We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Lion Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Lion Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

507 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 493: English reviews
Start your review of Red Lion Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Absolutely beautiful place to stay. We had a wonderful room which allowed dogs, own entrance with steps down to the pebbled shore. Room was huge and very cosy, and tastefully decorated. Sash windows opened to the sound of the sea, all so very romantic. The village is unique and the Red Lion is the icing on the cake of enjoying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawnie C
hereford
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited here in low season, so no other eateries open after descending the climb down. Needed a drink, so decided to visit. Long queue inside, as only one elderly lady serving both bar drinks & food orders, but fair play to her she was doing a good job. Sat outside as the sun was shining, despite it being March &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helenyazor
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely quiet hotel right on the harbour side. Nice comfy room if a tad small, very clean, staff very friendly, the main restaurant was closed for a refurb, bar menu limited. One great plus is that this is the only hotel with parking, so you can drive to the door rather than have to carry your luggage down the very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
Chatham Kent UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

An old hotel with some history in a quiet and peaceful location. A lot of the rooms look out over the small harbour or out towards Lundy island on a clear day which our room in the sail loft did. Sea fishing seems to be a thing the locals enjoy. The beach is all stone and rocks. The hotel restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crusher2013
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Easily the best-placed hotel in the lovely village of Clovelly. Not 4* but doesn't claim or try to be and charges are very fair. No question that this place is the centre of the local community and the only place where parking is available next to the town and Pier. We loved our time here, the quaint decor and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John L
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic place and can really recommend for a short stay, we plan to go back in the summer, when hopefully the weather will be better. We enjoyed 3 meals there including breakfast and all were served quickly, tasty & filling. I'd recommend the fish finger sandwich for lunch. Our room was very clean with a big comfy double bed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trev H
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night wish we could have stayed longer. Lovely place. Breakfast lovely although took a while as only one waitress. Evening before a very yummy cottage pie for me and fresh fish for my husband. Went with two other friends who both thought the same as us. Show your receipt at ticket office and you get to walk through...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dawnsutton36
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind comments about the hotel, hopefully you can come and see us again soon.

england
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Our first visit to the red lion and we were not disappointed the view from our room was gorgeous even our bathroom had a superb view . Our room was on the small side and slightly dated but clean and tidy so the view made up for it . The staff were friendly and helpful, the young chap however that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne J
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Red Lion - I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Bridport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

We have just spent 3 nights in the sail loft, room 15. It was a lovely room, clean, warm with great views of the sea. If fact we were almost on the beach. Unfortunately the restaurant was being refurbished and we had breakfast and dinner in the bars. The wine list is excellent, choices for most pallets. Breakfast was really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm H
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind review of the hotel - The Sailoft rooms are lovely - hopefully you will be able to visit us again now the restaurant is re opened!!

Swansea
Reviewed 16 February 2017

We recently stayed at The Red Lion, we stayed for two nights. Well what can I say. It was magnificent. Our room was superb, it was in a part of the hotel called the sail loft. This was a building right next to the main building.The rooms couldn't"t get any closer to the sea. It was great lying in bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Car0lineSwansea
Sally S, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments about the hotel - I will pass on your kind comments to Yvonne. Hopefully you can come back & visit us now that the Restaurant is reopened!!

230 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (227)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clovelly
0.2 km away
New Inn
New Inn
#2 of 2 in Clovelly
175 reviews
5.9 km away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
346 reviews
8.5 km away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Bideford
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 km away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
747 reviews
20.9 km away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
583 reviews
24.6 km away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Red Lion Hotel Harbour Restaurant
Red Lion Hotel Harbour Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: 48 The Quay, Clovelly EX39 5TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Clovelly
Price Range: ₹ 6,365 - ₹ 12,894 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Clovelly, Devon
Red Lion Clovelly
Clovelly Red Lion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Lion Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
1 month ago
over a year ago
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
28 days ago
Honiton, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Fish finger sandwich was great. We will park at the top next time as the hotel car park is a tad scary.”
 of 5 bubbles 815trevh, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view or a harbour view”
 of 5 bubbles YvonneJ98, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room in the sail loft”
 of 5 bubbles mark611scott, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I'd recommend room 5 as it has a view of both the bay and over to the village.”
 of 5 bubbles K9TLS, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 18 or 19 at the annex”
 of 5 bubbles 1hpb, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5