We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Port William Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Port William Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

540 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Port William Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 536: English reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

This is a breath taking pub/hotel I have stayed in the hotel clean comfortable and dog friendly the food is lush had 6 meals there every time perfect service very good friendly and the views from here are brilliant breath taking top place to visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Londoners 11
PWGM, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! I will of course pass your comments on to the team! Look forward to welcoming you back, for a return visit!

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

Who'd have thought you could go so wrong with a roast dinner. Two tiny pieces of beef, the potatoes were obviously pre-cooked and reheated, the veg was awful (rock hard) and the whole meal drowned in gravy - no option or request! The glasses were filthy too. No ask from the staff what we thought of our meal. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MissMoneyPenny929
PWGM, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, please accept my apologies, for what appeared to have been a terrible meal, this is obviously not our intention, as you have said the view from here is amazing and we are working very hard with our team to deliver food, service & drinks to compliment it, in any way we...

Launceston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Reserved a table (for 2 ) on day prior to visit and this had been done with a nice sea view. Had our two large dogs with us and we were all welcomed by nice attentive friendly staff throughout our meal. As we were taking Lunch I asked to open a Tab in my name but had to give over...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank peter f
PWGM, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! My apologies about the mix up with your meal, and yes I agree a finger bowl would have been most helpful, my apologies! The £1 which is used to register your card details, is not actually charged, but held against your account, obviously we need to explain this much clearer, the £1 should be released...

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2016

We visited here on a love!y, sunny March day. The views were stunning and we sat outside in the glorious sunshine. The lunch was served quickly and the waitress came and checked all was well. Bearing mind that most custom here must be passing trade, I was impressed by their care and attention to detail.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
PWGM, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! The views are stunning, we are very lucky! So pleased you had an enjoyable meal! The team here are very dedicated to our customers, whether they are local or passing trade! All is most welcome! Hope to welcome you back soon!

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2016

We have stayed at The Port William quite a few times now. We are never disappointed. All the members of staff (Sam, Alison, Cornelius, Jamie, Cass to name a few) all fantastic and really help you unwind as soon as you walk through the door. Can't praise The Port William enough. We are coming back in September and have already...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
PWGM, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review, will obviously pass them on to the team! you are always a pleasure to look after! Look forward to welcoming you both back in September!

Reviewed 11 March 2016 via mobile

Arrived for a mid week winter break to a hidden gem in possibly the most rustic and stunning secret coves of North Cornwall. and we were immediately welcomed by a friendly and very helpful Team of staff. They could not do enough to settle us in and make us feel welcome. In particular was Cornelius the barman, for whom nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louisa M
PWGM, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this review

Wow, thank you very much, you really have captured all we are striving for at the Port William! I will of course pass your comments on to Michelle & Cornelius & the rest of the team! Thank you! The team here are truly dedicated to all we stand for, a great place to come to, to unwind and escape life's...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2016

Just spent a great 3 days at the Port William Inn. Our room looked over the beach and cliffs and was warm, clean and nicely decorated. The restaurant and breakfast menus offered much more than we would expect from pub. The food was excellent, served quickly and hot and with a smile every time! The Managers and Staff were welcoming...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pauline B
PWGM, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! I will pass your comments on to the team! We try and please all (hence the muddy boots) so our visitors can relax and not worry about the "little things"! Look forward to welcoming you back!

Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2016

We enjoyed a tasty three course lunch, hot dishes, piping, and all well-presented. The views from the Port William are spectacular, especially on today's sunny but chilly Monday. Apparently, the highly experienced managers took over in January and are successfuly putting their mark on the operation - they very kindly showed me one of their B&B rooms, which was beautifully...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ge013
PWGM, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! I will pass your comments on to the team! Our views are spectacular that's for sure & many visitors are impressed by our rooms, we have a passionate team here at The Port William, very proud of their pub from housekeeping to pot washing - all keen to impress! Thank you again, We look...

Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2016

A warm welcome from Richard and Lisa and their lovely staff. Couldn't have had a better stay - our bedroom had a wonderful view of the cove and was beautifully furnished and so clean. The pub itself is unpretentious but again with wonderful views and good food - can recommend the Cornish cream tea ! Wish we could have stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Veronica H
PWGM, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments! We will of course pass them on to the team! Next time maybe you could stay a little longer - for a walk up to Tintagel! Weather permitting - obviously!!

Bournemouth
Reviewed 27 February 2016

We stayed at the Port William for five nights and were absolutely delighted with our choice of accommodation. Extremely friendly and helpful staff, delicious breakfast and evening meals and the location was amazing. As keen photographers it was wonderful to look out of our bedroom window first thing in the morning to find a wonderful sunrise and equally in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AFCBcherries
PWGM, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! It was our pleasure having you stay for 5 nights! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future! I will of course pass your comments on to the team!

170 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (155)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintagel
2.7 km away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,109 reviews
2.2 km away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
231 reviews
2.9 km away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
109 reviews
7.2 km away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
450 reviews
2.2 km away
The Wootons Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Port William Inn at Trebarwith Strand, near Tintagel, is a wonderful pub and restaurant on the North Cornwall coast, renowned for excellent pub food and a comfortable welcoming bar. There is also 4 star accommodation, with all 8 hotel rooms having a very high standard of finish and superb sea views, down to the sea and the dramatic cliffs. Magnificently situated, The Port William Inn nestles into the cliffs overlooking the dramatic Trebarwith Strand on the North Cornwall coast. When out, the tide reveals a mile of golden sand which can be viewed from the bar, the conservatory dining area and from the inn's eight luxurious en suite hotel bedrooms. Once you have visited we are sure you will agree there is no other inn in Cornwall with a location to match that of the Port William. You are also welcome to enjoy the inn's excellent food and drink from the bar and restaurant, while enjoying the superb views from our outside terrace. The Port William lies on the famous Cornwall coast path and is a very popular stop off point for walkers. Trebarwith Strand also offers a surf school and has Life Guards during the summer months. A short drive takes you to local golf courses and tennis courts while the world famous Tintagel Castle and Island are just a short walk along the coast path. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Port William Inn

Address: Trebarwith Strand, Tintagel PL34 0HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Price Range: ₹ 6,616 - ₹ 12,141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Port William Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Port William Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port William Hotel Tintagel
Port William Inn Tintagel, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Port William Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Port William Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Love 4 and 6. Seem to start smaller and get bigger at 7 and 8. All have amazing views.”
 of 5 bubbles EMcCauliff, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 4 small but large bed and brilliant views”
 of 5 bubbles 596jacquir, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“the photo says it all - get a window seat or when weather permits, outside. VERY, VERY busy in summer.”
 of 5 bubbles B4652SRclaires, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Any seaview room will be excellent. Small but perfectly adequate !”
 of 5 bubbles Mikewilz, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“some rooms are larger than others. room 1 has best view, room4 best view with kingsize bed”
 of 5 bubbles clemmie123, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay