We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Pheasant Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Pheasant Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

555 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 554: English reviews
stokie
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A very nice old inn with friendly staff and very nice rooms.very comfortable and very dog friendly.i have stayed there before and will stay again in the future. The location is isolated but is a wonderful walking area. We had evening meals on two occasions and there is no doubt the food is absolutely wonderful. Between us we tried eight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hawksmore
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place with wonderful views. Good staff, good food and good value. Have been for lunch and dinner so can recommend both. Lots of good choices to eat including sharing plates and tasty snacks. Have not stayed there but I am sure it would be good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clare B
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Clare, many thanks for your review, following your recent visit to us. It was nice to read your review, and to see that every time that you have visited us that it has met your expectations. We are indeed blessed with some amazing views, which coupled with our fantastic food off our wide and varied menu really does it make...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We go every Christmas Eve to the Pheasant Inn and always have amazing food in such wonderful Christmassy surroundings! Only feedback I would give is it would be improved with some background Christmas music such as a piano playing. Would definitely recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Woodland15
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, following your recent meal with us at The Pheasant Inn. It is always nice to welcome back returning diners, and it was good to see that once again you enjoyed your time with us, and that everything met your expectations. I do hope we can see you again in 2017, and once again many thanks...

Arnside, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The accommodation is a change from the usual presented by the large hotel chains.All rooms are in stone built annexes across a yard from the main building which houses a busy popular restaurant. The room was really comfortable with some unique features.Any more detail would spoil the surprise.I would like highlight the bathroom which was especially attractive and what is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neville S
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Neville, many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent stay with us at The Pheasant Inn. It was pleasing to see what an enjoyable time you had with us, and as you have mentioned our rooms are certainly different from the normal "chain" type rooms, and this is followed throughout all of our properties within the Nelson Hotels portfolio....

Cheshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked up early in day for that evening but on arrival was shown to the worst possible table - cramped under stairs ( I think it was ageism at work , not the right profile. ....) , so had to get moved. This put a bit of a dampener on occasion but food just about redeemed the place. Excellent pie...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blackadder48
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, following your recent meal with us. I am sorry that on this occasion the first table was not to your liking. In a building that is over 300 years old it does have some character to it, and this means that all the tables are slightly different in there positioning. It was good to see...

Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have been a regular visitor for years as my pArents live nearby but was a bit wary of going on a busy Boxing Day. We were party of 6 and our visit was very enjoyable. Lovely tasteful decorations throughout the pub, excellent waitress full of smiles despite having been on duty since breakfast, and really good food. The service was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luci2004
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, following your lunch with us on Boxing day at The Pheasant Inn. It was pleasing to read your review, and to see that you enjoyed your time with us, and that everything met your expectations. I do hope that we can continue to welcome you back and once again many thanks for your kind review....

Frodsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've been out for Christmas Dinner to several locations over the years, but for us this year's experience was the best ever. We have never been disappointed with either the food or the welcome when we have visited here in the past, same on this occasion. The pub was beautifully decorated, atmosphere superb, and the service was cheerful and attentive....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank littlechops2016
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent Christmas Lunch and stay with us at The Pheasant Inn. It was really pleasing to read your lovely review, and to see what an amazing time you had with us, and the fact that it was your best ever is certainly testament to the fantastic product that we have here. It...

Cheshire
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Called here whilst out for a walk in the country!! Didn't mind our muddy boots and the dog. Lovely surroundings and attentive staff. Great choice of local food. Sharing butcher's platter for 3 people, plenty enough !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ircapper
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, following your recent lunch with us at The Pheasant Inn. It was pleasing to see that you enjoyed your lunch with us, and we are ideally for those guests enjoying a nice walk, as we are situated on the sandstone trail, and with us being dog friendly we are indeed the ideal stop off point....

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We went as a party of 10 for a three course meal .All I would like to say is those who chose the braised beef were very very disappointed .It consisted of a small spoon full of mash potato ,a very small amount of beef an onion and gravy !!! Those who chose the lamb were reasonably satisfied .To rate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jas256
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, following your recent meal with us. Firstly I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations, as this is always our aim. We do also get a lot of positive feedback in connection with our menu and all the dishes on it, and I am sorry that it was not to...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We turned up a whole hour early for our table and the lovely staff managed to accommodate us on a fab table in front of the fire. We had soup, salmon & a pie. All completely delicious and far too full to move afterwards. The warmth of the fire almost put us to sleep in fact! Well fed, excellent service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AbsBaps
David C, Group Revenue and Relationship Manager at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* review, following your recent meal with us at The Pheasant Inn. It was pleasing to read your review, and to see that we managed to look after you when you visited us. It was nice to see that everyone in the party enjoyed their meals with us, and that everyone was suitably full afterwards, and...

148 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
15.0 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
15.1 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
1,908 reviews
7.1 km away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
2,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,504 reviews
14.8 km away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
586 reviews
11.6 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tucked in a peaceful corner of rural Cheshire, The Pheasant enjoys some the most magnificent panoramic views across the Cheshire plains. Delightful 300 year old sandstone buildings, open log fires, a flower-filled courtyard for drinks as the sun goes down - they all add up to magic. Nestling in the Peckforton Hills, this is a rambler's and hiker's paradise. A relaxing country retreat to escape from the hustle of city life or for a romantic weekend. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Address: Higher Burwardsley, Tattenhall, Chester CH3 9PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: ₹ 8,645 - ₹ 12,674 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pheasant Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Chester
The Pheasant Inn Chester, Cheshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Pheasant Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Pheasant Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upstairs rooms in the annexe were very nice large and comfortable,ideal for dog owners as the appear to be the biggest rooms”
 of 5 bubbles hawksmore, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book well in advance,the hotel is very popular”
 of 5 bubbles 15nevilles, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“As for room with a view when booking”
 of 5 bubbles littlechops2016, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Detached bedroom block for views.”
 of 5 bubbles RobbieBStockport, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Narrow country lanes caution needed when driving”
 of 5 bubbles EddieHowarth, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay