We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rainbow Lodge

TravelocityUS$ 75*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 78*
US$ 75*
Great Deal
US$ 78*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Rainbow Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

272 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rainbow Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Booked the Rainbow Lodge as my daughter had a familiarisation day at the Uni. Helpful and pleasant staff. Both of our rooms were really nice, and the free WiFi was a bonus. We both slept well : it's a nice quiet road !! Breakfast was lovely, with the offer of more of anything, but with a Fry up or continental...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zakir G
Sue W, Owner at Rainbow Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are always pleased when guests say they want to come back. Makes all the hard work worth while. Looking forward to seeing you soon

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Comfy beds, a capacious room and a warm welcome. Just passing through but we thought it well worth our time to recommend this little gem to others. The girls at the Lodge have created something special for all kinds of travellers and also cook a mean breakfast ( and because its compulsory to include something negative on these forums all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
Sue W, Owner at Rainbow Lodge, responded to this review

Bigger sausage!!! Don't we all! Actually, joking aside, you are not restricted to just one sausage (size however is pretty standard) Glad to hear that you would stay again - Just mention sausage !

Newquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Very friendly family, we had the small double room which was small but comfortable and had everything we needed, very clean. Had a great breakfast. Good location for shopping, the Barbarian & Hoe. Would definitely recommend a stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherCramond
Sue W, Owner at Rainbow Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased when guests enjoy there stay with us . Hope to see you again soon .

Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Came here for a little get away whilst my partner did some work training and we couldn't have picked a better located guest house. Up the road you get the the most beautiful landscape and down the road your in the centre of town with an amazing shopping centre. The owners were so accommodating and friendly also with a breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bethany J
Sue W, Owner at Rainbow Lodge, responded to this review

It was lovely to meet you and thanks for your great review. Looking forward to you coming back soon

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

I arrived rather grumpy, but soon cheered by the landlady's nice welcome. My large front bedroom had been recently decorated - a bit over full for my taste but nothing to complain about. Tea and coffee in the room and small shower in the corner meant I had a first night in for an early night. Breakfast was very good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank profsp2015
Sue W, Owner at Rainbow Lodge, responded to this review

I am glad that you left happier than when you arrived. Travelling makes us all a bit on the grumpy side sometimes. Hope to see you again some time soon

Hengoed, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Thank you very much for putting up with us. We had a great time there,( even though some of us were a bit under the weather !!! )Thanks for you help ! Cant find any faults what so ever ,you were all so polite and curtious B & B was spotless food was excellent. Location was near to everything ,couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank welshspringer6
Sue W, Owner at Rainbow Lodge, responded to this review

We hope you have recovered and were glad to help!!!! Thanks for your review and hope that you come back to see us before the next match!

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

A great trip to Plymouth for the football, not only a great result, but a brilliant stay in the Rainbow lodge, friendly staff, comfortable rooms and delicious breakfast. Exceptional value! Would recommend to anyone visiting Devon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulyB293
Sue W, Owner at Rainbow Lodge, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay - made even better by the fantastic result. Hope you come and see us the next time they play. Infact, don't leave it that long. We'd love to see you anytime.

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2017

Fair B and B. Location central to all attractions, (city centre, Hoe, Barbican Theatre). Very clean and fresh. Owners new and upgrading so a little modernising on going. Have had better breakfasts elsewhere. Good choice of cereals and full English but fruit rather tired looking. Breakfast room cramped if full. Warm and cozy and the cost around the usual price...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gill085
Sue W, Owner at Rainbow Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Constructive criticism always welcome. Will check the fruit immediately.

St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017

I stayed for one night back in November 2016 as I was down to see the awesome Catherine Tate at the nearby Pavilions complex I work in the hospitality industry myself (Night Porter in a good 3 star hotel here on Sunny Guernsey) and the level of welcome and friendliness (genuine) I received was the kind of service I aspire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pepster1966
Sue W, Owner at Rainbow Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return visit later in the year. We are in the process of re-decorating all the bedrooms and the dining room and are really excited about the new look. We have also had a new kitchen installed so...

Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Perfect location for the town, sea front and theatres. We received a warm welcome from the friendly hosts. Our room was lovely. It was spacious, warm and very well presented. The ensuite was also good, with an efficient electric shower. The breakfast options were really good and the full English was delicious. We would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank graymole
Sue W, Owner at Rainbow Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the moment we are in the process of having a new kitchen installed so new breakfast options for the future. Can't wait!!!!!

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.9 km away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,233 reviews
0.1 km away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
739 reviews
0.1 km away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
5.4 km away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
1,823 reviews
0.4 km away
Edgcumbe Guest House
Edgcumbe Guest House
#4 of 78 in Plymouth
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Charming 3 Star Guest House on Plymouth Hoe. Ideal location for City Centre shops and commercial hub, Pavilions, Barbican, Uni, all transport modes and Plymouth Sound. Ensuite or standard, B&B or 'Roomkey only'. Singles, doubles/twins. Friendly individual service, spotless rooms, well prepared choice of breakfasts,private car parking on request ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rainbow Lodge

Address: 29 Athenaeum Street | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Price Range: ₹ 4,045 - ₹ 6,999 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rainbow Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rainbow Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Lodge Plymouth, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rainbow Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Sue W Plymouth, United Kingdom Property representative
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Not as helpful

Our check-in time is 3pm and check-out 10am, however, as long as you let us know we can arrange alternative times for you.

looking forward to seeing you soon

Sue

2 months ago
over a year ago
Wilola1 Bristol, United Kingdom Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Not as helpful

Yes but on the road is easy and £2 a day with voucher from lodge.

9 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rainbow Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 8 was really good.”
276JohnB276, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Family room is at the top of the house (5 flights of stairs)!!!”
kaneandally, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book early!”
christopherj901, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Double Room 5 was slightly larger with larger shower and away from main street. Room 6 overlooks main Atheneum Road so slightly more noise.”
sjftraveller, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room four is perfect for two its compact and well worth the money.”
AmyGuest12, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$ 75* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 78
Expedia.com
TripAdvisorUS$ 75
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates