We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Templestowe Hotel

Show Prices
#10 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Templestowe Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

535 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Templestowe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 534: English reviews
Neath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2016

Hotel was lovely and clean, free on-site parking just a short walk away from the main town centre, staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much bother. Bags were taken to room and collected after stay. Lovely breakfast with a large selection of juices, cereals and yoghurts, then your choice of cooked breakfast. Evening Meal was a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Martin B
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us Martin. I've had a word with the entertainment team and asked them to liven up their song list. Like you, I want an uplifting show with variety. It is what we are famous for, so can't let that slip. We have had an issue with your shower (which is over the bath) for the last...

Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2016

Just spent a long weekend at this hotel,had a great time as usual, the staff friendly as always, good food, lovely clean room and fantastic entertainment. We will be back later in the year. If you want a friendly relaxing break/holiday in a clean environment with great food and entertainment, then this is the hotel for you, highly recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heather R
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Great to have you back and to see you will be returning soon. Thank you so much for taking the time to recommend us. All the best from the Majestic Templestowe team.

Reviewed 28 April 2016

once again we were so impressed with the high standard of our holiday from the hotel to the food ,the staff ,the entertainment ,the trips. am going to recommend you to all our friends and family we have been coming to you for years and will continue to do so

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pat W
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Fabulous, and uplifting for all the team. The encouragement we all get from knowing you are having great holidays is priceless. Thank you so much.

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2016

yet another good week at hotel We had room 37 right next to reception s good wi fi plus easy access to restaurant and bar.Food good ,friendly staff. Only one complaint room was at top of stairs from the bar and next to the lift residents were talking /shouting loudly on way to rooms late at night would suggest a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael_SI8091OR
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Wonderful. No better recommendation than having your return again. Thank-you. Good idea about the notice - will look at what we can do.

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2016

A hidehi holiday. Food was poor. Felt like a school canteen. You were told which sitting you were to go to. No wine list avail. I asked for a sharp knife to try and break my way through the roast potatoes and was refused. Entertainment was excellent. My room was over the ballroom. My floor shook with the noise!! Was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jackie B
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Very upsetting to hear the holiday did not meet your expectations. This was a 3 night Half board holiday with coach travel excursions and a nightly free bar for £160. I have checked the hotel questionnaires and the majority thought the food excellent, I am sorry that it was not to your liking, and I believe the waiter thought you...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016

I have stayed here several times in the past year and it only gets better value for money.My most recent was this last weekend for a 3 night break.The questionnaire we had to fill in was a short survey of our stay and I was happy to to say that I only had one complaint that was very minor.The comfort,food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maggiemay4249
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

So glad you had a great weekend and that the food and entertainment were all excellent. Lovely to have you return so many times. Says it all. Thank you.

neath
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Decided to go by coach to torquay with Majestic for a weekend knowing that the weather was going to be bad and that the hotel had great entertainment so no need for us to go out in the evening.The weekend had a free bar from 7 to 11 every night so it turned into a very economic weekend.Food and entertainement...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank keithfromneath
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Great that you enjoyed the coach holiday. The inclusive travel arrangements do make it great value. Would love to have you revisit when the sun is shining. Torquay is glorious on a summers day - delightful garden walks, shimmering seas and continental style pavement cafes - Hope i'm selling it to you for a return holiday. Thanks again from all...

Reviewed 19 April 2016

We couldn't fault one thing about the Templestowe Hotel, everything was perfect, we had a lovely time. Good food, good entertainment, rooms very clean, and the staff were so welcoming and worked very hard. we will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gillianluton
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

All the team are delighted you had a wonderful holiday. A great motivation in making the Templestowe the friendliest and happiest hotel in the bay. . Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Chepstow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

Lovely bedrooms clean and tidy however entertainment area leaves a lot to be desired we can understand that decor is outdated as difficult to update as in use year round but no need for the amount of dust and cobwebs. Staff all brilliant, but entertainment Friday and Sunday far superior to Saturday. Overall four out of five.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank julie c
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Glad to hear you had an enjoyable holiday. In relation to the dust and cobwebs, I sincerely apologise. We have just had a large amount of structural work done in the vicinity and this had created some dust in the air. Housekeeping have re-cleaned the area and will keep a sharp eye on the situation.. We pride ourselves on cleanliness...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2016

Just returned from a week at the TEMPLESTOWE. And what a week it was, the food was excellent service first class and entertainment well absolutely fantastic. Rooms were cleaned every day and all the staff are really friendly. If you want a good place to stay this is the one

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paul C
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Great to have you back with us. Lovely recommendation. Thank you

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.6 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 89 in Torquay
2,527 reviews
1.0 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 89 in Torquay
2,169 reviews
0.3 km away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 89 in Torquay
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
577 reviews
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.2 km away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Torquay's Premier Entertainment Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Templestowe Hotel

Address: Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: ₹ 4,896 - ₹ 9,793 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As:
Templestowe Hotel Torquay, Devon
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Torquay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#15 Family Hotel in Torquay
#16 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Templestowe Hotel staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question
Southampton, United Kingdom
20 days ago
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Cardiff, United Kingdom
10 days ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Templestowe Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try and get aroom facing the swimming pool it will aslo face Torquay Bay.”
 of 5 bubbles ErictheredPlymouth, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea view is the quiter side”
 of 5 bubbles michaelmL8267TE, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not a good idea to have a room above the ballroom if you retire early, so ask for a quiet room.”
 of 5 bubbles _chriswarner765, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the rear for sea views.”
  • View from our room (107) across the bay to Paignton and Brixham.
 of 5 bubbles CheltonianSteve, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a sea view and it was delightful.”
 of 5 bubbles wudgy40, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5