We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Ship and Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Ship and Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

405 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Ship and Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 403: English reviews
London
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Hubby and I were staying at St Mawes in a rented cottage up the hill from the actual harbour. We visited just after the storms which had unfortunately taken out The Idle Rocks hotel which I hasten to add were doing their best to get up and running as quickly as possible and good on them! We popped into the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mouse010
ShipandCastleHotel, Front Office Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Your comments as a non resident are much appreciated. We do apologise for the graffiti that was put there by some idiot, this has now been addressed. The whole toilet is spurious and the lid cannot be replaced. Due to demand and the short shelf life of draught ciders and beers it is not viable stocking these items. We do...

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed atT the above for 5 days , the room was very cold even with extra heaters, i had to sleep with my hat on, the room stank of damp ,the room was damp my w slept on top of the bed beacuse she tought it was dirty covered her self with her coat to keep warm ,shearing holidays have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frank b
ShipandCastleHotel, Front Office Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We have no record of your concerns of the bed being dirty or of any damp. Since posting your review we have investigated and cannot find any evidence to justify your comments. We are sorry that we were not given the opportunity at the time to investigate these matters. Regards...

Crosby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have just returned home after 4 nights at this hotel on a Shearings holiday. The hotel is in a lovely setting in St Mawes and must be beautiful during the summer. Our room (132) was clean, quiet and well decorated if a bit on the small side. However, I do think the mattresses will need renewing sometime soon, even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Judith P
ShipandCastleHotel, Front Office Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

How lovely it is to read your review about our hotel and what a lovely setting St Mawes is. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again Regards, Jackie

Reading
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Midweek break with Shearings left me with mixed feelings regarding the Ship and Castle. We joined the Membury interchange independently and although the timings are all approximate,our instructions were to be at the interchange for 12.45 pm for 13.15 pm departure, and as we learned on the day ,the coach would be leaving at its normal time from Membury at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff10_13
ShipandCastleHotel, Front Office Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and comments. We do have some wonderful views. I am pleased to read that all our staff were efficient and friendly and will pass on all your kind comments. We have had some issues of water damage due to the intolerable weather but these issues are in hand. The room...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We have just returned from an excellent Shearings five day break. We had a delayed start due to traffic problems with a feeder coach but our driver Steve started the holiday with these words" I will give you a holiday that I would expect if I were a customer". His standards were high and he did not disappoint. The driver...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paul R
ShipandCastleHotel, Front Office Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review on our hotel. I am glad everything was to your satisfaction whilst with us. I will pass your comments on to our team at our next team meeting. Look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Jackie

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Shearings at its best again from coach pick-up to return including the excursions. Particularly good was the 'Ship and Castle', where the room (110) was without shortcomings; the staff were all consistently friendly (including our driver 'Tony') and the food quality was well above what could reasonably be expected for the package price. The coastal location is hard to beat...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Erwoodgeorge
ShipandCastleHotel, Front Office Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for writing your review on our hotel staff and location. I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and of course your ever so kind words are greatly received. I do agree with you that all our staff deliver the best customer care service and try to make sure...

Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We have just returned and had a good break, the hotel was a bit tired our bedroom had onsuite but was not the best, toilet wedged between bath and wall and no double glazing. The staff were excellent they could not do enough for you, the waiters in the restaurant worked hard to make sure everything was served hot and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimmy g
ShipandCastleHotel, Front Office Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay at the ship and castle. I am pleased to read that all our staff made your holiday a pleasing one. The company is in the process of a refurbishment programme and we hope to have some of our bathrooms done so as to illuminate the small...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Being a regular Coast and Country client, I have yet to be disappointed with any of their establishments, which seem to be improving their standards at a number of the locations that we have visited over these past years. We booked in for a long weekend self drive break and were allocated a well appointed sea view room upon arrival....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rayad45
ShipandCastleHotel, Front Office Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your lovely review on our hotel .We do have exceptional views and beautiful surroundings. We do as you say do not have parking at the hotel but the main council run car park is only a two to three minute walk away from the hotel. I am sure you...

Uxbridge
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I am a regular Shearings traveller and am always pleased with their hotels but this one exceeded my expectations. My room was comfortable and most acceptable. The food choices were excellent and beautifully presented. Compliments to the chefs. My Christmas holiday at this hotel was really wonderful and I have to congratulate ALL STAFF who were on duty. They were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ann T
ShipandCastleHotel, Front Office Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the ship & castle. How nice it is to read that you had a fantastic stay with us and really pleased for all your kind words. I am so pleased to read that we exceeded your expectations and will pass all your kind remarks onto the staff. Look forward...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I have just returned from the Ship & Castle, St Mawes with Shearings Coaches. It was a very good 5 days trip & stay at this Hotel. Being a single person I was treated like everybody else. I had one complaint, the shower drain had a strong smell on last morning which I reported. The dates I was there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andyjohn64
ShipandCastleHotel, Front Office Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the ship & castle. It is nice to read that you had a good stay whilst with us and I am delighted with your kind words. I will pass all comments to the staff at our team meeting. Kind Regards Jackie

115 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.1 km away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Mawes
168 reviews
0.1 km away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 6 in St Mawes
343 reviews
0.1 km away
The Rising Sun
The Rising Sun
#4 of 6 in St Mawes
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.5 km away
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
#14 of 22 in St Ives
469 reviews
29.1 km away
Bay Beresford Hotel
Bay Beresford Hotel
#16 of 39 in Newquay
760 reviews
5.1 km away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Where the Rivers' Fal and Percuil meet to join the open sea, St Mawes boasts the perfect picture postcard retreat and at the heart of the village, right on the quay you will find The Ship and Castle Hotel. Once The Ship and Castle Inn, and a warren of small fishermen's cottages (remnants of which can still be seen at the rear of the existing building) The Ship and Castle is now a 54 bedroom hotel with all the charm and character one would expect for its location. Our bar and lounges offer the perfect location for a peaceful day in St Mawes watching the world go by, or enjoying a traditional Cornish Cream Tea. We have a selection of sea view rooms which understandably are in high demand and are well recommended to make your stay that little bit more special. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Ship and Castle Hotel

Address: The Quay, St Mawes TR2 5DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Price Range: ₹ 6,575 - ₹ 13,150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship and Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Ship and Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship And Castle Hotel St Mawes, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ship and Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The Ship and Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try and choose a room overlooking the harbour”
 of 5 bubbles andrewsenior1, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request a sea view, but we were happy with room 102 and a view of the pub at the side.”
 of 5 bubbles HARRYDAVERCHI, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for sea view room”
 of 5 bubbles DianeW360, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a top floor room to avoid squeaky old floors above you.”
 of 5 bubbles 70nelson, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view, not all rooms have one.”
 of 5 bubbles 73frankf, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay