We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Booking.comUS$ 118*
View Deal
#7 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,943 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,878: English reviews
Melbourne
Reviewed 15 July 2015

Great hotel within close walking distance of the major attractions of Exeter. Rooms are very modern and well appointed, with good-sized bathrooms and all amenities. The hotel reception areas are very clean and offer a good variety of places to eat and just sit. Breakfast; for an added charge, offers everything from the full English to a lighter continental and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank japrom
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear japrom, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our...

Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Well, there are both positive and negative aspects of my stay at the Mercure Exeter hotel. Starting with the positives: - Great location - Free Wifi - Friendly staff (thanks to Melanie in particular) - Nice decor (in the public areas) Now, comes my negative experience. Upon arrival I was informed that there were no rooms available although booking.com did...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Abir J
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Abir J, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at the Mercure Exeter. I am pleased that you found the staff to be friendly, in particular Melanie. With regard to the confusion surrounding your reservation I am disappointed that you experienced so many shortfalls. Please note that this problem was a true...

Reviewed 13 July 2015 via mobile

One night stop. Room clean and fresh. Even had proper hairdryer. Mordern decor. Handy with its free parking. Heating bit too much and unable to control in the room. Cannot comment on food. Gym/ pool good but busy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fen M
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fen M, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and many thanks for taking the time to forwarding your feedback. I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit the area. Kind regards, Amy Gleadow Operations Manager

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2015

At £40 a head for a pre-booked lunch ,the standard of cooking was poor though the meal very pleasantly served.They forgot to serve the coffee!! A hotel holding itself out as available to host functions should be able to provide a good quality lunch for £40 a head for three courses.A poor attempt on this occasion

 Report
Helpful?
Thank msj430
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear msj430, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent luncheon. I am disappointed that the event did not live up to your, or indeed our, expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies. We are aware that there were some operational challenges and have been in contact with the event organiser to fully understand the shortfall...

Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

A fantastic hotel with amazing stylish rooms in a convenient central location. Helpful friendly staff in all departments. A brilliant place to stay to celebrate a special occasion, thank you to Amy & the team who accommodated all of our special requests and included a complimentary bottle of champagne to toast the start of our stay in style. Our best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul H, It's always such a pleasure to receive such wonderful comments from our guests. I am absolutely delighted that you had such a lovely wedding anniversary and that we were able to make it just that little bit more special. I do hope that we may be able to welcome you and your wife back the Mercure Exeter...

Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

Very good and friendly service by all staff. So nice having spa facilities also. Parking a little pricey but overall a lovely stay and very good location to city centre. The rooms were very clean although not very modern, more of an older person atmosphere in the evening

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachel P
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rachel P, I am delighted that you had such a positive experience during your recent stay with us. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the staff who will be thrilled to receive such lovely feedback. I do hope that you will stay with us again in the future. Kind regards, Amy Gleadow Operations Manager

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

We returned to this hotel 2 years after our first, extremely pleasant stay. The general material standard is above average but showing signs of ageing. The staff are extremely polite and competent. Shame about the faulty door and noisy window cleaners.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paddy-Carbery
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paddy-Carbery, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Mercure Exeter. I am thrilled that you found the staff to be polite and competent but disappointed that you thought the hotel was showing signs of ageing. Please be assured that I will speak with the maintenance team and ensure they attend to...

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. The hotel was nice and the check in was quick. Parking is an extra £12 per 24 hours. The hotel is very centrally located about a five minute walk to the cathedral and the high street. I didn't get a good sleep as the windows were only single glazed, I could hear car doors...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yesimawake
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear yesimawake, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Mercure Exeter. I was disappointed to read that you found the hotel too noisy due to the single glazed windows. Please be assured that I will pass your comments to Head Office for their attention. I do hope that you will give us...

Manchester
Reviewed 7 July 2015

Friendly staff and well appointed rooms, recently refurbished. Very well positioned within Exeter and near to the Cathedral. Have stayed here many times over the years and always had a pleasant stay. Recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MRDT
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MRDT, Thank you so much for leaving such positive comments and your recommendation following your recent stay at the Mercure Southgate. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Best wishes, Amy Gleadow Operations Manager

manchester
Reviewed 7 July 2015

I stayed here about 4 years ago and thought it was a good hotel. I stayed here last week and the rooms starting to show signs of tiredness. The bathroom looked great, and they give a good amount of toiletries, but the chair had seen better days, paintwork all chipped and furniture dated. It has a good location and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pauljbManchester
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear pauljbManchester, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback following your recent stay. I am sorry that you found the rooms to be becoming slightly worn; I will certainly speak with the maintenance team and pass your comments on. I am absolutely thrilled that you found the staff to be faultless - they will be absolutely...

248 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (179)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Other (21)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.7 km away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.1 km away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#16 of 31 in Exeter
1,220 reviews
0.7 km away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
846 reviews
0.9 km away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
593 reviews
3.3 km away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#5 of 31 in Exeter
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4 star city centre hotel which is a great base for exploring the devon coast & dartmoor. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Address: Southernhay East, Exeter EX1 1QF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Price Range: ₹ 7,363 - ₹ 13,320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, ACCOR, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Southgate Exeter
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel Devon
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor at back - no view but very quiet.”
ME723, 29 May 2017 | Read review
“The rooms in the back are very quiet and if you keep the window open you can hear the birds.”
507trishw, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Our top floor room was tranquil and relaxed, some other reviews mention that lower floors suffer noise from above.”
ronalds606, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“I don't think there is much difference in the rooms”
avalonsilver, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“Book a Superior (or Privilege) room for king size bed, instead of the Classic, which only has a classic double bed.”
990juditv, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 118* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$ 234
Hotels.comUS$ 118
Hotwire.comUS$ 118
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates