We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

New Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
New Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 167: English reviews
Start your review of New Inn
 Click to rate
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An extremely hotel staff from start to finish. Our room no 7 was very clean and well fitted. Great food during our two night stay. We were a group of eight and all of us enjoyed our stay. A special thank to the barman.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnmover077
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. We are so pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us here at the New Inn. We look forward to welcoming you back to the New Inn in the future.

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our short break in Clovelly at the beginning of December. What a superb location. The village is incredible and the walks around fantastic. You need good shoes and patience but it is very worthy. Staff was really nice and the pub cosy and welcoming. A place to come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lola N
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It would be lovely to welcome you back at any time.

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night after 10 mile walk, arrived with our spaniel extremely wet. The staff were extremely helpful and our room was very quaint and welcoming. The food is good quality pub grub and the locals were very friendly. The breakfast was really tasty in the grand dining room, good value for money would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 97rose
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us. Dogs are always very welcome here at the New. We hope to see you again in the future.

Bridport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Popped in for a coffee, probably the worst coffee ever sampled. The whole place seemed run down and still in the sixties. Such a good location but no vision on how to attract customers. Pity. Better to walk down to the Red Lion on the harbours edge.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Malcolm H
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

We are so sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to the New Inn. We are an old traditional Inn and like to stay in keeping with the village.

Redruth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Just great. Fantastic people made our first holiday with our puppy so much easier. Food is lovely and hearty and the room very comfortable. Clovelly is just beautiful and peaceful. Just right for a quiet break.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cslk_13
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Dogs are very welcome here at the New Inn.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 27 October 2016

I could wax lyrical about Clovelly all day but this review is about our accommodation. As mentioned in other reviews, we left our suitcases at the top and only brought in the bare essentials which made the walk down to The New Inn a pleasant stroll. It also enabled us to appreciate the views of the bay between the whitewashed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JennyBednarz
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us lovely feedback, and thank you for recommending us. We do hope you can return to the New Inn.

Leutenberg
Reviewed 26 October 2016

friendly and helpful hosts, nice room en-suite with wonderful view, delicious dinner and breakfast, good beers, located in village centre, many possibilities for walking in the surroundings I would like to come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us in Clovelly, we hope you can come back and see us again soon.

Philadelphia,PA
Reviewed 25 October 2016

A very friendly place in the lovely, unique village of Clovelly. The breakfast is first rate and the staff are welcoming and very friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. The only thing needed is a bit of an update, especially in the bathroom. Although the shower was nice and hot, the sink didn't have a mixer tap and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelbean10
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We totally agree with you regarding the tour with 'Jana' it is well worth doing as she is very passionate about Clovelly.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Stayed in the accommodation across from the actual hotel, a little disappointed at this as we had booked a while back and wanted to experience staying in small hotels and B & B's while traveling around U.K. We had a shared bathroom and was told no one else was on the floor but this was wrong information as their were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Negal2014
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your food during your stay with us.

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Conveniently situated if you are walking the SW Coast Path. Clovelly is a charming little village, on a steep hill. We had an en-suite room with a balcony. The hotel is dated, but clean. The bar served basic pub grub, but was reasonably priced. As we walked in and out carrying everything, we didnt use the luggage carriage service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed Clovelly.

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clovelly
0.2 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clovelly
507 reviews
6.0 km away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
346 reviews
8.3 km away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Bideford
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
#7 of 12 in Bideford
27 reviews
14.0 km away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
489 reviews
24.8 km away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about New Inn

Address: High Street, Clovelly EX39 5TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Clovelly
Price Range: ₹ 6,219 - ₹ 6,464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — New Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Clovelly
New Inn Clovelly, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from New Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from New Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The village has a very steep hill , be aware.”
 of 5 bubbles johnmover077, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 6 for a solo person”
 of 5 bubbles Penguin1234, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Stunning location”
 of 5 bubbles SimonW565, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 has a lovely balcony with a seating area.”
 of 5 bubbles minibreaksrule, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are quiet as village is car free”
 of 5 bubbles 848kated, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5