We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crowne Plaza Chester

Show Prices
#11 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Chester
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,556 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Chester
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,524: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2015

I arrived by taxi from Chester railway station and was rather disappointed at the entrance which was in a darkened area, but through the wide revolving door there were lifts to take me to the Ground Floor, which was quite impressive. The Reception area was good and the staff were friendly and helpful. A nice man offered to take my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosalind9634
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for you review of the Crowne Plaza in Chester. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I hope you will come back and visit us again soon. Kind regards Peter Gregory Operations Manager

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2015

was impressed by this hotel,we checked in ,no probs ,had a nice room, all clean warm ,nice bathroom then found out we didnt have a room safe ,after a small delay at reception, we were offered a safe deposit box ,or a free upgrade to the best room in the hotel .which we gladly accepted,and it was lovely.just out the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank baz n caz c c
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza hotel. I am glad that we were able to help you have an enjoyable visit to Chester and I do hope that we will see you again soon. Kind regards Peter Gregory Operations Manager

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2015

Me and my partner stayed here overnight to celebrate my partners birthday and I have to say, it was an amazing stay! The hotel had set up balloons in the room and had left a lovely box of chocolates. It was a lovely personal touch! We also were presented with a number of complimentary drinks vouchers. The room itself was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hobs2107
gm_cpchester, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind words, I know that my team will be very pleased that you had a great time here at the Crowne Plaza hotel. I hope that you come back and stay with again soon. Kind regards Peter Gregory Operations Manager

worcester
Reviewed 3 November 2015

Can't fault the location of this hotel for walking into town. Shame the outside looks like a car park, but inside you could be in any good quality hotel. We stayed in the club rooms on 3rd floor, so had use of the club lounge. I felt the lounge was too small for all of the club rooms, and pre...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizworcester
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your constructive review, and I am glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. I have noted your comments about your executive lounge. In the future if you find yourself in this situation please do not hesitate to contact our Front Desk, and we are happy to accomodate you in the main bar area instead....

Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

Well placed hotel in the heart of Chester. Had a delay on check-in as our room wasn't ready. After a 15 minute wait the reception staff gave us a different room so we could check-in. All in all a superbly appointed room, excellent food, especially the breakfasts. The only real negative was competing with housekeeping staff and their linen trollies...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review, despite a few small issues that have been handled by our team I am glad you have had a great stay and enjoyed all our facilities. Thank you for your observations about the Housekeeping trolleys, due to the design of our building it is sometimes necessary to use the guest lifts for this...

Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

Would not wish to stay anywhere else in Chester. Beautiful hotel, very helpful staff & ideal location. Room was very spacious for three of us & my little girl digd not want to leave. Beautiful hotel in beautiful Chester.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emna1978
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, What an amazing review, thank you. I'm delighted we've been able to provide everything you need for a nice family break. I hope you'll choose us again next time. Kind regards, Peter Gregory Operations Manager

Kirkoswald, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2015 via mobile

A year later and we return to this super hotel ! Central location , friendly helpful staff , comfortable and clean rooms, quick check in and super breakfast! Ate in hotel restaurant first night and had excellent meal and reasonable prices. Thanks again for a great stay in Chester !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ewigham
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is always a pleasure to see a review like yours, many thanks for sharing it. We're looking forward to see you again soon. Kind regards, Peter Gregory Operations Manager

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2015

Arrived in chester for 2 day break as a surprise anniversary present for my wife. The hotel has a car park which costs £7.50 for 24 hours and is only a 2 minute walk to the city centre so location wise is perfect if you drive in. The hotel has been newly refurbished and you can tell when you enter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IMJASIM
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I'm glad that overall you have enjoyed your stay, however I'd like to apologise for the issues you've had with your room and the rather slow response time, I can assure you this is not our standard and I will follow up with the manager on duty. I...

West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2015 via mobile

We recently stayed here for about the 5th or 6th time, always for short breaks away to recharge! Excellent location right in the city centre, ideal for shopping or just wandering. We always book an executive room with access to the club lounge. This is so relaxing and the inclusive drinks and canapés in the evening are really good value...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MicknSarah
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I appreciate that you keep choosing us when returning to Chester, it shows our team is doing a good a good job in consistently delivering great customer service. We are looking forward to see you again next time. Kind regards, Peter Gregory Operations Manager

Reviewed 28 October 2015 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, staff extremely friendly. Rooms were spacious and comfortable! I can recommend the food, we had room service and there was plenty of choice, delivered hot to the room and was delicious! Had a lovely night sleep and a fab day walking around the gorgeous Chester town the next day!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Youngmumandwife
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It's lovely to see you've had an amazing Chester city break with us. I will pass your kind comments to our food and beverage team, they will surely appreciate. I hope you'll return again soon. Kind regards, Peter Gregory Operations Manager

384 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (125)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (56)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (107)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (152)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
1,981 reviews
8.1 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.2 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.4 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
1,962 reviews
0.8 km away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: ₹ 7,522 - ₹ 17,823 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chester Cheshire
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Chester staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
Leigh, United Kingdom
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
3 days ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Chester staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I don't think the location of the room has any benefits/drawbacks”
 of 5 bubbles barney1954, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were on the first floor and it was nice and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles susanj813, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher the better, views are great! There are plenty of rooms so maybe say something if you're put in the disabled room.”
 of 5 bubbles Gazza346, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“As a Chester resident I cannot comment about the bedrooms but the public rooms are of a good quality.”
 of 5 bubbles Clynnog, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the rooms on the race course side have the best views”
 of 5 bubbles caravan3838, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5