We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kynance House Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Kynance House Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 151: English reviews
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

One night stay with a group of friends. Was worried about what I would find after reading previous posts. I shouldn't have worried the room was clean and tidy. Obviously its a fairly old building so everything was not going to be perfect but for our purpose (night out in Plymouth to celebrate a birthday) it was a decent place... More 

Helpful?
Thank PIJK D
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. We are all glad that you stayed here with us - it's true that reviews are totally subjective, so it's good that you chose to come here and see for yourself. It was good that you all enjoyed your stay here and, when you are planning for the next big... More 

Horndean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Kynance recently and it's an experience I would rather forget! The hotel was dated and smelled musky and dirty. Our room was absolutely filthy, with stains on the floor and surfaces, dirty curtains and a broken window. Our room didn't get cleaned and we weren't given more tea or coffee - we didn't even get clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beth1296
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, although, from what you have written, I find it difficult to believe that you stayed here with us, as, from the list of your problems, I would have thought that you would have talked to any of my many members of staff about your concerns, as they do seem... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Like stepping back in time, this place hasn't been decorated or had any new furniture probably since it was opened in the 50's. Our room had a broken window catch, smelt musty, had old mis-matched furniture, looked tatty, had blood on the shower room wall and most certainly was not worth the £75 per night. How this place continues to... More 

Helpful?
Thank _ingrid_wright11
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us, although some of your comments make difficult reading, as we always hope that our guests enjoy their stay with us. To answer a few of your many comments -we do not provide anything other than soap in the bathrooms because of the potential allergy problems with our guests - if we had known that you... More 

Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a perfect B&B ,we went for an overnight stay in Plymouth to visit our daughter at Uni.We wanted a place that would take dogs too! We have a small well behaved dog and wanted the perfect place near The Hoe for walking him. This place was absolutely perfect! The staff and owners were so welcoming, nothing was too much... More 

Helpful?
Thank mrsfenemore
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us - I will pass your comments on to our housekeeping and kitchen staff - we always let them know when they have been singled out for praise. It was lovely having you stay here and we all look forward to your return visit. More 

1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The only good thing about this place was the fact we could take the dog. This place was poor, the sheets seemed clean but everything else was not worth the money, the door did not shut properly, neither did the window that was on ground floor and in the car park, there was old water in the kettle that made... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stacey C
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review - It seems as though you didn't enjoy your stay here with us very much and I am sorry about that, although I'd like to address your comments. After checking the door and shower in your room, they are both in perfect condition, as is the window which, as you... More 

1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Great place to stay very friendly Thoroughly recommend Great place to visit travelled down from Buxton Recommended local placed to see and visit Will stat there again when going down to see the boats. Welcome Hosts

Helpful?
Thank Simon P
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for the review - it's lovely to hear that you both enjoyed your stay with us, and I'm glad we were able to help you with the vinegar factory! Although it is a long way to travel, we are already looking forward to your next visit. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

This is a fantastic Wee BB such a welcoming, relaxed environment. The staff especially John and the two females in kitchen so courteous. Very clean, old traditional style house but great value for money & the breakfast is great. Thanks John for having us. R&G

Helpful?
Thank Gillyv7
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing us. We are all so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and we are all glad that the Passing Out parade for your son went so well and that we were able to set you up for the day with our breakfast. Although we are a long way from you, it would be great... More 

Newbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Arrived to a very warm and enthusiastic welcome, very clean and pleasant room, parking available in the permit area for an extra charge, could have been clearer on the booking page although there is some parking available at the rear of the guest house, not expecting the Ritz, just about the right size for a 2 night stay, a good... More 

Helpful?
Thank John P
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us! We are all glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and that you enjoyed your breakfast, as it's one of the things we pride ourselves on. We are very lucky to have the largest car park of any of the independent guest accommodation in Plymouth, and on a good day... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We stay in this B&B for a night and was a wonderful experience. Chris was very helpful from the very first moment, we arrived at night and he was able to call a pizza for us since everything was closed and we were very hungry. Nice ensuite room and very very comfortable mattress !! also I have to say.. wonderful... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fra V
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us! We are all glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, even though it was a quick visit. We do have many happy guests after our cooked breakfasts, and we are very glad that you are one of them. We look forward to your next visit and, hopefully, you will be able to have a... More 

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2016

I arranged a diving trip to Plymouth and the dive centre suggested Kynance House. Great communications with them to arrange the various room configurations I needed for a group. On arrival the guy at reception was very friendly and quickly checked us in. The B&B retains the old features that compliment the history of the building , it has a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Turkish304210
bb294, General Manager at Kynance House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us. It's always good to hear from our guests and it's particularly gratifying to hear such praise from the leader of a group trip, as these can sometimes be the most problematic because of the specific requirements for rooms, breakfasts etc. We are all glad that you all enjoyed your stay and that... More 

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,008 reviews
0.1 km away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
540 reviews
0.0 km away
Tudor House Guest House
Tudor House Guest House
#4 of 83 in Plymouth
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Imperial, Plymouth
The Imperial, Plymouth
#2 of 83 in Plymouth
597 reviews
0.1 km away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#8 of 83 in Plymouth
249 reviews
0.1 km away
Poppy's Guest House
Poppy's Guest House
#9 of 83 in Plymouth
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kynance House is a 3 star, family run Bed and Breakfast based on The Hoe, Plymouth. We have 26 comfortable en-suite rooms to offer, with free, unlimited, in room wifi and a delicious breakfast is also included in the price. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kynance House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 107-113 Citadel Road | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Price Range: ₹ 3,907 - ₹ 6,854 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kynance House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kynance House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kynance Hotel Plymouth
Kynance House Bed & Breakfast Plymouth, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kynance House Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Kynance House Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“As you're near the sea, seagull noises in early morning is unavoidable, but try a road facing room, I had a rear facing one.”
 of 5 bubbles donalddbhu, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Probably at the back of the property. This is quote central and Plymouth can be a busy town”
 of 5 bubbles anne0590, 16 May 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have en suite facilities”
 of 5 bubbles P9176FNpeterc, 1 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Under Refurbishment at moment choose a finished room./”
 of 5 bubbles Q2873DZcarolh, 23 Nov 2015 | Read review
“If you have mobility issue - ask when booking - they are only too happy to assist -”
 of 5 bubbles 960sharonf, 9 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay