We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Great Western Hotel

Save
Traveller (341)
Room & Suite (216)
Dining (91)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good33%
  • Average14%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“premium room”(59 reviews)
“steam bar”(24 reviews)
“sea view”(100 reviews)
Free Internet
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
Bar/Lounge
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (950)
Filter reviews
928 results
Traveller rating
390
317
122
53
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
390
317
122
53
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremium roomsteam barsea viewoverflow car parkparking spacecornish breakfastfantastic viewsper daywater pressurebooked this hotelgreat roomstayed for nightsfish and chipsthe cliffcomfy bedtolcarne beachshort break
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 928 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

The hotel is centrally located in Newquay, just 300 metered from railway station. The hotel is well appointed with helpful reception staff. The rooms were always very clean and warm. The bar is busy (but not very) and the range of foods available is well...More

Thank Ian J
Response from BDMay, General Manager at Great Western HotelResponded 3 days ago

Dear Ian, Thank you for such a positive review. All the team work hard to deliver high standards of service alongside great locally sourced fresh food and St Austell Brewery beers, and it is a pleasure when we see a review that acknowledges our efforts....More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I came again when finishing my coastal walk. Stunning views and a lovely place to unwind. The steak was good and well prepared. Well done. The hotel is well situated for some wonderful views of the sea.More

Thank chris504019
Response from BDMay, General Manager at Great Western HotelResponded 3 days ago

Dear Chris, We are pleased that you enjoyed your steak, you probably had a good appetite after walking the Cornish coastal path! We use only local suppliers and believe that this is what visitors to Cornwall prefer and is evident in the quality of our...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

great location on main street. great sea views. friendly staff. clean. good food in bar. large rooms. DOWNSIDE poor sound proofing in bedrooms corridors are a bit of a maze TIPS have a rear room .they have the sea views. upgrade to a larger room...More

Thank tom m
Response from BDMay, General Manager at Great Western HotelResponded 3 days ago

Dear Tom, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased you appreciated the standards of service and our lovely location. I agree totally with your tips to book a premium or superior room at the rear of the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were met with a smile and excellent service. We chose the Sunday lunch roast beef. A stunning meal for less than a tenner. Views to die for. We ate on the terrace overlooking the sea. We will certainly come here again

Thank togdominus
Response from BDMay, General Manager at Great Western HotelResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us, we prepare this using fresh local ingredients and get many compliments on it. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The staff were polite and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel rooms seem to be undergoing renovations as the room my daughter and son-in-law had was opened by a Yale key where as ours was opened by an electronic key card. Both...More

Thank kcarmichael2017
Response from BDMay, General Manager at Great Western HotelResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am pleased that we were able to move your daughter and son-in-law into a room that was more suitable for showering their son, if you advise us of special requests such as a bath rather...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Room Service
Beachfront
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Meeting Rooms
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$ 87 - US$ 177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 87 - US$ 177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (341)
Room & Suite (216)
Dining (91)
Pool & Beach (13)
Family and Play Areas (5)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
nessy1954
19 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Archy28 | Reviewed this property |
Pub next door associated with the hotel.
1
Vote
Tabs2000
I left a review pointing out the terrible view from our room during our stay and you have pointed out that these are your lowest rooms and they are advertised as such regarding the views of staff quarters or the main road and we were offered a £30 upgrade for a costal view. Now I see you are quick to defend your hotel but could you point me in the direction as to where this is advertised on booking. Also in terms of what we were offered I put that in my review we were offered to upgrade the main issue was the lack of customer service from your front of house, it was basically computer says no with blank stares. My review was honest and I felt you only acknowledged the part where you could make it appear that you had offered a resolution. No your hotel didn't offer a resolution, I would have happily cancelled and had a refund, that wasn't offered and as I pointed out I feel these rooms are booked on a pre paid basis and non refundable because of the poor standard and the room does not reflect any photos that you advertise it as whether it's your lowest room or not.
5 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Mr_ben_83 |
Could have been worse, we paid for an upgrade (£40) only to find an attic room with a small window that overlooked the beach. Admittedly the view was nice but you had to go to the corner of the room to be able to see out... More
1
Vote
Sam H
27 April 2017|
Answer
Response from BDMay | Property representative |
Hi there, Prices are for room only. Breakfast can be added on for an additional £8.99 per person per day. Many thanks Reception
0
Votes
Room Tips
"The Bridal Suite is superb! Room 217"
Read review
"Choose premier room with a sea view. We has 229 but was down the far end of the hotel and fair trek."
Read review
"A sea view is a must"
Read review
"Sea view rooms are at the rear of the hotel"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing