We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Chester South

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Chester South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,013 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Chester South
See the most recent reviews
Showing 997: English reviews
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2015

On route to the lake district decided to break journey in Chester. The Hotel is very convenient for the Chester ring road. First impressions of the outside a bit dated. Friendly and helpful reception staff at check in. Room was nicely decorated as was bathroom. Bath was a bit high with no hand rail. The food in the evening was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angorfa60
GRHaydock, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Please accept my apologies for your disappointment in your stay - I've shared your comments with the team and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and to restore your faith in us in the future. Regards Hotel Guest Relations

Devon
Reviewed 16 June 2015 via mobile

Good: nice big traditional room, well kept grounds, internal sunny garden, power showers, very clean. Avoid front rooms if there are any (may just be conference rooms only) as very busy road) and side rooms next to the large car park. If you want to leave the car and go into Chester by bus regular 10 minute interval service (route...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LovelyDevon
GRHaydock, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay. I've shared your comments with the team, specifically recognising Stuart for his excellent service and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Regards Hotel Guest Relations

Talsarnau, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2015

We booked a family room inc breakfast with laterooms.com for £71 , a birthday treat for our daughters 4th birthday and a trip to chester zoo , the room was a good size , comfy beds and the bathroom was lovely , powerful shower . We had an evening meal, my partner had the pork and plum terrine it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne j
GRHaydock, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your feedback following your recent stay with us. I've shared your feedback with the team for their information and action and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. (We do offer complimentary wi-fi to all our IHG Rewards club members - this is free to join - so should you...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 June 2015

Staff very friendly and helpful and room very nice but I do not think it justified the price . Breakfast was not included in the price either and that was another £10+ per person . The breakfast was average . Other hotels I have stayed in offer a continental breakfast at a reduced price. When will hotels realise that often...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hilary t
GRHaydock, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your feedback. It's good to read you found the team friendly and the room nice, however please accept my apologies for your disappointment due to the price of our breakfast and wi-fi provision. We do offer free wi-fi to all IHG Rewards Club members - this is free and easy to join - so should you...

Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 June 2015

The one big advantage to staying here was that the accommodation had been provided free! Sadly the hotel looks a little tired, but the staff were friendly and the room and breakfast were both adequate, and fit for purpose.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Biscuitman00
David P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your feedback. I regret that we did not exceed your expectations on this occasion however it is good to read that you found the team friendly. I have shared your feedback with the team and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Regards Hotel Guest Relations

Barton upon Humber
Reviewed 3 June 2015

I wish I had not stayed in this hotel. I booked this hotel as a birthday treat for me and my friend. We took all of my gifts up to the room, opened them and packed them away in a large gift bag. The next morning we checked out and on returning home I was missing a yankee candle and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen e
David P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your feedback. I am concerned to read your comments and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss them with you personally. As such please contact me at the hotel at your convenience. Regards David Pickering General Manager

Conwy County, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2015 via mobile

Used to always use this hotel or other budget hotels in Chester. Have not been to this hotel for a few years and from memory the rooms were functional but a little worn. However what a nice suprise to have a large, well equipped room with a fantastic bathroom and shower. I had forgotten that holiday inn often provides larger...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mexicanlights
David P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your feedback. It's good to read that you were so pleasantly surprised - I've shared your comments with the team and we hope to welcome you back soon. Regards Hotel Guest Relations

Letterston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2015 via mobile

We booked in advance for the accommodation and Chester zoo online and were delighted with the location of this hotel to the zoo and very easy to find. The accommodation was clean and our family room was spacious. We had a meal in the bar in the evening which was ok although they didn't have a lot of choice for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith W
David P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. It's good to read you had an ideal stay - I've shared your feedback with the team and we hope to welcome you back in the future (maybe with your costumes so you make full use of our pool?) Regards Hotel Guest Relations

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2015 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel several times before but this time it wasn't as good as the previous experiences. Firstly, the mattress wasn't as comfortable as there seemed to be a dent in the middle which meant we had to sleep in a slight angle. Then we didn't have cookies in our room (executive suit - although they did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelReviewer1983
David P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your feedback following your most recent stay with us. I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy this stay as much as previous ones and I apologise for your subsequent disappointment. Please be assured that I have shared your feedback with the team for their information and action and we hope to have the...

Rhyl, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2015

We stayed in recently. We have passed this hotel many times. It looks dated from the outside, but it is being refurbished within. The bedroom was very comfortable and nicely furnished. We had problems getting in and of the bath. A new shower screen had been fitted that wouldnt move. The beakfast was great.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kim B
David P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time post your feedback following your recent stay with us. I've shared your comments with the team and we hope to welcome you back soon. Regards Hotel Guest Relations

195 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (125)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
4.7 km away
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
3.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales
14.3 km away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#36 of 44 in Chester
169 reviews
4.4 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Chester South has 145 newly refurbished bedrooms, decorated to a high standard with new bathrooms. Standard twin and double rooms have walk in showers provided and family rooms and executive rooms have bathrooms with a bath and shower over. The modern Open Lobby Concept is a bright and vibrant place to catch with with colleagues, friends and families. Serving Starbucks Coffee with a grab and go sandwich selection, serving food all day. The hotel is all non smoking and is ideally situated on the edge of the Roman City of Chester, located just off the A55 adjacent to Chester Business Park. All public areas and bedrooms have full air-conditioning and Wi-Fi access has been installed. In an excellent location for both business and leisure visitors alike. Benefiting from immediate proximity to Chester and its attractions including Chester Races, Grosvenor Museum, Cathedral, Chester Zoo and Islands, Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village and Blue Planet Aquarium. The Holiday Inn Chester South provides an ideal visitor base, with a choice of accommodation including standard, executive and accessible bedrooms. We have excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including kids stay & eat free*. The hotel has a fully air conditioned gym, 15m heated swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi, with trained staff to assist in your visit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chester South

Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DL, England (Formerly Posthouse Chester)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: ₹ 4,927 - ₹ 12,900 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chester South 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chester South Hotel Chester
Chester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Chester South Cheshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Chester South staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
5 months ago
2 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Chester South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms facing racecourse quieter.”
NieceyNoo, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Nice and quiet in the family rooms, we had 316, kids loved the maze of corridors to get to it!”
Surf1275, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Dont know if you can up grade a room but I would next time”
rew2000, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Its outside of chester so would need a car to stay here!”
andrewthomas007, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No lift to second floor rooms, (only to the restauraunt) so if you struggle walking ask for ground foor”
nickyp595, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5