We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Whiteways Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Whiteways Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 65: English reviews
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Needed a 3night stay in Penzance on a budget so chose this establishment,it cost me £23. per night breakfast included, single room, bed, toilet, shower, coffee and tea, hand basin plus tv, everything i needed, landlady Cathy was nice and accommodating even washing out and filling my flask with hot coffee for my 400 mile drive home at no extra... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rick H
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Despite the warm welcome I cannot recommend you stay here,in fact it should be a last resort. The guest house is in dire need of a good clean and more over some major refurbishment. The carpet and mats in the hall is a prime example of how dirty the place is, not a great first impression. The room was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris T

Travellers are raving about these Penzance hotels

Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I see there are a lot of negative reviews on this site about the B and B. We found it perfectly ok. Yes a bit run down and basic, a rather old fashioned type guest house, but good value for money. The room was warm, bathroom was clean, no problems with dirty linen and we had a TV and tea... More 

Helpful?
Thank deborahdjevans
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2016

This was a very conveniently place B&B - very close to town, train and bus station and harbor. The host was very friendly and helpful, especially in finding us a parking spot. However it is very run down and needs some serious money being spent on it - especially on plumbing and electricals.

Helpful?
Thank BrianMc43
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

it doesn't cost lots of money to make the guest room nice and clean.If i have some extra money i can suport to make it comfortable for everyone.I am not really annoying fussy person,so after 20min we've booked another hotel,of course paid cancellation fee and fly away.

Helpful?
Thank Surdo F
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Having just logged onto tripadvisor to read the reviews I was shocked. The room my partner and I stayed in was lovely, clean and pretty. Coffee, hot chocolate and tea was provided. A small travel kettle and complementary shower gel. No issues at all. For the location and area, price was reasonable with breakfast included. Would stay again.

Helpful?
2 Thank Rebekah B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2016

This is the worst bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in.we arrived to find the lady had gone out ,she showed us our room it has a damp smell to it ,there was blood on the cushion on the bed ,light switch hanging off the fall,bathroom was awful.we stayed one night,we got up at 5 the next morning and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Angela G
whitewayskg, Owner at Whiteways Guest House, responded to this review

I would like to say i always try to contact guests regarding time of arrival as not all guests give expected times since the unfortunate loss of my husband six months ago i am trying to continue on my own i do need to go shopping on this occasion i was 5 mins away in the town as soon as... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2016

The owner of this ramshackle little place was pleasant enough, but not much else was. The decor here was a very grim affair, the first thing I noticed. Moreover, the shower was utterly tiny, the fittings in both ensuite and bedroom were poorly finished, the mattress was like a squidgy fat person, and the breakfast was greasier than Silvio Berlusconi.... More 

Helpful?
Thank DragonIII
whitewayskg, Owner at Whiteways Guest House, responded to this review

Hi i would like to let guests know mattresses have been replaced where applicable in april of this year More 

Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2015 via mobile

Booked this online without really doing any research so my fault really. Stayed here years ago but that must have been in a different universe because I wouldn't have if I'd seen photos. The place is untidy,dusty,dirty and not very welcoming at all and that's a shame because it's an ideal location near the station,harbour and town but will not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor V
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2015

I booked this very last minute without reading the reviews - that was a mistake. Pretty much what everyone else has been saying - the place is not clean, the furniture is old and tatty, I had the room with the shower next to the bed which made the room feel a bit damp, the window rattled in its frame,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Saz1515
whitewayskg, Owner at Whiteways Guest House, responded to this review

Due to serious illness and my not running guest house through 2015 left with staff all issues have now been dealt with hopefully no more seriosly bad reviews More 

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.3 km away
Carnson House
Carnson House
#59 of 88 in Penzance
62 reviews
0.1 km away
The Longboat Hotel
The Longboat Hotel
#58 of 88 in Penzance
232 reviews
1.2 km away
Glencree House
Glencree House
#3 of 88 in Penzance
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Penrose Guest House
Penrose Guest House
#34 of 88 in Penzance
83 reviews
0.7 km away
The Dolphin Tavern
The Dolphin Tavern
#12 of 88 in Penzance
231 reviews
0.6 km away
Artist Residence
Artist Residence
#7 of 88 in Penzance
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms

Additional Information about Whiteways Guest House

Address: 1 East Terrace, Penzance TR18 2TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Price Range: ₹ 4,514 - ₹ 5,950 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Whiteways Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Whiteways Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whiteways Guest House Hotel Penzance
Whiteways Guest House Penzance, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Whiteways Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Whiteways Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The sea front”
 of 5 bubbles DragonIII, 3 May 2016 | Read review
“Avoid this hotel!!”
  • Bathroom extracter fan caked in dust
  • Dirty radiator coming away from the wall
  • Dirty carpet and someone else's toenail
  • Dirty carpet and tatty finishing job
  • Mouldy shower hose and bar coming away from the wall
  • Mouldy shower
 of 5 bubbles eirenc, 7 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Don't use this establishment”
 of 5 bubbles duncang607, 2 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Don't.”
 of 5 bubbles L8856JCsarahn, 16 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Book a double or avoid room 1 as it has the shower cubicle next to the bed.”
 of 5 bubbles laurapB8608WS, 10 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay