We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ship and Castle Hotel

Save
Traveller (153)
Room & Suite (48)
Storyboard
Ratings and reviews
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good38%
  • Average22%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“dining room”(36 reviews)
“coach driver”(7 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Internet
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Parking
Pool
Airport Transportation
Room Service
Suites
Fitness centre
Kitchenette
Pets Allowed
3 Star Hotel
Where the Rivers' Fal and Percuil meet to join the open sea, St Mawes boasts the perfect picture postcard retreat and at the heart of the village, right on the quay you will find The Ship and Castle Hotel. Once The Ship and Castle Inn, and a warren of small fishermen's cottages...
View all hotel information
Location and contact
The Quay, St Mawes TR2 5DG, England
Hotel website
31.3 km to St Mawgan Airport
17 restaurants are within a 0.5 km radius
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (526)
Filter reviews
522 results
Traveller rating
123
192
118
57
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
123
192
118
57
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshearings holidaydining roomcoach driverpost officesea viewgreat positionshort breaka la carte menuevening mealco opnight breakrestaurant managerfantastic viewsextractor fanlong journeyfour nightscar park
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 522 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

stayed here for four nights wanting to stay in diff part of padstow rather than our normal north coast stays. At first sight a nice little hotel with wonderful views of the harbor. Have to say the hotel was a little disappointing our room 126...More

Thank sdcman
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Arrived to a warm welcome from reception staff. Initial room 130 was totally unacceptable due to large wet patch on the ceiling. We were quickly moved to what was deemed a superior room on 2nd floor, room 218. The room was pleasant but not superior,...More

Thank lorrraine k
Reviewed 4 days ago

Last year we went to this hotel and I stated that there were too many stairs to my room which were not served by a lift, this year I took notice of the managers comments about calling her before we went, no luck, I called...More

Thank Doreen B
Response from Laurie S, General Manager at The Ship and Castle HotelResponded 4 days ago

I'm sorry that you were unhappy with the room you were allocated, we always like to solve issues as soon as they arise, it appears that there were too view alternative options on this occasion. We don't get it right all the time, we do...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I rate this hotel highly. I took my mother on a Shearings holiday here at the beginning of July. It’s a very good hotel in a beautiful, quiet setting, really only let down by the fact it doesn’t cater for disabled folk. Not even one...More

Thank GPCobb
Response from Laurie S, General Manager at The Ship and Castle HotelResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your comments and we are looking to action all the points you have raised with regards to the access. It appears the housekeeping issue was a rare oversight and one which I can assure you has now been remedied. Its great to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

The main downside of this hotel is the parking, after dropping my wife and luggage you then have to drive to a public car park for the duration .However staff are very welcoming and helpful. We did pay extra for a premium room with a...More

Thank Sam R
Response from Laurie S, General Manager at The Ship and Castle HotelResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your comments, The main car park has been fuller than usual in recent weeks and you'll be pleased to know that we are looking at sectioning off some space for The Ship & Castle. The balcony decking has recently been upgraded and...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Internet
Hotel Amenities
Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$ 105 - US$ 176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 105 - US$ 176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (153)
Room & Suite (48)
Dining (14)
Pool & Beach (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
farny1946
2 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Gillian W | Reviewed this property |
Sorry can’t help as we went by coach.
1
Vote
taichitilly
11 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from Paul T | Reviewed this property |
I couldn't answer the question on room choice with a numbered room, some of the rooms have a sea view, the one I stayed in doesn't, but was still a nice room. Parking is limited in this area, and legal street parking is the... More
1
Vote
HARRYDAVERCHI
30 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from MattReed123 | Property representative |
We served a wide variety of Bottles Cornish real ales sourced from Skinner's Brewery in Truro. There is a hair dryer supplied in each room. Regards Matt Reed Assistant Manager The Ship & Castle Hotel
1
Vote
Room Tips
"room 115 has a balcony with fantastic views"
Read review
"insist on seeing first"
Read review
"book a room with a balcony"
Read review
"Sea view rooms if available are amazing."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing