We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cavendish Hotel

Traveller (188)
360
Panoramas (19)
Room & Suite (217)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Family-run two-star hotel only 400 m from the sea front and ten minutes from town. We have excellent facilities and nightly entertainment, our rates are very competitive and a large number of regular guests come back to us year after year. Groups and individuals welcome.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast Available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Sauna
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
HOTEL CLASS
1,133Reviews
542Photos
23Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 247
  • 347
  • 245
  • 114
  • 180
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I guess the saying goes “you get what you pay for”, so I should not have been surprised to see the quality of the accommodation based on £40 a night for a double room. But the fact our view was of the side of the next block of the hotel was not great. The bed was extremely
Read more
Response from James R, Manager at Cavendish Hotel
Responded yesterday
Thank you for your review . I cannot locate your booking via your trip advisor name, so cannot look into the issues as I would like to. I must apologise you did not enjoy your stay,if we had been advised of any of this whilst you were here with us, we would of course moved your room or helped in anyway we could . Breakfast and Dinner was served in the lounge area last week as the hotel was quiet for guests booked for Breakfast and Evening meal .The Restaurant is very large, and we wanted to create a cosy atmosphere for our guests to dine in .We had no complaints and we also serve bar meals on these tables throughout the year We do have Sea View and Deluxe rooms with balconies at a supplement. We are a budget hotel that has 96 bedrooms, so some of our rooms face onto the next buliding.This is the same in many hotels. I am sorry we could not have helped you whilst you were here with us.There is always someone on Reception 24 hours .
Read more
very good mainly, another coach had a murder mystery event this was quite annoying. as some of our coach were watching the rugby in bar. A person dressed up came in shouting and trying to tell his group of people what was happening they were sat all around the room not all
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from James R, Manager at Cavendish Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear beverleyowers, Thank you for your review, I am sorry that the situation with the television was not handled in the correct manner, I am unsure of what happened, but will surely investigate this situation. The actors are not employed by us, but are part of the tour package, I am sorry that this caused an issue in the bar & stopped you listening to the rugby. We normally put the rugby on the screen in the reception area. I am glad the food was to your liking and that the staff were pleasant. We are refurbishing the hotel as an ongoing plan, we have 96 rooms to do, you can understand it is a long term project.
Read more
General overall poor appearance and service, seemed to be a lack of staff... advertised outdoor and indoor pools neither of which were available not a problem for us but if advertised then should be available. I spoke with a member of staff before my visit to arrange a cake,
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from James R, Manager at Cavendish Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Quest42580053996, Thank you for your review. I would like to apologise for the issues you have experienced during your recent stay. We have since the 2nd January closed the indoor pool, we have added this information on our website; also advised all other websites we use. The outdoor pool is only open during the summer. The member of staff did purchase a cake for your husband , but was unable to buy a balloon, as you had said it was a surprise and we only had your home number as a contact, we were unable to call you to advise you, as you specifically said you did not want to be contacted at home as to not spoil the surprise for your husband, once again please accept our apologies. I would like to specify that we are not a 3 star hotel, we are not a starred hotel and we do not normally provide this service, this was done as a goodwill gesture.
Read more
We just returned from another lovely break at the cavendish, though there was a few problems with one lift , meant we had to go to another room , the staff from top to bottom in all departments were brilliant, couldn’t of been more helpful, &nothing to much trouble ,&always with
Read more
Response from James R, Manager at Cavendish Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Angela walker, We are so pleased that you enjoyed your break at the hotel, found the staff to be very helpful. We always receive compliments about the food, I am glad you were satisfied with the quantity and quality of the food. I am so sorry about the problems with the lift, we are currently dealing with our lift company as they have been on the premises and are dealing with the problem as we speak. We hopefully will welcome you back soon at the hotel.
Read more
It was a good night stay, I booked it very last minute and they was able to accommodate me with a very comfortable stay after a very long journey. I was able to get up and check early. The staff on the reception on both the night and morning shift were very helpful and a
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from James R, Manager at Cavendish Hotel
Responded yesterday
Thank you for your lovely review . Glad we could be of assistance checking in early and I will pass on the comments about our staff. We hope to see you again very soon
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorCavendish Hotel
The Twin Room at the Cavendish Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorCavendish Hotel
The Family 2+1 Room at the Cavendish Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorCavendish Hotel
The Deluxe Double Room at the Cavendish Hotel
bathroom door
bathroom plastic door
PreviousNext
12345643
I have stayed for 2 nights at Cavendish Torquay and wrote a review about my stay on trip advisor. The manager replied with big fat lies on trip adisor. Shame on the professionalism! Reality: -I have booked room1 for 2 adults and 1 child (3year old) -I have booked room second family room for 1 adult (My mother In law who is 62 years, non english speaker) and 2 children 10 year and 12 year I challenge the hotel to prove otherwise. -while booking, I have made a special request about giving us two rooms which are adjacent to each other. (Reason: My mother in law was not feeling well and we were not sure about her trip. So if our children are staying on their own they have to be in our visibility also the 12 year old have asthmatic and allergic issues which needed constant attention.) -We booked the room few hours before our check in and my mother in law confirmed that she can not travel due to the illness. we decided to go on our own. That is me, my wife and our three daughters.Thats all. (CCTV can check everything) -While booking online we ticked for free parking as well. But upon arrival at the check in we have been charged £10 for 2 nights as we have not booked through the hotel directly. If you look at the Tripadvisor website you can clearly see it is advertised in big prints as "free parking", indoor pool etc. the pool is not operational. But as soon as you open their website you can see pictures of the pool and some refurbished rooms.The reality of the rooms are far different. I have documented all evidence (photos and videos for future use/reference). -I can only talk about room 210 as they only gave us the key for 210. -the room stinks as soon as you enter - The carpet is very dirty with lots of stains - Ceilings have cracks just above the entrance door -Floor boards under the carpet move generally and one just outside the bathrooms in very horrible condition. it make lots of noise -If you open the toilet/bathroom for air, you will see bird droppings on the window floor -There are some dirty cloths and curtains in the main cupboard -The duvets and bedsheets are clearly not washed for weeks -There is no soap in the bathroom but two small sachets of shampoo Now the second room they have offered was room number 209.The problem is that it is not even in your sight. (I challenge you to prove otherwise). You have to come out from 210 and there is a fire door on your right , through that door there are five steps down walk few steps then climb another 5 steps , then open another fire door, exit the door and turn left and then right you will see room 209 on your left hand side. -We only rejected the second room because, we did not felt safe to send our two daughters out of our sight!! -Your staff had three good options, but nobody bothered (1) completely cancel the booking and ask us to leave as the stay was not safe for us in those conditions (2) provide us with two different rooms which are adjacent to each other (3) Refunded the money for one room as requested and provide us with a bigger room where everybody can be accommodated. - What your staff at the check in did (1) Charged us £10 straight away for the parking (2) Asked for more money for the breakfast as it was only ordered for 2 adults (It has actually happened due to the misguiding info on the website). But we rejected the offer and had breakfast outside (3) The staff offered us refund for one room in his managers return the next morning after 10am (But we left for Lands End at about 8am for the day and returned in the night! we could not see the manager). The key for the second room was not offered to us or rejected the refund (4) On check out a very rude mannered so called general manager completely ignored what had happened and rejected the refund completely. (5) I have requested the manager to follow me to show him the room and status of it but he whole heartedly rejected my request. (I have video evidence of the conversation!) -The only right thing the hotel staff did was refunding the unused the breakfast money. It is absolutely appaling that due to the mis communication between staff, we the customers are suffering. On top of that when the customer give a shout on the social media, it is replied with lots of lies without any shame. The reason why we didn't complaint about the rooms conditions on the first day is very clear. It is because the staff with little of brain in the check in day offered us a full refund of the room which we are not going to use. As a goodwill gesture we wanted to keep quiet. The manager took it for granted. I still can make complain as I have video and photo evidences for the consumer court. All the negative reviews about the hotel explain the truth about reality completely. I will not only be asking for the refund but be asking for compensation if my daughter's condition get worse. -You have not provided us with an invoice for the parking charges that give me reasonable doubts about your intentions to avoid correct tax to the authorities as well. You definitely worth an investigation by the authorities. -I have reasonable doubt about the validity of your health and safety certificate, especially for room 209! I will be informing all relevant authorities your wrong doings.
Not sure if there’s a question in there...sounds like a general rant to me
1 vote
Show all answers
Do you have to pay for parking if you book with breakaway holidays
Parking is Chargable at £5.00 per day if booking is made through / tripadvisor / Expedia etc. Free parking is available to guests booking direct with the Hotel via phone or Cavendish Hotels own website.
0 votes
Show all answers
Will the indoor pool be of use in February?
Not sure,it wasn’t open July when we went,till the Thursday as we was leaving the Saturday,it is downstairs what are very narrow,and the pool wasn’t very clean at all,the sauna is a pay one,so by the time it warms up the money has run out,the changing room is just one toilet room,it is disgusting really,just matches the whole hotel,never experienced anything like it,faulty towers xxxxx
0 votes
Show all answers
Does rooms have hairdryers
yes
0 votes
Show all answers
Some rooms are better than others,I think you should ask when booking 're the type of room you require.they did serve cider in the bar.breakfast is self service you eat as much as you wish to full English etc...Hope this helps.out door pool is heated but only open certain times of year,indoor lovely and warm.re parking it's at the rear and you enter via the rear strait into reception..evening entertainment good we didn't play bingo.
2 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12345
"All could do with a bit of an update but clean and warm."
"Bed uncomfortable and lots of creaking floorboards..."
"Room 8 or 9 quiet rooms"
"Book somewhere else................. "
"On the two bedroom room there is no door or anyway of not seeing through to the other rooms"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$ 45 - US$ 276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cavendish hotel torquay
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEnglish RivieraTorquay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
94
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing