We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

TLH Derwent Hotel

PricelineUS$ 132*
View Deal
#20 of 88 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
Panoramas (43)
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,069 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,067: English reviews
Start your review of TLH Derwent Hotel
 Click to rate
Barry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

When arrived no hassle checking in , although a walk to the room , once in found it to be clean and tidy , nice shower , although if a bit rotund my have to squeeze in , I found the bar staff to be polite and helpful,if asked a question , a good selection of drinks on offer ,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stringvest999
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you very nice review. I missed black pudding becoming a 'Superfood' however I am also a fan. I will mention it to the chef. Kindest regards

south wales
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have just had a wonderful Monday-Friday 15-19th May stay at the TLH Derwent Hotel.The room 243 was big,airy and very clean.Wonderful clean fluffy towels everyday with coffee and tea facilities filled everyday.The food was excellent with the service by the staff at evening meal made very pleasurable with service with a smile.The Swimming pool.Sauna and steam room excellent and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neillwiltshire
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased to had an enjoyable stay. The price of an entry bottle of house wine is £15.95. This is not unreasonable for a hotel and better value than some others. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay. Best wishes

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

When we went to this Hotel last time i said it should be upgraded to at least 3*.Well it has been and was as good as last time.the room was good and we found the food was just as good.The gym and sport including the swimming pools are great.The entertainment was as good as the West end in London.We would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken J
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Kindest regards

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went on a Monday to Friday break with a very large group of friends. Entertainment excellent , food very good with a wide variety. I stayed in a room on the third floor which was rather warm but clean and comfortable. The stairs kept me fit as there are only two very small lifts and people were constantly queuing that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rita W
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

I am glad you would return. Thanks for the review.

Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed weekend of 5/6 May at the Derwent - good food and excellent pool. One of the reasons we went to the TLH group was for the bowls, unfortunately we were unable to use the facilities altogether as they had a 'prestigious event' at the hotel so prestigious that ''unfortunately' the hotel guests were unable to use a single mat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PennyRon
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased you enjoyed most elements of your stay. I have noted your comments regarding the lack of availability of our indoor bowls arena. This is always very popular with groups and I would always advise phoning in advance to check availability if this forms an important part of...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Derwent review Reception Friendly staff but... Our big bug bear was that we checked in as a group with single, double & family rooms booked. Our parents got the larger family room 243 as their double & we had family room 246 which wouldn't have mattered but room 243 is MUCH larger (has 2 singles & a double & room...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SaraCNG
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I have noted all of your feedback relating to the room, menu offering and reception. This information will be used to make improvements. The mattress you mentioned will be changed if required with immediate effect. We always have a few spare new mattresses for the issue you raised. Thank you...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Took a quick break with my partner for bank holiday. In all we have been going to the derwent (TLH) for 26 years and we can't fault it. Staff are helpful, efficiency of reception is particularly excellent. The food for breakfast and dinner is above and beyond great, simply the best food I have had in a hotel, this seems...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul K
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you in July.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a fantastic weekend sooo sad to leave ! Motown soul weekend excellent !!! Clean hotel food is amazing can't wait to return !! Staff excellent polite and helpful ! Our second visit in 6 months highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tjontourbristol
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Kindest regards

Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited for the second year running and cannot fault the Derwent on either visit. The Derwent is large enough, but it is part of a complex occupying a substantial chunk of Torquay and you are free to use the facilities in all of the site. Our room was well maintained and everything worked apart from that awful key card...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Toubabmarley
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am pleased you had a good week. The key card system is standard across many hotel groups. I accept that the magnetic room key cards can become an issue especially if kept near a mobile phone. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards

Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room 214 was small, but clean with adequate bathroom. Public areas welcoming & clean, with a love!y starlight lounge, where line dancing was on offer daytime & fantastic evening entertainment plus the inevitable bingo. Nice restaurant. Pool & spa area beautiful - but disappointed that there was no shower gel in shower area, but staff very he!pful in both areas.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra N
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. In reference to your comment regarding guest toiletries we use a combined shampoo and shower gel product. We hope you visit us again soon. Kindest regards

530 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (28)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (420)
Viewed
Amenities (144)
Viewed
Aztec Leisure Indoor Pool (12)
Viewed
Aztec Leisure Indoor Recreational Pool (12)
Viewed
Aztec Leisure Jacuzzi (5)
Viewed
Aztec Leisure Outdoor Pool (19)
Viewed
Double Room (21)
Viewed
Family of Four Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (62)
Viewed
The Hotel (88)
Viewed
Twin Room (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 km away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#26 of 88 in Torquay
573 reviews
1.6 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 88 in Torquay
2,661 reviews
0.1 km away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#33 of 88 in Torquay
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#30 of 88 in Torquay
636 reviews
0.7 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 88 in Torquay
2,240 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: ₹ 6,072 - ₹ 11,563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay
TLH Derwent Hotel Torquay, Devon
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#17 Business Hotel in Torquay
#25 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#34 Family Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from TLH Derwent Hotel staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
United Kingdom
9 months ago
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from TLH Derwent Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Single beds very small”
PennyRon, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“Might be worth paying for a room upgrade to get refurbished room & more space in bedroom & bathroom.”
T3993DDsandran, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“No tips - all rooms are good but ask for a sea view”
R8128MLmariat, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“256 was good for us, lift available, stairs not to good but we always used, and our room was very reasonably quiet and a view of the sea.”
ab435438, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“as usual steer clear of lift shafts but we didnt have a problem ourselves”
daveg761, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$ 132* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 132
TripAdvisorUS$ 132
Hotwire.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates