We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Penzance

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

767 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Penzance
See the most recent reviews
Showing 735: English reviews
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Room 2 is wonderful. I have difficulty with mobility, but this was just perfect, not far from reception and the beautiful bar, and next door to the restaurant where I enjoyed the best breakfast I have had in ages- no surcharges for special dishes, cooked to perfection. My room had wonderful sea views and was very well equipped. I was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SilverJudy
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your 'super' review and that you enjoyed your stay including breakfast. I will pass on your comments to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2015

The hotel is lovely but the parking is an absolute nightmare but that apart nothing wrong with the hotel. The reason for the average rating is that the cold water tap in the bathroom sink didn't work and despite informing the staff no effort was made to repair it. Having to transport cold water from the bath to the basin...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paul105SR
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. Your comments have been noted and will certainly be investigated. We hope you had a safe journey home.

Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2015

Me, husband and 2 dogs stayed one night after holidaying in the Isles of Scilly. Very pretty hotel with lovely gardens and the odd peacock roaming around. We had a delicious (but expensive) dinner at their Bay Restaurant - very helpful and accommodating staff, as they set us up to eat outside on the terrace because we had the dogs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JulesSaysSo
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, thank you for your lovely review and we are happy you enjoyed your room and the services we provide. We are looking forward to welcoming you next time.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2015

We got a taxi from the rail station - we could have walked - it wasn't too far - but it was slightly uphill. Great location. We walked down. Lovely cooked breakfast. Beautiful clean room - slept well and lots of character! Polite staff. Had plenty of ambience!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stellar007
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you had a safe journey home and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2015

My wife & I (plus dog) rounded off our tour of the South West with a one night stay in Penzance. The hotel is set back from the main road into the town and is half way up a hill - which is good because you're away from any road noise and you get decent views over the harbour. From...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AdrianSwall
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, thank you for your positive review and glad you enjoyed your brief stay in your comfortable room with a view. It is nice that you appreciated the services we provided and will pass on your comments to the team. It is a beautiful, hot sunny day today - just perfect for dining on our terrace with the sun...

Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for one night whilst working in Penzance. The staff are very welcoming and I was shown upto a nice clean room. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in, combined with the spacious bathroom with a deep bath made for a relaxing stay. My window was overlooking the carpark and neighbouring property...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James H
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your positive review and we are glad you had a comfortable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you next time so you can enjoy our hospitality, continental and freshly cooked breakfast yet again.

Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Staff friendly and welcoming. Hotel located up quite a steep hill (if you are walking). Hotel Well laid out with good rooms for general usage and modern dining room. Lots of good points (free afternoon cake and tea for instance) but definitely room for improvement. The meals in particular were disappointing, expensive and pretentious. We wanted to stay for evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank properenglish2015
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, We are happy you were made to feel welcome by our friendly team but was sorry your stay didn't meet your expectation. The Bay is a restaurant that is popular with residents and non residents alike and does operate with a fixed seasonal menu as displayed on our website. Your other comment has been noted and investigated and...

Brisbane
Reviewed 10 August 2015

Warm welcome from Debbie, who helped us with our suitcases to our room. Room 19 is located over the terrace attached to the popular hotel restaurant, so can be noisy for much of the day. The Hotel is a little worn, but all the staff we encountered more than made up for that. Welcomed later by Sue who showed us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tuppy1Brisbane
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review about your stay at our Hotel and Restaurant. It was a pleasure to welcome you both. Your comments will certainly be passed on to the team and we all hope you had a safe journey onward.

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2015

We have been returning to Hotel Penzance for several years for our Summer Holiday, and the hotel never fails to meet our expectations. This year the option of reserving a parking space was a useful bonus.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick E
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Nick, It was so lovely to welcome you all back again, and we hope you had a safe journey home. Already looking forward to seeing you all again next year.

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2015

very good staff great bit of a walk if you go to the seaside all up hill back to hotel unfortunately we didn't have the good weather but the stray was very peaceful we would recommend this hotel to friends and family

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gravedanger
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, We are happy the team provided you with an excellent service and you had a restful stay with us. We look forward to welcoming both yourselves, friends and family very soon.

350 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (171)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (149)
Viewed
Beach (8)
Viewed
Pool (6)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
St Cuby Classic Double Seaview Room (21)
Viewed
St Mewan Superior Double Seaview Room (25)
Viewed
St Piran Superior Double Seaview Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
1.2 km away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
427 reviews
7.1 km away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
39 reviews
1.4 km away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.2 km away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
791 reviews
9.8 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
10.1 km away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Bay Restaurant
The Bay Restaurant
Cuisines: European, British
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4 Star independent Town House Hotel. Converted from 2 Edwardian merchant's houses and perched on a hill overlooking the busy Penzance waterfront and harbour. 25 individual rooms over 3 floors with warmth, comfort and service a priority. Open all year with a 2 rosette restaurant - The Bay Penzance - Ideally situated for all the sites of West Cornwall from The Lizard to St Ives and the Isles of Scilly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Penzance

Address: Britons Hill, Penzance TR18 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Price Range: ₹ 10,310 - ₹ 17,346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penzance 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Penzance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Penzance Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Penzance staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Delray Beach, Florida
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Bristol, United Kingdom

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Penzance staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had room 18 and the view was amazing”
 of 5 bubbles bethieb2015, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No.2 on ground floor has a spacious wetroom and also a seperate dressing room with ironing facilities provided.”
 of 5 bubbles 104gilb, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“pay extra for sea veiw”
 of 5 bubbles prossersonia, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view of St Michael's Mount”
 of 5 bubbles CarolB981, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea view rooms stunning”
 of 5 bubbles V7057KVandyb, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5