We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Buckerell Lodge

Traveller (164)
360
Panoramas (11)
Dining (35)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Just a mile from Exeter city centre, surrounded by mature trees and 4 acres of landscaped gardens the hotel has easy access from the motorway and ample free onsite parking. Good quality restaurant, bar meals and room service is available.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Classic
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
758Reviews
359Photos
6Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 193
  • 263
  • 166
  • 89
  • 47
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Never stayed here before and luckily I did not read the negative reviews before I left, our room was clean and tidy,(not much of a view). Our evening meal was amazing, tasty and well presented. I had chicken pate whilst hubby had the salmon fishcake...very tasty. I ordered
Read more
We needed somewhere for a 99th birthday lunch and were recommended this as we needed something with disabled and wheelchair access near to the hospital. What a disaster. Freezing cold, none of us took our coats off. Rubbish menu and when food finally arrived it was poor. The
Read more
Response from Joe H, General Manager at Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Responded 3 days ago
Blackthorn63, Thank you for your review. May I ask that you contact me directly on the email below so I can obtain some more information. Kind regards, Joe Hibberd General Manager gm.buckerell@shlhotels.com
Read more
We stayed here for a 2 night midweek break to visit the city and Xmas markets. We were expecting a typical 3 star hotel and a little surprised to see the 4 star sign on arrival. In my opinion it is a good 3 star hotel. Throughout our stay the staff were excellent, we were met
Read more
Response from Joe H, General Manager at Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Responded 3 days ago
Dear scd00, Thank you for your lovely review of the Buckerell Lodge. I was delighted to read your comments regarding the team. It is our staff that make the difference and to see them recognised is excellent. Kind regards, Joe Hibberd General Manager
Read more
Having recently stayed at this hotel there is no way that this hotel is 4* The room was a let down it was like stepping back to the 70s very dated needs modernising Very dull lighting marks on the walls even the lampshade beside the bed and the carpet was disgusting Shower
Read more
Response from Joe H, General Manager at Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Efua14, Thank you for your review of the Buckerell Lodge. I am disappointed to read your comments. We are always trying to update our offering at the hotel and I hope if you were to return, you will see the work we are doing. Kind regards, Joe Hibberd General Manager
Read more
+1
We stayed 7 and 8 December. Lovely staff who are all very welcoming, polite, and go out of their way to make your stay pleasant., Nothing is too much trouble for them and whoever carries out the hiring and training could teach some of the big hotels a thing or two. Superb. The
Read more
Response from Joe H, General Manager at Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Responded 3 days ago
Dear BattyOne, Thank you for your lovely review of the Buckerell Lodge. I was delighted to read your email and look forward to sharing your review with the team. Kind regards, Joe Hibberd General Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel Buckerell Lodge
The Standard Double Room at the Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel Buckerell Lodge
The Single Room with Shower at the Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel Buckerell Lodge
The Executive Bridal Suite at the Hotel Buckerell Lodge
room 39
Room 39
PreviousNext
12345632
How far is the hotel from Exeter st David’s station could I catch a bus
There are no direct busses to this hotel. Walking is about an hour! Taxi less than a tenner, but avoid peak times.
0 votes
Show all answers
Is this hotel pet friendly?
No it isnt
1 vote
Show all answers
Dear PongersGloucester, Thank you for your question on TripAdvisor. We can look after your request and I will communicate this with my team. We look forward to welcoming you next weekend. Kind Regards Christopher Francis General Manager
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi Cornish Camper, Of course you can leave your vehicle. I will ensure our reservations team are aware on your date of arrival. We look forward to welcoming you Kind Regards Christopher Francis General Manager
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"Room 39 is fab but does sit right above the bar. Ask if theres a party or event first"
"Newest extension on side adequate but very very hot."
"CHOOSE a different hotel"
"Pick room upstairs"
"Room 41 overlooking the garden."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$ 59 - US$ 137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
buckerell hotel exeter
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandExeter
NUMBER OF ROOMS
54
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing