We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Pheasant Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Pheasant Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

591 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Pheasant Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 590: English reviews
Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2016 via mobile

Having eaten at other establishments in the same chain, we decided to book a table at the Pheasant for Valentine's day, as we had heard many good things about it. The biggest plus is the view, which is beautiful. The service was efficient, and relatively pleasant. The most important part (the cask beer) was well kept, and the food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel J
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your recent review. It is nice to see that you are a regular user of the various different restaurants within The Nelson Hotels group. We are indeed blessed with amazing views at The Pheasant Inn, and that you also found the cask beer and food to be to your liking. I have noted the comments regarding the...

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2016

Fabulous location, but hotel now a bit rough round the edges so not value for money. Our bathroom was not properly cleaned on our second day and some of the meals have very small portions as more attention seems to be spent on the look of the meal than on providing a fair quantity of food for the price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fishermensfriend1000
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your recent review. I am sorry that on this occasion we did not deliver to your expectations, and I have passed all of your comments onto the senior management team, in particular those relating to the portion size, and also as to why your bathroom was not serviced correctly on your second day. Kind Regards David

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2016

We chose the Pheasant Inn as our stop over whilst doing the Sandstone Trail over 2 days (Frodsham to Whitchurch). After walking 20 miles we were hoping for somewhere nice and comfortable and we were not disappointed. Check in was efficient and we were shown to our room promptly.The room we stayed in (The Beeston) was really clean, warm and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsLozMac
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review. It was a pleasure to read that you had such an enjoyable time with us, and that you found the accommodation, food and drink to be just what you needed after a nice long walk. Many thanks as well for your recommendation, in connection with the facilities to clean your walking boots, and we...

Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2016

If I were part of the team at The Pheasant I'd be very concerned about there being a higher proportion of poor reviews in recent weeks and someone needs to take note of this. This used to be a gem when Sam was in charge but recently there has been a decline that only seems to have accelerated lately! What...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank timmerrick291
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for leaving your review on The Pheasant Inn. I know that my colleague Andrew has already had a direct email correspondence with your regarding your recent visit to The Pheasant Inn, and I believe that he has addressed the issues that you have raised. Kind Regards, David

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

The one thing that really lets this place down is the service. I've been here a couple of times and although I have nothing bad to say about the food or drinks, it's always the service that I feel disappointed in. It took a long time to be served at the bar and our drinks were forgotten about until we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin241
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Good morning Caitlin, Many thanks for your recent review. It is nice to see that we always deliver good food and drinks, however it was disappointing to read your comments regarding the service, which is not the norm with The Pheasant Inn, or any of it's sister properties. I have passed your comments onto the relevant members of the management...

Wirral, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Visited The Pheasant today after a beautiful walk around stunning views.I had booked a table before our walk as I knew it would be busy on such a lovely day . A lady called Sally was very polite and accommodating .When we arrived we where taken promptly to our table but then had rather a long wait to get served...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally D
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Good morning Sally, Many thanks for your review, following your visit to us. We are indeed very lucky to have such wonderful views, which does mean that the restaurant is very busy, so as you did it is always worth pre-booking a table to guarantee availability. I have passed your comments regarding Sally onto her, as it is always nice...

Sutton Coldfield
Reviewed 31 January 2016

Amazing food after a rather chilly walk. Have been a few occasions before this was the first Sunday lunch we had been for. Only negative was the waiting for table, being served etc. The place was so busy and didn't seem to have enough staff, luckily we were in no rush. The food however made up for it, the beef...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blossom1000
Reviewed 29 January 2016

We went to the pheasant inn to say over for the night for my girlfriends birthday. We took the dog so she was not left alone and founnd that the momnen we got there and to the moment we left the staff could not be more accomodating and friendly. The room was called Tabley and was lovely with plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
Brookmans Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2016

We had two nights at The Pheasant Inn staying in the room called Chester. Lovely bed, decent ensuite and really quiet. Great breakfast. The staff were really good. When we arrived we were booked into a twin-bedded room on the ground floor which was really nice with a dual aspect and views over the countryside to the Welsh mountains. Unfortunately,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank breweruk
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2016

as with any popular venue this is one where you would be very lucky to get a table on just turning up, but as it was my youngest sons 40th birthday I booked a table for 2-30pm on a Saturday, after a10 minute wait, we were found a table, the waitress [a little older than usual], but could not be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jfg365

157 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (145)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
15.0 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
15.1 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,016 reviews
15.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,575 reviews
14.8 km away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
623 reviews
14.7 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tucked in a peaceful corner of rural Cheshire, The Pheasant enjoys some the most magnificent panoramic views across the Cheshire plains. Delightful 300 year old sandstone buildings, open log fires, a flower-filled courtyard for drinks as the sun goes down - they all add up to magic. Nestling in the Peckforton Hills, this is a rambler's and hiker's paradise. A relaxing country retreat to escape from the hustle of city life or for a romantic weekend. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Address: Higher Burwardsley, Tattenhall, Chester CH3 9PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: ₹ 9,212 - ₹ 12,864 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pheasant Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Chester
The Pheasant Inn Chester, Cheshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Pheasant Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Pheasant Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“not in the main building”
julieehampson, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We didn't stay in a room only had lunch. Don't visit on a Sunday”
207rosiea, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms in the annexe were very nice large and comfortable,ideal for dog owners as the appear to be the biggest rooms”
hawksmore, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book well in advance,the hotel is very popular”
15nevilles, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“As for room with a view when booking”
littlechops2016, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5