We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Dene Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Dene Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

438 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 432: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

My husband and I visited Chester along with two other couples (our close friends) on January Saturday 14th to celebrate my birthday. We stopped at the Dene hotel that is approximately 1 mile away from Chester city centre. We booked 3 rooms for £47 each which is alot cheaper than the hotel we were originally going to stop at. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Mouldy dirty dusty damp...can't believe we stayed there to be honest. Beds were broken sheets weren't clean bathroom was awful the towels were damp and smelt smokey and they were dirty too. We stayed December 2015 for my fiancés works Christmas party...I doubt it's improved. Don't waste your money go somewhere else even if it's a few £ more

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissAbbieWalters
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed with my wife n teenager in a triple (14). Cheap accommodation in the right location for my trip. Served it's purpose but the mattresses n pillows need replacing imo - all 3 mattresses badly sagging in the bum area. Can't complain for the money though I guess!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It is what it is... A cheap run down hotel which is trying to keep afloat whilst carrying out much needed renovation work. We stayed for one night between Christmas and New Year, and fortunately for the hotel we are fairly laid back and not overly affected by minor issues. So coping with the stained, lopsided bed and drawers without...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bertie V
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and me stayed here for a quick night break after the manic Xmas period. Arrived quite early as we are aware mist hotels only have rooms available from mid afternoon due to departs etc. Got a drink in bar area, quiet but functional and can't knock the Budweiser offer. Given room keys and remote, unfortunately dye to mix...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gazzar1963
Pmc_11, Manager at Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback after your stay. We really appreciate your comments and glad that you enjoyed your stay over the Christmas period. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Staff have us sitting in the reception from 1:30 saying the rooms would not be ready till 2 and then finally decides to let us up 15 minutes early. Get up to the room looks like something like Alcatraz cobwebs all over. Windows that don't close properly and damp smell.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank crispin1259
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed here for one night quite a few times over the year for visiting chester. It is only a 15 min walk into town centre and on bus route. Nice small shopping town nearby with pleasant bars. It serves our purpose of somewhere yo stay overnight. Staff friendly and beds clean with big baths in bathroom. Free wifi...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fiona D
Pmc_11, General Manager at Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback after your stay. We really appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Wales
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked for Saturday night £100 for two. Argumentative receptionist - Me - I emailed you my address - Receptionist - You didn't email me. Me - I got a confirmation from you - Receptionist - You didn't get it from me.....etc.etc. No customer service skills at all. No one working in the bar either. The room was hotter than a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChrispyWales
Pmc_11, Manager at Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback after your stay. Unfortunately the hotel didn't receive your updated booking details and we apologise for the mis communication. The hotel only provides soap in the form of toiletries which is highlighted in the booking details. Thank you for your feedback regarding our customer service, our reception team have...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

You get what you pay for in this life. I found the hotel clean and tidy. The room was clean, nice big bathroom, the location for the city is excellent. Around a 20 minute walk to the city centre through a pleasant area. It's not the ritz, however it doesn't pretend to be the ritz. It's a 2 star hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
Pmc_11, Manager at Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback after your stay, we really appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

this hotel is one of the worst i have stayed at , it is not just run down but dirty too , the room I had was the other side of the hotel to the other guests i was with even though we booked together we had 3 rooms and not one of us could use the shower it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angharris0n
Pmc_11, Manager at Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback after your stay. With regards to your rooms booked together, you reserved different room types which are located on separate corridors. The issue we were made aware of on the night was rectified straight away. Unfortunately we are unable to rectify issues that you may have on check out....

170 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (158)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
8.7 km away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#36 of 45 in Chester
160 reviews
1.0 km away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#41 of 45 in Chester
165 reviews
2.1 km away
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#39 of 45 in Chester
849 reviews
1.0 km away
Lloyds of Chester
Lloyds of Chester
#42 of 45 in Chester
326 reviews
9.0 km away
Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Dene Hotel

Address: 95 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: ₹ 2,795 - ₹ 8,384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dene Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dene Hotel Chester, Cheshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dene Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Dene Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Woken up by a drunken yob shouting in the street at 4 am. Choose a room in another hotel!!”
 of 5 bubbles ChrispyWales, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Dont choose any room at this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles milliemutt, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on south side and rear quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles CB-from-Wales, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one with a view of the park.”
 of 5 bubbles Sn0rkfish, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“single room small but compact”
 of 5 bubbles E8722WProberth, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay