We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Panoramas (21)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,292 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,271: English reviews
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2014

If you infer from the website that at this hotel you can enjoy a relaxing dinner watching the sun go down over the sea and then retire to bed and be lulled to sleep by the sound of waves breaking on the beach below, forget it. What they don't tell you is that night after night there will be a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alan G
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on trip advisor, I am pleased to hear we were able to move you to another room. We are currently undergoing plans for double glazing the windows for the entire hotel this winter, so this will help with the sound proofing. I sincerely hope you wish to return to the hotel again soon, kind regards,...

Falmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2014

What a shame. we booked this hotel for an anniversary break. The hotel had so much potential but failed to deliver in so many areas. We ate in the restaurant the first night but would not eat there again. There is a fantastic view over the bay and the night scene was beautiful. Alas it seemed the staff were more...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chris T
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review Chris. I am truly disappointed to read about the service you received whilst at the hotel, this is not the usual level of practice and I sincerely apologise for this. I have sent you a private message via trip advisor, if you could respond that would be great. I look forward to speaking to...

Peak District, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2014

Booked very last minute (i.e. that same morning as we were touring around the south) and had a great room / suite for three nights. The staff were professional and really helpful throughout, room extremely comfortable with a great view over Porthminster Beach and breakfasts on each day excellent (especially the smoked haddock according to my wife). Very good value...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Colin1965
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your 5 star review. I am delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. It is lovely to read such positive comments and is excellent for staff morale. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Peter

England
Reviewed 5 September 2014

We've just come back after spending 3 nites here, I was quite disappointed there was no small jester for our wedding anniversary after phoning up the weds before to confirm booking. We booked through booking.com & just booked standard room, but was lucky enough to upgrade to a fantastic room if only 4 2 nites, we then had 2 move...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank baileysandicecream
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am please that you were upgraded and enjoyed the two nights in the sea view bedroom. The room originally allocated was as per the your reservation via booking.com, it always good to book direct to ensure you get the room you want. Kind regards Peter

Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2014

In July I stayed at the sister hotel in Salcombe which was excellent. I expected the same standards but was very disappointed! Our room 116 was dingy and extremely hot. The windows were right next to the main road and the traffic was very noisy. We hardly got any sleep due to the heat, noise and beds that were like...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gill D
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post a review. We have refurbished over 70% of our Hotel bedrooms however unlike Salcombe who were able to fully close we are doing our programme in stages. The remainder of the bedrooms will be finished this coming winter. We are currently provisional 4 star and Salcombe provisional 5 star so there will be...

Bristol
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

On arrival to the hotel we were welcomed in a very nice friendly manner by staff. Very smooth check in good for parking as just across the road. We then went to the room. Extremely pokey. Barely any room to walk around the bed. The decor of the room itself was lovely. However, £210 for one night is ridiculous. It...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank loveholidayBristol
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on trip advisor. I am delighted that your check in went very smooth and that you were greeted in a nice friendly manner by the reception team, this is great to hear and I will pass on your kind comments. However, I am truly disappointed to hear about your room and I am terribly...

Denham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The staff and the hotel are just amazing, the view from the terrace looking onto the bay below the hotel leads you into lingering longer than just a pre dinner drink...... you will not be disappointed with the in hotel dining experience.....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paullawrence616258
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your working vacation in St Ives and hope that you will return again soon. All the best Peter

Reviewed 1 September 2014

Upon arrival we were not sure where to park our car. The 'drop off' bays outside were full so we parked up where we could and ran inside the reception to find out where to go. The receptionist behind the desk was very short with us, and seemed put out with our very simple query about where to park -...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank otter28
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your recent review. Customer feedback is vital and I value your comments. In hindsight I wish you had contacted me or the duty manager during your stay so we could have looked into moving bedrooms for you. The Spa does offer a children's swim time twice a day only for an hour each time which we...

Sarflondongirl
Reviewed 1 September 2014

When I first arrived at the St Ives hotel I was sure I'd be writing a 5 star review. It's a beautifully styled hotel, with a gorgeous spa, complete with pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and sun terrace. The real star of the show is the location. It's far enough from St Ives to be away from the tourist hordes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sarflondongirl
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your bedroom and the Hotel location. The Hotel is a popular Wedding venue and we do try to ensure that Hotel guests do not get disturbed by Wedding guests hence the separate function rooms. I do take your point about the music and we looking a fully double...

Yorkshire
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here. We returned to the hotel as the location, food and service had been very good. The rooms have been refurbished and our room was very clean but small for a double. The shower would not be suitable for anyone that was over 6ft as it was very small. Our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yorkie016
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - I have sent you a TA message so I can contact you directly. Kind regards Peter

632 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (388)
Viewed
View from Room (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (148)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (222)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Classic Seaview Double Room (45)
Viewed
Harbour Spa Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.4 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
1.4 km away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.3 km away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 22 in St Ives
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#4 of 22 in St Ives
132 reviews
0.1 km away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 22 in St Ives
860 reviews
1.7 km away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#3 of 22 in St Ives
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
St Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa is perfectly positioned directly above Porthminster beach boasting stunning views across the water. Watch as the waves lap against the famous Godrevy Lighthouse in the distance and feel your troubles disappear. Explore the local harbour, as you meander through the cobbled streets, and then return for dinner at the Terrace Restaurant, serving up seasonal and local food, along with stunning sea views. The Harbour Spa provides the perfect hideaway, as you indulge in a soothing treatment and then unwind by the pool, gazing out to sea from the comfort of a lounger! Enjoy an indulgent afternoon tea, cocktail or light lunch on the alfresco dining terrace and soak up the sea air and sensational views. The 46 bedrooms offer complete comfort and some of the Superior Bedrooms have balconies - a perfect place to relax over a morning coffee with the papers or afternoon tea watching the boats sail by... ... more   less 

Additional Information about St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa

Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Price Range: ₹ 9,193 - ₹ 22,813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porthminster Hotel St Ives
Porthminster St Ives
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa St Ives, Cornwall
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Ives
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Weymouth, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Devon
over a year ago
Plymouth, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book Seaview rooms only, I can't think why else you would choose this hotel.”
  • A December day!
 of 5 bubbles LottiePebs, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Spend a little more on the room for a better view...you won't regret it!”
 of 5 bubbles BenD3333, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Sea view or side sea view are only rooms worth having”
 of 5 bubbles rupertsdad2016, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't accept room 201. Go for a room with a seaview”
 of 5 bubbles I3173BBpeterm, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“You must get a room on the seaward side AND away from both 'ends' of the hotel if you need a quiet room for a good night's sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles PhilS729, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay