We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Great Western Hotel

940 reviews
Save
Traveller (331)
Room & Suite (207)
Dining (91)
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good34%
  • Average13%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“premium room”(59 reviews)
“steam bar”(24 reviews)
“sea view”(88 reviews)
Free Internet
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
Bar/Lounge
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (940)Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Filter reviews
918 results
Traveller rating
385
315
120
52
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
385
315
120
52
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremium roomsteam barsea viewoverflow car parkparking spacecornish breakfastfantastic viewsper daywater pressurebooked this hotellovely roomstayed for nightsfish and chipsthe cliffcomfy bedtolcarne beachfamily room
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 918 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I used this hotel for a business trip It is used a lot by tourists and if you are elderly or disabled make sure you book parking in advance as there are only a few spaces outside the hotel I used a car park in...More

Thank Ben365
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Pleasant staff on reception for checking in and out. Was literally a brief stop over so can't comment on the facilities that the hotel has. The room was pleasant and clean. Fabulous sized bed, and very comfortable. The room was warm on arrival which was...More

Thank HobbitHJ
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

4th visit so you could say we enjoy the hotel, but this last stay was the worst; we paid for a premium double and had what I would consider from past visits a poor room. The wardrobe was without doors, only one lounge chair (other...More

Thank SUNSHINEBILL
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came down for weekend to look at wedding venues found hotel nice and warm bar staff were pleasant unlike the weather lol bedroom was clean comfy and everything you could need for a weekends stay the beach is stunning only a short walk away food...More

Thank Shane D
Response from StAustellManagement, Manager at Great Western HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The weather at the moment has been rather chilly and cold, we can’t wait for the summer months to arrive! If you do want any information on our wedding brochures, send us an email on...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice hotel, although slightly on the dated side. The view from our room was lovely though, so that made up for it. Staff were lovely on arrival too. We stayed here the weekend after we got married as a mini-moon, which also coincidenced with my...More

Thank DSMun
Response from StAustellManagement, Manager at Great Western HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am happy to see you did like the room, and that the staff were lovely. We are able to offer extra’s in the room, like flowers, chocolates etc these are locally sourced, and we...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
123456184
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Room Service
Beachfront
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Meeting Rooms
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$ 55 - US$ 161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 55 - US$ 161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (331)
Room & Suite (207)
Dining (91)
Pool & Beach (13)
Family and Play Areas (5)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
nessy1954
19 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Archy28 | Reviewed this property |
Pub next door associated with the hotel.
1
Vote
Tabs2000
I left a review pointing out the terrible view from our room during our stay and you have pointed out that these are your lowest rooms and they are advertised as such regarding the views of staff quarters or the main road and we were offered a £30 upgrade for a costal view. Now I see you are quick to defend your hotel but could you point me in the direction as to where this is advertised on booking. Also in terms of what we were offered I put that in my review we were offered to upgrade the main issue was the lack of customer service from your front of house, it was basically computer says no with blank stares. My review was honest and I felt you only acknowledged the part where you could make it appear that you had offered a resolution. No your hotel didn't offer a resolution, I would have happily cancelled and had a refund, that wasn't offered and as I pointed out I feel these rooms are booked on a pre paid basis and non refundable because of the poor standard and the room does not reflect any photos that you advertise it as whether it's your lowest room or not.
5 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Mr_ben_83 |
Could have been worse, we paid for an upgrade (£40) only to find an attic room with a small window that overlooked the beach. Admittedly the view was nice but you had to go to the corner of the room to be able to see out... More
1
Vote
Sam H
27 April 2017|
Answer
Response from BDMay | Property representative |
Hi there, Prices are for room only. Breakfast can be added on for an additional £8.99 per person per day. Many thanks Reception
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12345
Room Tips
"A sea view is a must"
Read review
"Sea view rooms are at the rear of the hotel"
Read review
"Make sure of the room location before booking"
Read review
"defiantly spend a fraction more and upgrade out of the standard range"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing