We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Whiteways Guest House

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Whiteways Guest House
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 68: English reviews
Start your review of Whiteways Guest House
 Click to rate
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well place B and B with clean rooms and good service. Owner couldn't do enough offered to leave us some sandwiches because we had to head out before breakfast. Building shows it's age a touch but has a welcoming family feel and the rooms were fitted with all the mod cons you'd expect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ANWPTQ
Domfront, France
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We needed to be near the SCILLION and booked into this hotel for one night. The hotel was very tired and very old fashioned (it was up for sale)". The only good point wa a very comfortable large bed. Felt a bit disappointed. We missed breakfast as we had to catch the boat to the Scilly Isles at 7.45. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angy047
whitewayskg, Owner at Whiteways Guest House, responded to this review

we are sorry that you had to miss breakfast, we have always been happy to leave milk, juice and cereals for guests that have to leave earlier than breakfast service times,by request. i'm sorry that you didnt get to sample our full english breakfast (it always has good reviews) . but i'm glad that you had a good nights sleep...

Reviewed 29 March 2017

we got a very warm welcome from kathy the landlady only stayed two nights as had to catch the the ferry to the scilly isles had a good nights sleep and a nice cooked breakfast yes the place could do with a lick of paint but remember you get what you pay for at £56 that,s not too bad

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnny G
whitewayskg, Owner at Whiteways Guest House, responded to this review

Thank You Johnny, was a pleasure to have you stay with me, and i hope that you enjoyed your trip to the islands,.

Spalding, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Needed a 3night stay in Penzance on a budget so chose this establishment,it cost me £23. per night breakfast included, single room, bed, toilet, shower, coffee and tea, hand basin plus tv, everything i needed, landlady Cathy was nice and accommodating even washing out and filling my flask with hot coffee for my 400 mile drive home at no extra...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick H
whitewayskg, Owner at Whiteways Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review rick, as you have stated we know that we are a rickety old building (we call it character) and yes we dont charge top dollar to reflect this. i appreciate your comments, and its nice to hear some kind words too. we do attempt to give everyone a warm welcome and clean comfy rooms and...

Sherborne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

Despite the warm welcome I cannot recommend you stay here,in fact it should be a last resort. The guest house is in dire need of a good clean and more over some major refurbishment. The carpet and mats in the hall is a prime example of how dirty the place is, not a great first impression. The room was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris T
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2016

I see there are a lot of negative reviews on this site about the B and B. We found it perfectly ok. Yes a bit run down and basic, a rather old fashioned type guest house, but good value for money. The room was warm, bathroom was clean, no problems with dirty linen and we had a TV and tea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deborahdjevans
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 October 2016

This was a very conveniently place B&B - very close to town, train and bus station and harbor. The host was very friendly and helpful, especially in finding us a parking spot. However it is very run down and needs some serious money being spent on it - especially on plumbing and electricals.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrianMc43
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

it doesn't cost lots of money to make the guest room nice and clean.If i have some extra money i can suport to make it comfortable for everyone.I am not really annoying fussy person,so after 20min we've booked another hotel,of course paid cancellation fee and fly away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Surdo F
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Having just logged onto tripadvisor to read the reviews I was shocked. The room my partner and I stayed in was lovely, clean and pretty. Coffee, hot chocolate and tea was provided. A small travel kettle and complementary shower gel. No issues at all. For the location and area, price was reasonable with breakfast included. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Rebekah B
Reviewed 5 June 2016

This is the worst bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in.we arrived to find the lady had gone out ,she showed us our room it has a damp smell to it ,there was blood on the cushion on the bed ,light switch hanging off the fall,bathroom was awful.we stayed one night,we got up at 5 the next morning and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angela G
whitewayskg, Owner at Whiteways Guest House, responded to this review

I would like to say i always try to contact guests regarding time of arrival as not all guests give expected times since the unfortunate loss of my husband six months ago i am trying to continue on my own i do need to go shopping on this occasion i was 5 mins away in the town as soon as...

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.1 km away
The Longboat Hotel
The Longboat Hotel
#53 of 81 in Penzance
245 reviews
0.0 km away
Carnson House
Carnson House
#61 of 81 in Penzance
67 reviews
0.1 km away
Penrose Guest House
Penrose Guest House
#35 of 81 in Penzance
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Sea Waves B&B
Sea Waves B&B
#71 of 81 in Penzance
67 reviews
0.1 km away
EasyPZ Backpackers
EasyPZ Backpackers
#7 of 18 in Penzance
20 reviews
0.5 km away
Union Hotel
Union Hotel
#59 of 81 in Penzance
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms

Additional Information about Whiteways Guest House

Address: 1 East Terrace, Penzance TR18 2TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Price Range: ₹ 4,522 - ₹ 5,814 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Whiteways Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Whiteways Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whiteways Guest House Hotel Penzance
Whiteways Guest House Penzance, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Whiteways Guest House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Whiteways Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The sea front”
DragonIII, 3 May 2016 | Read review
“Avoid this hotel!!”
  • Bathroom extracter fan caked in dust
  • Dirty radiator coming away from the wall
  • Dirty carpet and someone else's toenail
  • Dirty carpet and tatty finishing job
  • Mouldy shower hose and bar coming away from the wall
  • Mouldy shower
eirenc, 7 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Don't use this establishment”
duncang607, 2 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Don't.”
L8856JCsarahn, 16 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Book a double or avoid room 1 as it has the shower cubicle next to the bed.”
laurapB8608WS, 10 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.com
Cancelon
Expedia.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates