We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Globe Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Globe Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 63: English reviews
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If like me, you want to save money, you have an open mind and a variety of experience with hostels then this place is OK. You won't find cheaper in Exeter that's for sure. If however, you're a new backpacker or flash packer, with any cleanliness standards or expecations regarding customer service, then this place probably isn't for you.

Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne A
Level Contributor
171 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in many backpackers whilst traveling nice clean bathroom and shower rooms ! Unfortunately the dorm was a bit dirty and had a very strong dirty smell ! The staff are some what friendly but I did notice sat in the living room area that some of the staff were rude to people when asking questions

Helpful?
6 Thank Vanderhessan
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed for two nights & really happy with the stay. Beds were really well late's out in the dorms. Really nice toilets & shower rooms. Had a good system for your food & drink in the kitchen. Good pricing for a hostel that's near a town centre. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank iSilverback
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016

We used the Globe to crash after a Saturday night out, I think for £18.50 pp pn in a multi-bed dorm you should kind of know what to expect. You're not going to get the best night's sleep located on a round-about with comings and goings throughout, and an orchestra of snoring. You might expect however, a moderately clean bedroom... More 

Helpful?
26 Thank 511rita
Caroline H, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear 511rita Thank you for your review. Firstly, all rooms are vacuumed daily so we were surprised to hear you would only describe the bedroom floor as moderately clean. The linen has been purchased in the last year and all linen is checked for wear and tear and removed from use if it is deemed below standard during the washing... More 

Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

I recently booked a night at this hostel for myself and my friend who were doing a 430 mile cross country charity walk. Unfortunately we both got injured en route and I ended up in hospital. I called the hostel to cancel our booking and was told by an extremely rude man that I am not entitled to any refund... More 

Helpful?
28 Thank davidbabaian
Caroline H, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear David Firstly, we were sorry to hear you and your friend were both unfortunate enough to be hospitalised during your 430 mile country charity walk and hope you have both now fully recovered from your admirable endeavours. We can only apologise for the service your received when you phoned up to cancel with the hope of a refund. It... More 

Travellers are raving about these Exeter hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2016

The rooms were not clean, even the dustbin was not regularly emptied. The window blinds were not working properly. There is only one toilet for sixteen people which can be quiet a problem. The common space downstairs was not spacious enough. The staff was indifferent. When I stayed there, an old guy staying in my dorm was bullying the other... More 

Helpful?
24 Thank Rajdeep K
Caroline H, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Rajdeep K Firstly, we have checked the records and can find no evidence of an "old guy" staying in the room in which you were staying so we have not been able to investigate the bullying accusation that you make. We are also sorry you found our staff "indifferent" as the staff are regularly praised for being welcoming, hospitable... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Wonderful one night stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I've stayed in a shared room and it was plenty of space for everyone. Even though I have not used the kitchen, it looked well equipped. Big social area and free Wi-Fi.

Helpful?
Thank irinac987
Caroline H, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review - it is much appreciated and has put a spring in our step!! More 

Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Hostel options in Exeter are rather limited (with this being your only option!!) and unfortunately the tired condition of the hostel reflects this... holding the monopoly of hostels means the need to freshen up the hostel is less urgent. However, in saying that it is a welcoming & friendly place & has everything you could need. The location is pretty... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie W
Caroline H, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Sophie Firstly, we are pleased you found our hostel welcoming and friendly and offering everything you could need. We fully take on board that the place is looking a bit tired and in need of a fresh coat of paint, and in fact we are rolling out a re-decoration plan from November 2016 until Spring 2017 during our quieter... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Stay here everytime I have a long term work contract in Exeter. Affordable and (atleast when I visited there) offer deals for long stays. The staff are friendly and always up for a chat (if there not too busy), the place is clean and basic (you get what you pay for) Good location as well, spitting distance from centre. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank firequill
Caroline H, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We very much appreciate your repeat custom and your support of our hostel and for backing us and our staff with regard to some of the bad reviews and the recognition of the truth behind them. We look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2016

The location is great and just a 5 minutes walk from the city centre. The dormitory was clean and the staffs were helpful and friendly. The kitchen was small but equipped with all the basic necessary things; the free tea and coffee was an added advantage!!

Helpful?
Thank aninditaces
Caroline H, Owner at Globe Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our backpacker hostel we very much appreciate it. More 

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 km away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.9 km away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#10 of 31 in Exeter
1,363 reviews
0.2 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#9 of 31 in Exeter
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#15 of 31 in Exeter
1,075 reviews
0.5 km away
ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed
0.8 km away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Exeter Globe Backpackers (Tourist Hostel) offers both shared (dormitory) and private rooms in an 18th century townhouse and is excellently located just a few minutes walk from Exeter's city centre. We offer a self-catering kitchen and free tea and coffee, social area, tv room and Free Wi-fi. Nightly rates are from £17.50 Or just £75 per week in dormitories (terms and conditions apply). We are just a few minutes walk to the nine hundred year old Gothic cathedral and the picturesque historic waterway and quay. That's not to mention the wide range of pubs and clubs all throughout Exeter. Globe Backpackers is ideal for people looking for a great value, clean, comfortable, and friendly place to stay while enjoying our beautiful surroundings.Our 2000 year old city is centrally located in the region of Devon and Cornwall making it the perfect place to base yourself to go on plenty of day trips to the coast, Dartmoor National Park, the Eden project and much more. Easily accessible from London, Bristol, Bath and Cardiff, Exeter really puts you in the middle of things.For those looking to offset some travel costs Exeter is a perfect place to make a few pounds while still getting to see loads of attractions.Exeter really is a must-see for any true backpacker! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Globe Backpackers

Address: 71 Holloway Street, Exeter EX2 4JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Price Range: ₹ 1,508 - ₹ 3,153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Globe Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globe Backpackers Exeter, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Globe Backpackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Namibia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Globe Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take the upper bunk if available.”
 of 5 bubbles , 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't forget to bring a padlock for your locker”
 of 5 bubbles roisinr847, 1 Mar 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in an 8 bed dormitory, but there were only three of us.”
 of 5 bubbles SLWD, 28 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Placed between quays and city center, everything is easily accessible. Every guest respects the someil of the other people in the room or he is. Showers are new, and washed regularly!”
 of 5 bubbles 309marionb, 30 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Hope that the Duty Manager isn't working when you call in to make your booking.”
 of 5 bubbles deeeevo_13, 15 Jul 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay