We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Heritage Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Heritage Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 265: English reviews
Bedworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We couldn't fault this hotel ,from the time we pulled up in the car until the time we left. The staff cant do enough for you, the rooms are spacious and cleaned on a daily basis with some amazing views of Torquay beach,we arrived to great towel art on the beds and complimentary soap and shower gel Food in applebys...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
Newquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions and for us it is just perfect! The marina and town are only 10 minutes stroll away. The views from the room are amazing. The rooms are always very clean and the staff welcoming. Appleby's is also worth a visit for good food. If you book direct with the hotel rather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fishdiver01
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was pleased to find a last minute deal of £31, yes £31. I suppose I should not expect too much for that price. The room was their biggest, they were pleased to have the last room booked. The WIFI did not work in this room it was apparently too far from the router. The view from the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larkins2014
Bridlington, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for two nights great hotel big bar area and gym area and swimming pool very close to the seafront and lots of restaurants would definitely stay again thanks again the staff are great , ,,,,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vaughne Vman K
Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

I know this place as Appleby's and been here a few times and decided to try breakfast. Good view over Abbey Sands and across to Paignton pier, nice menus with some excellent fry up options, including a veggie option. Including the massive Jumbo breakfast at at only £8.95 for 3 Butchers sausages, 3 bacon, eggs and hatch Browns and lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Breakfastking1
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Visited Torquay for 2 nights with a friend. Paid £38 per night each with this price including continental breakfast. Cannot complain for this price. Hotel clean and rooms comfortable. A lick of paint here and there would not go amiss, but this hotel represents brilliant value for money. We both paid an extra £6 for a cooked breakfast, which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jordan S
London
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

It looks ok from the outside but once you cross the threshold its downhill all the way. It needs a lot of money spending on the fabric of the building for this place to get anywhere near an accecptable standard. My room was a sad sight and no mistake , it was only for one night for work purpose so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ActonDude
Reviewed 4 October 2016

i'd like to start my review with a positive - the rooms are quite big and the staff are quite friendly. unfortunately the rooms were looking a bit tired and could do with a bit of a modernising and the room we were staying in had a musty smell and also the window didn't lock/seal properly, so we could hear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016

This hotel really good for service and accommodation. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, I use this hotel whenever I am in the area. The rooms are clean with lovely views of the sea, I have stayed in a different room each time that I have visited and have not been disappointed yet. The breakfast is good with hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine G
Leebrewer, Manager at The Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we appreciate it, please take advantage of our loyalty card offer, when you booked direct with us you will receive a loyalty card entitling you to a free cooked english breakfast every time you stay.

Tenerife, Spain
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

We booked a room as I have previously been before and what a difference. It's really gone downhill. The room we were shoved in over looked the bar so we couldn't open the window. The bathroom had hairs in the shower, urine stain up the wall and broken crisps on the carpet in the lounge. Dusty everywhere. We asked to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahcarebear
Leebrewer, Manager at The Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Frankly I am very disappointed to read this very unfair review, we work very hard to maintain a high level of standards throughout and to receive very false unfair reviews are just not wanted, whilst we openly invite fair reviews. We have a very good customer base who return regularly all of whom I'm sure would disagree with the appalling...

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.5 km away
Southbank Hotel
Southbank Hotel
#42 of 89 in Torquay
141 reviews
0.2 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#24 of 89 in Torquay
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#32 of 89 in Torquay
645 reviews
1.4 km away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#56 of 89 in Torquay
502 reviews
0.3 km away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#14 of 89 in Torquay
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking the bay just 200 yards from Tor Abbey beach, The Heritage Hotel in Torquay boasts a lively bar and restaurant with a large south-facing sun terrace. There is also a health club complex attached to the hotel, which guests have access to for a small charge, comprising an indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and gym. All but two rooms have sea views and most have newly fitted en suite facilities with either shower or baths, hairdryers and toiletries. There is Free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, and a lift to all floors. Appleby’s, the hotel restaurant, is one of Torquay’s best-known destination venues and features bay views and a spacious bar and lounge area with large-screen HD TV showing sports and regular live music. The Heritage Hotel is just a short walk from Torquay harbour, the Riviera Conference Centre, Princess Theatre and town centre shops. The hotel has its own car park and is next to a large public car park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Heritage Hotel

Address: Sea Front | Shedden Hill, Torquay TQ2 5TY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: ₹ 3,916 - ₹ 9,619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Heritage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heritage Hotel Torquay, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Heritage Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Heritage Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Belmoral”
 of 5 bubbles A5782SWandyp, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good with sea views”
 of 5 bubbles lorraineg569, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Family room easy access from carpark and very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Q6244RPkarenl, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 18 is awful, overlooks the road.”
 of 5 bubbles TeresaB959, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Take upper floor with a sea view, and don't arrive late - the bar will be closed and you may struggle to find dinner”
 of 5 bubbles , 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay