We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

490 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 490: English reviews
Start your review of Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
 Click to rate
rotherham
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Need a good clean &decorated food not very warm staff nice but slow .entertainment was good up to Wednesday really rubbish went with shearing tom the driver really nice & pleasant town very clean just clean hotel & DUST

 Report
Helpful?
Thank timmyrotherham
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

We have a variety of live evening entertainment; all are professional acts and are very popular with our guests. We are pleased that “the staff were nice”, we are unsure of what you mean by the comment that “they were slow”. We are also pleased that “Tom the driver was really nice” and agree that Lynton is a very pleasant...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this recently n all though it is basic once out of reception lounge it is basic n could do with a lick of paint n some new carpets as some were holded together with tape,however it is in a great location theres steps to the front and a disabled ramp to the side with a lift in the hotel,theres...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave H
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

We agree that “the hotel is in a great location in the middle of Lynton”. We have two public car parks in Lynton, the nearest is only about a 5 minute walk away, a four day pass is currently £13.00, and is available from our reception and Lynton town hall. Thank you Dave H for posting your four star review,...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It's ok! Like any of the bay/shearings hotels we've visited it's clean and tidy. The outside of the building is beautiful and ideally located to the walk we wanted to do. Inside, downstairs is nice. The reception, bar and dining room were well looked after, bright and airy. Up stairs and the rooms are not so good, I felt like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul241971
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased that “the hotel was clean and tidy” and “the bar, reception and dining room were well looked after and bright and airy”. We are also pleased that “the staff are fantastic and always welcomed you with a smile”. We have free maps and guides to the many walks in the local area, available from reception. Thank you...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are glad we have done quite a few Shearings Holidays before we went here because they have been good especially for the money paid !. The price for this W/E away was a bargain £99....Lynton/Lynmouth is a lovely little place for a short break . However the condition of the Hotel is terrible , it's hard to believe that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank valerie h
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

We agree Lynton is a lovely place to visit, for a short break. (And for a long break too!) We are pleased the “staff were fine” and “your three night weekend break was a bargain for only £99.00”. We have had many bedrooms refurbished and we will continue to do so. Thank you Valerie h, for taking the time to...

Wirral, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Was given room 39 on arrival, the room was very shabby with old furniture, wardrobe door was hanging off. Ancient portable T.V, room smelt of mould and shower cubicle was full of mould. Disheartened we went down for our evening meal and was pleasantly surprised as to how lovely it was (was lovely all week) on back of menu we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donnalogo
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased that “your evening meal was lovely all week” and our “reception and restaurant staff were all very polite, friendly and really helpful “ We are also pleased “our lovely receptionist gave you a free room upgrade” and “you had a lovely sea view”. Thank you donnalogo for taking the time to post your review, we hope you...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2017

My wife and i stayed here three nights with Shearings Coach Holidays,having read some of the reviews we new what to expect,and some of the bad reviews were quite true but for the price we payed we did not complain.I certainly would not stay at this hotel and pay the full price,breakfast was OK but the food was barley warm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandbill
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you will not be returning to our hotel, it’s a shame that you didn’t bring to our attention any of the points you mention in your review (while you were staying here) our head housekeeper, would have been happy to rectify any cleaning issues. We have free 'The cloud' WiFi in our bar and...

Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Stayed here for three nights on a Bay hotels self drive, allocated room 45 on arrival and room not too bad although no shower attachment or hose in bathroom so had to use plastic cup to wash hair! TV worked by using extention lead thrown over the wardrobe although most of the time no signal. Only one window opened slightly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom W
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased that “overall this break was good value for money and staff were friendly”, but surprised that the dinner was rushed as service is between 6.30pm and 8.00pm. We have a variety of rooms in the hotel, some with showers some with baths and some with both, we would have been happy to move you to a room...

plymouth
Reviewed 10 April 2017

This is a very old hotel in desperate need of a complete redecoration and refurbishment.We did have an upgraded room and even that had the wallpaper hanging from water damage on the walls .It had a flat screen tv but due to very poor signal was a waste of time and there was no tv in the communal lounge either...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cuthbertson141
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

We have a two disabled entrances; one to the side of our front door (which has a small ramp for wheelchairs) and one on the level by the rear car park. We also have a large flat screen TV in the bar lounge. The hotel has limited pre-booked parking on site, but we do sell 4 day passes (currently £13.00)...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2017

My friends room no 64 had no light working in bathroom. Reported twice . Was not resolved. Was made worse as no window in bathroom. Single rooms very basic but adequate . Reception friendly . Bar staff friendly and helpful. They go over and above . Even went to the trouble to help me when I had a problem getting...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank caroleJ2692wl
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased that our “reception staff were friendly, the bar staff were friendly and helpful and they go over and above to help” We are also pleased that “the entertainment was really good” and “the staff in the dining room were friendly, always ready with a smile and very helpful”. Thank you caroleJ2692wl, for taking the time to post...

Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We arrived as part of a tour group holiday with Shearings. The entrance to the hotel is right on a corner immediately on to a main road through the town, Consequently there were problems with parking. Once we were in the Reception Staff were friendly and welcoming and we went to our rooms. We had booked single rooms at an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LinM67
JulianPercival, Manager at Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased that “the reception staff were friendly and welcoming” and the two maintenance issues were rectified the straight away. We supply all our guests with a hand towel and a bath towel. We have low energy lighting throughout the hotel; the lights in the main entertainment lounge are the original brass and glass fittings and are either on...

212 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (200)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (109)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.3 km away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
185 reviews
0.1 km away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
482 reviews
0.2 km away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 km away
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ilfracombe
657 reviews
0.2 km away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
228 reviews
1.5 km away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel located in the picturesque village of Lynton on the North Devon Coast, this early Victorian Hotel retains many aspects of its original charm. There is an impressive atrium in the lounge, where entertainment is provided most evenings. It is located within Exmoor National Park, in the heart of the village of Lynton, overlooking the twinned village of Lynmouth, known as Little Switzerland. The Villages are linked by a masterpiece of early engineering, The Cliff Railway, built in 1890. There are good local amenities and stunning scenic walks only minutes away. All rooms in the hotel are en suite with many enjoying scenic views of the Bristol Channel to Wales. The Valley of Rocks is the ideal location for walkers or those who simply wish to explore the natural beauty of the surrounding areas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel

Address: Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Price Range: ₹ 5,399 - ₹ 9,883 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton
Valley Rocks Hotel Lynton
Bay Valley Of Rocks Hotel Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago
wigan, United Kingdom

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for sea view if possible the rooms tend to be generally more modern”
sandbill, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for sea view and upgraded rooms the standerd are in very poor state.”
cuthbertson141, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't have rooms on the first fllor from 20 onwards as these pick all the noise from the entertainment (see above).”
LinM67, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't pay to upgrade”
cathowden, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had room 77 it was superior with lovely views”
valerie219, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Agoda.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates