We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Belgrave

Booking.comUS$ 64*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Belgrave
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Belgrave
See the most recent reviews
Showing 174: English reviews
Ireland / Christchurch
Reviewed 6 December 2014

This is the dirtiest place I ever stayed in, in gods name how can this place be passed as a hotel.i was scared to have a shower and had difficulty trying to squeeze in to the area of the toilet bowl. floor boards creeking,. no bedside lamp .we left this place feeling dirty.never again.The only good thing was it was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank manirish
Reviewed 8 November 2014

This hotel is terrible it was the start of November and they had We payed £85 for this room which was terrible I wouldnt pay £20 for it and theres no way im staying here again. There was no double glazing so it was freezing all night and you could hear all the traffic all night. The covers were a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank KatieLeannex
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with. Our heating is on a timer system, which is on in the mornings and evenings. If you had informed us of any problems you were experiencing, we would have done our best to resolve them for you.

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2014

We stayed here after a night out for a friends birthday. It did the job as a bed for the night, the room was cosy. The decor is a little dated but the room was clean which was the main thing. The guy was friendly enough. Location was excellent for the train station and city centre. We opted to pay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bsu448
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you again if you are ever in Chester.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2014

I stayed at Belgravia froo 3 nights. After reading some reviews I was rather cautious, but I did not need to be. OK The hotel does need a makeover but my room (room 4 also reviewed by someone else) was fine and clean. The breakfast was excelent, especially the coffee. I have paid about £2. for a coffee much worse,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
sancastle, Reception at Belgrave, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Belgrave and hope that if you are in Chester again you will choose to stay with us once more.

Reviewed 10 October 2014 via mobile

As apart of the 20 man stag do in September I confirm the statue killer is still at large and the murder weapon still lost so the question remains where's wally. I have to say seriously how can you blame us when there were local druggies and prostitutes being housed there also how can the manager be so bossy and...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Richard M
Reviewed 5 October 2014

I picked this hotel for location and price. The only good thing about this hotel was its convenient location, soft fluffy towels and the staff were very nice. Otherwise a tired dingy hotel with wallpaper peeling off the walls and ceilings and shabby carpets and bed furnishings. The bathroom seemed clean but was desperately in need of refurbishment. The shower...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 25ahowbeck
Aalborg, Denmark
Reviewed 1 October 2014

The Belgrave Murder We stayed for one night last Saturday and became unknowingly implicated in a ‘murder investigation’. Turned out that a group of around 20 lads had booked a lot of rooms and were on a stag-do. After a more than slight hefty night out, one of the men had allegedly ‘brutally murdered’ a statue resembling the Goddess Aphrodite...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Peter_VG
sancastle, Reception at Belgrave, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We can only apologise for the incident that occurred with the large group whilst you were staying at the hotel.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2014

I didn't really have any complaints from my one night here. I'd picked it based on the location and price, and so it pretty much met my expectations. The only thing to possibly add was that my room was quite cold. In fairness I didn't tell staff, and perhaps they'd have given me a heater - but cold nonetheless.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R958_James
Redhill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2014

This hotel is conveniently located for the town centre and is within close proximity to the train station. However, the hotel is in need of refurbishment. It looks very tired from the outside. Our twin room was very small and cramped.Whilst It is ok for an overnight stay, the beds were uncomfortable with springs pointing through the mattress. The beds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
Reviewed 14 September 2014

Listen, If you want a cheap room to get your head down after a night in the town then there is nothing wrong with this place! Ok, it smells funky and it could do with a massive re-furb, but if you want a posh hotel, pay the extra money and book one! If you want somewhere with friendly staff clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beckygoodwin1980
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 km away
Lloyds of Chester
Lloyds of Chester
#44 of 44 in Chester
331 reviews
0.0 km away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#39 of 44 in Chester
918 reviews
9.7 km away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#36 of 44 in Chester
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
1.3 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
650 reviews
0.2 km away
The Ormonde
The Ormonde
#54 of 79 in Chester
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Belgrave

Address: 61 City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: ₹ 3,532 - ₹ 7,063 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Belgrave 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belgrave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belgrave Chester, Cheshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Belgrave staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Belgrave staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Internet is not available in all rooms but near the reception on the ground floor.”
jimmyf471, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“go somewhere else”
EdinaCloud, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rear rooms were very quiet”
805christinem805, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“wi fi not availabe in rooms only in the public areas”
Satchel08, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“take ear plugs and ask in plenty of time for aquiet room you may be lucky”
desperate_9, 18 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 64* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 64
PricelineUS$ 64
HotelQuickly
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates