unhelpful manager who was not willing to compensate for being placed in a very claustrophobic room which did not match the photos on the internet. Most reviews are for people that had food in restaurant and not stayed in Hotel. (This is more like an expensive overpriced B&B) . We was completely refused any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham E
Alan F, Owner at Babbacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review

We never try to mislead our guests. It is not our policy to pretend to be anything other than a small boutique hotel with 10 bedrooms, a coffee shop and bistro. It is not viable to have a receptionist for 24 hours and we therefore advise checkin before 7pm. We do have an on duty manager should you arrive after...

Somerset UK
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I visited for afternoon tea last week using a Groupon voucher but I have to say I came away quite disappointed. Firstly, in my opinion, afternoon tea should be something special and we both made an effort to dress accordingly and the tea should be served in a room separate to all the people who came wandering...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WaltR
Alan F, Owner at Babbacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review

I understand High tea is a grand affair at the Ritz for the pretty price of £70 per head. As you said yourself our food is a good standard so for £18 for two with a glass of prosecco and a hot drink I don't think we are trying to be the same as the Ritz. We would of course...

Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my and my husband's second visit to the Babbacombe Bay Hotel using a Groupon voucher. We arrived at just before 6pm and were out an hour later. Although one does not like to be kept waiting for food, we felt that we were given our food very quickly. The food, compared to our visit last year, did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
Alan F, Owner at Babbacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Our menus are the same for everyone. We have a set menu - as your groupon voucher states - which has a choice of 4 starters and 4 mains, along with our specials board and our a la carte menu. This allows each customer a choice. A customer with a voucher is able to use this for the set menu,...

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Evening meal beautiful highly recommended great service enjoyed the meal and look forward to going again .We went as a group of friends before Christmas. The setting is perfect beautiful views and the whole place is so well kept .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flanny55
Alan F, General Manager at Babbacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We hope to see you again soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Taking advantage of a special out of season offer we had a meal in the Bay modern contemporary restaurant, lovely surroundings wonderful view across the bay. Food and drinks menu both excellent. I sampled dishes from the set menu, my husband chose from the specials board both meals really good. The service was excellent always there just at the right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sinead52
Alan F, General Manager at Babbacombe Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

144 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (126)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 km away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#40 of 89 in Torquay
152 reviews
2.4 km away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#2 of 89 in Torquay
449 reviews
0.0 km away
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel
#40 of 153 in Torquay
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Headland View
Headland View
#49 of 153 in Torquay
165 reviews
0.2 km away
Babbacombe Guest House
Babbacombe Guest House
#54 of 153 in Torquay
196 reviews
1.4 km away
The Albaston
The Albaston
#3 of 153 in Torquay
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Babbacombe Bay Hotel was fully refurbished in 2015. A characterful, boutique hotel fronted by the Downs afforded stunning views across Lyme Bay towards Lyme Regis, Portland Bill and the Dorset coastline. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Babbacombe Bay Hotel

Address: 33-35 Babbacombe Downs Road | Babbacombe, Torquay TQ1 3LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: ₹ 7,987 - ₹ 14,142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Babbacombe Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Babbacombe Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babbacombe Bay Hotel Torquay, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Babbacombe Bay Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Babbacombe Bay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a sea view for a special occassion”
  • View from Front Door
 of 5 bubbles OddsFamily, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Have not stayed at hotel only eaten there.”
 of 5 bubbles Rogerteignmouth, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Prices are for the room not per person and breakfast - the best, ever.”
 of 5 bubbles stephenhY9989CG, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check room size before booking..ours was tiny. no parking on site. reception closed after 6pm.”
 of 5 bubbles 450grahame, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Aak for a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles grwhitrow, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5