We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Higher Faugan Parc

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Higher Faugan Parc
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 109: English reviews
Start your review of Higher Faugan Parc
 Click to rate
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked just one night as attending funeral next day, and on arrival was warmly welcomed and immediately upgraded to a huge room on the ground floor (Room 1). I was overjoyed when I learnt that the house was built by my favourite artist Stanhope Forbes, one of the founder members of the Newlyn School. To think that I slept in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken D
dougalPenzance, Manager at Higher Faugan Parc, responded to this review

You are most welcome, in addition to you being a Stanhope Forbes admirer it was a pleasure to accommodate such an appreciative guest, hope to see you at some time in the future.

Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

We decided to take a spare of the moment trip to Penzance, so to the Internet to check out places in the area, after a short while I came across the Higher Faugan Parc (HFP) (a family run hotel), it just ticked every one of the boxes I wanted, so off we went and weren't disappointed when we arrived, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Macandra
dougalPenzance, Manager at Higher Faugan Parc, responded to this review

Many thanks for the kind comments, hope to see you in again in the future

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We were on a road trip from London to Cornwall in Easter. We have two children with us, age 2 and 5. We have traveled many places and never felt such unwelcomed from the owner of Higher Faugan. It's our mistake to book this place as it states "children age 3 welcome to stay". But we only found out this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yomi B
dougalPenzance, Manager at Higher Faugan Parc, responded to this review

To receive such negative comments over seven months after departing is surprising, It is unfortunate this guest felt displeased, also that they did not read our young child policy prior to booking but only a few days prior to arriving. It was then discovered of four people in the party including their young child not three as booked, as a...

Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2016

We stayed here as a family across two rooms. Unbeknownst to me, they have a policy of no children under three. When we arrived with our 26-month-old, Doug told me about this policy. I apologised and Doug didn't make a big deal of it because he's a nice guy. Our room was at the end on the ground floor -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank powermetal
dougalPenzance, Manager at Higher Faugan Parc, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind remarks, our young child policy is shown on our website under description when booking online, which I believe this booking was made via, we also advise all agents to make this clearly visible to potential guests when booking, it is unfortunate you did not see this when making the reservation. However we honoured your reservation without...

Bristol
Reviewed 4 October 2016

A perfect and peaceful base for exploring this part of Cornwall. I spent a week in Suite 3 which was superb, with an extensive view that included Mount's Bay and some spectacular sunrises. The suite was stylishly furnished and decorated, equipped to a high standard, and had everything I needed for a very comfortable stay, including good wifi. The concept...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anon_Bristol_12
dougalPenzance, Manager at Higher Faugan Parc, responded to this review

What a delightful well travelled lady, It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, one may say the perfect Guest, we hope to see you again in the future

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night prior to travelling to the Isles of Scilly. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Doug, we felt welcome and looked after. The house is beautiful and tastefully decorated and furnished throughout. Beds are comfortable and the whole room was spotlessly clean. Breakfast is provided in the rooms, a very good selection...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank snareanylad54
dougalPenzance, Manager at Higher Faugan Parc, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay, come back anytime.

Holmfirth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We arrived and were told by the owner that we had been upgraded as there was some damage to the room we had originally booked. The room we were given was superb, spacious, well appointed and with a fantastic sea view. Higher Faughan Parc did take some finding, don't follow sat nav but go with the website's directions, but it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rick B
lukejasse, Manager at Higher Faugan Parc, responded to this review

A Great couple, thanks for your kind words, come again soon

Flitwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Beautiful rooms, stunning gardens! This is a room only hotel but it simply doesn't matter as each room is beautifully self contained with its own kitchenette area. Continental breakfast is provided along with milk and fresh orange juice, coffee and tea. The rooms are finished to a high standard ... Simply gorgeous. We will be going back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesleym275
Douglas J, General Manager at Higher Faugan Parc, responded to this review

What a delightful couple, come back soon

Flitwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Higher Faugan Parc half way through our Honeymoon as we were visiting the Minack. The house is very impressive and the room/ suite had everything we could need. Doug was a great host. Continental Breakfast was plentiful with fresh milk and Tropicana Orange Juice in the fridge. Lots of little touches that really make a difference. Thanks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _doddsj
Douglas J, Manager at Higher Faugan Parc, responded to this review

Great to have met you, thanks for you kind remarks come back soon.

Reviewed 9 September 2016

I stayed at Higher Faugan Parc for one week on a business trip. On arrival I was met by the friendly owner who showed me to my suite. He was very welcoming and the attention to detail was great (he noticed, for example, that there was only one spare toilet roll in the bathroom and no milk in the fridge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
Douglas J, Manager at Higher Faugan Parc, responded to this review

A well qualified traveller who knows what he likes, thanks for your comments, always welcome here.

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
3.5 km away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
767 reviews
3.8 km away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
39 reviews
13.2 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
427 reviews
2.1 km away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
207 reviews
11.6 km away
The Land's End Hotel
The Land's End Hotel
#1 of 1 in Land's End
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Originally built in 1904, this beautiful private guest house offers contemporary style accommodation in the small Cornish town of Newlyn, within easy reach of Lands End, St Ives and Penzance. Formerly the family home of artists Stanhope and Elizabeth Forbes (founder of the Newlyn School of Art), Higher Faugan features 7 guest rooms, including 4 luxury suites, all of which are equipped with modern comforts such as Smart TV USB outlets and Wi-Fi internet access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Higher Faugan Parc

Address: Chywoone Hill | Newlyn, Penzance, Penzance TR18 5NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Price Range: ₹ 7,753 - ₹ 15,587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Higher Faugan Parc 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Higher Faugan Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Higher Faugan Parc Penzance, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Higher Faugan Parc staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
LAKE OSWEGO

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Higher Faugan Parc staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose Room 1 - Stanhope Forbes studio!”
 of 5 bubbles KenD973, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 is lovely and spacious; can't comment on other rooms”
 of 5 bubbles O9352WAtomm, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for rooms not overlooking untidy outbuildings”
  • This must have been leaking for some time... or left unpainted.
  • Dirty stained bed drawers... (what your not supposed to see)
  • Low roof beams... not good for tallies!!
  • Nicely dusted plastic flowers
  • Nicely dusted plastic flowers
  • Bedroom view
  • Bedroom view
  • Locked bathroom window without key
 of 5 bubbles Timlospencer, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room on first floor at the front have fabulous view”
 of 5 bubbles 506janetb, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room upstairs so you won't be woken.”
 of 5 bubbles dmwilliams2016, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5