We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Lion Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Lion Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

506 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 492: English reviews
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Since returning last year to the UK to live after decades abroad I have been travelling around the UK, visited Clovelly with my wife and stayed at the Red lion, great room very friendly staff and a sense of a real Pub, the Hunt was on at the time we stayed and the place was bussing, even met the Lord...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DB1MUSTANG
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give us the feed back I hope we will be able to welcome you back very soon Best wishes Nick

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2015

It rained most of the day we were in Clovelly but there was a break during which we managed to eat our picnic on a bench about 2/3rds of the way through the village looking at the harbour so we werent planning to eat in the pub but it was pouring by the time we got to the red lion...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terryconway
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the feed back I hope we will see you again soon Best wishes Nick

Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

I'm going straight to the point. I went here for a birthday meal on a sunny afternoon. Location is fantastic as it is right next to the bay. Food and service is appalling. I was served some very soggy fries and a embarrassment of a burger. Won't ever return.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elliott R
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

It's such a shame when people don't let us know if they don't enjoy our food. I was in the bar most of sunday as we had over 300 people at The RNLI weekend on sunday. We were very busy serving over 150 people food over lunch but we would would have much preferred you to let us know, then...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2015

I will be honest I don't like trip advisor , and feel sorry for those genuine business owners , that receive some particular rude reviews , with little room for respite , my view is simple , if the place is good , I tell everyone , if it's not I vote with my feet and tell the owner ,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrtoad61
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for such lovely feed back. We use a lady who used to work with THF on their interiors and I must agree she is excellent. As a hotelier of far to many years I was particularly grateful to you for your comments about "if you don't like something you share it with the owner" and then vote with your...

Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2015

just had a lovely weekend here, Clovelly is unique in that there are no cars in the village as the cobbled streets are too steep, there are no newspapers to buy either, its so quaint and peaceful the Hotel is well decorated and the food in the restaurant is really tasty, there are choices but mainly fish as we are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alison S
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We take our feed back very seriously and always want to deliver the best possible service to one and all. I hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon Nick

Gloucestershire
Reviewed 7 August 2015

We stayed at this hotel to celebrate my birthday, and Clovelly was one of the places on my wish list. We chose this particular hotel as it had parking on site. We drove down the steep, narrow road to get to the hotel, where there was a maritime festival going on in the harbour, which was very entertaining. The lady...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alibee_10
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

I'm delighted you enjoyed the Maritime festival so much. I am sorry to read your comments on the restaurant. The menu is changed seasonally and we have ever changing dishes and specials each day so there is plenty of choice. the restaurant is like other parts of the hotel, in keeping with the styles and design of the Village. There...

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2015

We were greeted by the friendly staff and had an upgrade on our room everything was perfect until we went down to the restaurant in the evening the size of the portions and the cost was a bit OTT. I made a complaint to the waiter and logged it in reception, The next morning the Hotel manager came to see...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Roger U
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. I was delighted when you said something about the portion size we didn't get the food right in the restaurant but you pointed it out and we were able to make amends. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us ands look forward to welcoming you back again soon. The new seasons Grouse arrives on...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2015

The service was as unbelievably poor as the staff were incompetent and surly. The seafood sandwiches were good according to some of our party but those who chose the cream tea will live to regret it (hopefully). It is never a good sign when the scones are removed from a bag to the microwave and then to the plate! As...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jarvissheffield
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, I'm really sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit to Clovelly and the Red Lion. We do on occasions get very large infused of guests and as all our food is cooked from fresh it odes take time. We bake all our scones daily and only warm them in the microwave as we believe it makes...

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2015

We stayed at the Red Lion in Clovelly for 2 nights in July 2015. We knew it would be a truly unique setting and it is - a stunning position in the quaintest of villages. It is like stepping back in time. My only reservation with the Red Lion, through monitoring the TripAdvisor comments, was the somewhat inconsistent reviews of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gazzy2015
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, I don't believe you should only read review sites to gain a true reflection of a hotel and what it offers. Please forget we serve upward of 140,000 people a year and do get swapped on occasions. We are always reviewing our menus, and finding ways to deliver the best possible product to the guest. You...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2015 via mobile

We stopped here for one night on our way to St Ives to break our journey up. We stayed in the Sail Loft Room 17 and we were pleasantly surprised. The room was beautifully decorated to a high standard with a lovely large comfy bed. It was very spacious with a nice seating area to relax and unwind. The ensuite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
nickW27, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. The beef we use is Ruby Red a Devon breed and they due tend to have a firmer texture than other breads but have a flavour to die for. I hope you are able to span more time on your next visit with us Best wishes Nick

230 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (227)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clovelly
0.2 km away
New Inn
New Inn
#2 of 2 in Clovelly
175 reviews
5.9 km away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
345 reviews
8.5 km away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Bideford
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 km away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
745 reviews
20.9 km away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
583 reviews
24.6 km away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Red Lion Hotel Harbour Restaurant
Red Lion Hotel Harbour Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: 48 The Quay, Clovelly EX39 5TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Clovelly
Price Range: ₹ 6,365 - ₹ 12,975 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Clovelly, Devon
Red Lion Clovelly
Clovelly Red Lion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Lion Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
1 month ago
over a year ago
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
27 days ago
Honiton, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Fish finger sandwich was great. We will park at the top next time as the hotel car park is a tad scary.”
 of 5 bubbles 815trevh, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view or a harbour view”
 of 5 bubbles YvonneJ98, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room in the sail loft”
 of 5 bubbles mark611scott, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I'd recommend room 5 as it has a view of both the bay and over to the village.”
 of 5 bubbles K9TLS, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 18 or 19 at the annex”
 of 5 bubbles 1hpb, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5