We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Chester South

Booking.comUS$ 82*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 91*
US$ 82*
US$ 91*
US$ 82*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Chester South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,013 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 997: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Chester South
 Click to rate
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

There seems to be very little sound proofing to the rooms. You can hear what people are saying to each other in all adjoining rooms and as they pass your door in the corridor. We were woken up at 3am by people talking- not loudly, just having a conversation but they sounded like they were in the same room. Clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PerTheCat
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very efficient check in for our coachload of people. Room keys handed out as you walked in through the door. Our room and the single room of our friend were both very impressive,immaculately clean,comfortable and well equipped. The bar was comfortable and had a buzzy atmosphere with pleasant and efficient staff. Because we were part of a coach party the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacksville007
AnneMarieHICS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review

Dear Jacksville007 Thank you for your review and to read that you enjoyed your stay and received great service from a member of our team. I will feedback your comments regarding the buffet to our Head Chef. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind regards Anne Marie

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked a package which including an overnight stay with breakfast and a zoo pass for a family (would have been an even better deal if we had two children). Situated right on the racecourse with parking which was a bonus. The first thing that hits you upon entering the Holiday Inn is how friendly their staff are! This wasn't just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NieceyNoo
AnneMarieHICS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review

Dear NieceyNoo Thank you for taking the time to post your review and it was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn by Chester Racecourse, however this was review has been attributed to the Holiday Inn Chester South - just a short distance away from Chester town centre. Kind regards Anne Marie Hotel Guest Relations

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a couple of night for a friends wedding near by. On arrival the hotel looks old and dated, however walk in and that perception changes. I was pleasantly surprised. Reception was open and welcoming and there is a Starbucks facility within the reception bar area. The room we had was cosy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy1589
AnneMarieHICS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review

Dear Andy1589 Thank you for taking the time to post your review and that your stay, after your initial impression, exceeded your expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Anne Marie

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

As I wrote this, I've twice asked for my bill. Seen other people eat their food, pay and leave. It's genuinely been a 40 minute wait so far. Is the restaurant busy? Nope..... Probably 6 family tables. Not even half capacity. Hotel and room, good for the money, but I shall not stay here again because of the poor performance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liam R
AnneMarieHICS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review

Dear Liam R Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am very disappointed to read your comments regarding the lack of service you have received, I would be most grateful if you would contact me at the hotel to discuss this further. Thank you Kind regards Anne Marie

Reviewed 1 week ago

One night stay - felt a bit dubious as not the most attractive exterior and weren't sure about the distance into town centre. However, excellent service, friendly staff, clean rooms. Staff couldn't be more helpful - booked taxi which was prompt, accurately priced. Great power-shower and basic but very clean with everything needed including a good hairdryer, iron and ironing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank franklLGE
AnneMarieHICS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review

Dear franklLGE Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I was delighted to read that you received excellent service from a member of our breakfast team, our aim is to deliver 100% guest satisfaction. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Anne Marie

Derbyshire
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night with family of four in a family room, great value with breakfast for four. Recent renovations are excellent and love the bar area. Staff were great, room was very nice, recently renovated, pool is great. Park and ride for Chester and the zoo just over the road. Only slight criticism are the bar food prices, too much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Surf1275
AnneMarieHICS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review

Dear Surf1275 Thank you for taking the time to post your review and it was great to read that your stay met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Anne Marie

Stockton
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel very clean, staff fantastic. About ten mins from cheshire oaks shopping outlet, about 20 mins from zoo well worth a visit. park and ride not 3ven 5 mins from the hotel and it only cost 4 pound for 2 people for the day chester city centre abount 10 mins by bus. we enjoyed our stay so much we are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susan w
AnneMarieHICS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review

Dear susan w Thank you for your review and I was delighted to read that your stay met your expectations! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night to be in Chester for the weekend. Reception were very quick and very helpful. Room was also very clean and comfy. Quiet hotel and lovely breakfast in the morning. Also helped having uber taxi to get into Chester without hassle. Definitely will be returning!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty D
AnneMarieHICS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review

Dear Kirsty D Thank you for taking the time to post your review and it was great to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back! Kind regards

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night so we could visit Chester the following day. The hotel is very accessible. The staff were friendly and efficient. The breakfast was beautifully laid out. The grapefruit and oranges were freshly chopped and not tinned! The hot buffet was varied and well cooked. Really good all round!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
AnneMarieHICS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review

Dear Anne D Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your breakfast dining experience! I have shared your comments with our breakfast chef. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards

195 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (125)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Other (16)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
4.7 km away
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
3.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales
14.3 km away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#35 of 44 in Chester
169 reviews
4.4 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Chester South has 145 newly refurbished bedrooms, decorated to a high standard with new bathrooms. Standard twin and double rooms have walk in showers provided and family rooms and executive rooms have bathrooms with a bath and shower over. The modern Open Lobby Concept is a bright and vibrant place to catch with with colleagues, friends and families. Serving Starbucks Coffee with a grab and go sandwich selection, serving food all day. The hotel is all non smoking and is ideally situated on the edge of the Roman City of Chester, located just off the A55 adjacent to Chester Business Park. All public areas and bedrooms have full air-conditioning and Wi-Fi access has been installed. In an excellent location for both business and leisure visitors alike. Benefiting from immediate proximity to Chester and its attractions including Chester Races, Grosvenor Museum, Cathedral, Chester Zoo and Islands, Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village and Blue Planet Aquarium. The Holiday Inn Chester South provides an ideal visitor base, with a choice of accommodation including standard, executive and accessible bedrooms. We have excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including kids stay & eat free*. The hotel has a fully air conditioned gym, 15m heated swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi, with trained staff to assist in your visit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chester South

Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DL, England (Formerly Posthouse Chester)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: ₹ 4,927 - ₹ 12,900 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chester South 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Chester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chester South Hotel Chester
Chester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Chester South Cheshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Chester South staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
5 months ago
2 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Chester South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms facing racecourse quieter.”
NieceyNoo, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Nice and quiet in the family rooms, we had 316, kids loved the maze of corridors to get to it!”
Surf1275, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Dont know if you can up grade a room but I would next time”
rew2000, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Its outside of chester so would need a car to stay here!”
andrewthomas007, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No lift to second floor rooms, (only to the restauraunt) so if you struggle walking ask for ground foor”
nickyp595, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 82* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
HolidayInn.comUS$ 82
TripAdvisorUS$ 82
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates