We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Commercial Bar & Hotel

Show Prices
#26 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

351 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Commercial Bar & Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 351: English reviews
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2015 via mobile

Well what can I say about this establishment...10 out of 10 and a warm and wonderful place to stay! I honestly cannot fault this hotel,the room was amazing.It was clean as a whistle,comfy bed and the shower was fantastic!Breakfast was delicious,I wasn't short of food on my plate and the staff were very friendly,couldn't be anymore helpful! If you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BMoulty1984
John L, Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emma, thank you for your review. 10 out of 10 is high praise indeed and I will certainly pass your comments onto all the staff. I'm so glad you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Kind regards Rebecca

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2015 via mobile

On a night out with work colleagues we decided to call in at the Commercial for a drink and a dance. At the packed bar I asked for a white wine and soda. Upon presenting the drink to my friend she said it had lemonade in so she proceeded to go back to the bar to change it. Again she...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Carina E
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carina, thank you for taking time to write to tripadvisor regarding your experience, it's always good to get negative feed back as well as good reviews. In this case it was myself along with the origonal member of staff who spoke with your friend and yourself regarding the drink on the night and I can say without question you...

Wirral
Reviewed 21 February 2015

Visited half term with husband and 2 children along with 15 week old puppy. Just wanted somewhere to have a coffee and snack warm inside. Delighted they allow dogs inside fussed over him and gave him fresh water and snacks!!. The venue is like being in someone's grand house so warm and welcoming. We all ordered sandwiches which where large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GillT107
Rebecca_DaviesGM, Front Office Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gill, thank you for your review, I have passed your comments onto the staff. We are verey lucky to work in such a beautiful building and it's so lovely to read comments like yours regarding our Georgian home. We look forward to welcoming you, your family and the dogs again throughout the summer when our enclosed courtyard offers additonal...

Buckley, Wales
Reviewed 15 February 2015 via mobile

My wife and I decided to try The Commercial for lunch while shopping in Chester. We made a good choice - our meals were delicious ( beer battered fish and chips and seafood platter for one). The prices are really good and the service was excellent. Will definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Welshmod
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, thank you for taking time to write about your meals. I have passed your comments onto the Chef and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our beautiful city. Kind reagrds Rebeca

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2015

I am reviewing this as a bar as we didn't stay in the hotel. We visited this bar on Saturday night, the smell from the ladies toilet was disgusting and a toilet was blocked. When I highlighted it to bar staff they didn't seem interested and said well we have someone that checks them - not on Saturday! The DJ...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank 448Debbie
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Debbie. Thank you for taking time to write about your experience. The toilets are certainly an on going problem for us although it is not the ladies that smell sometimes, its the mens. Although the windows are open, the extractor fans work and we regularly spray and mop it seems that every now and then we have a smell...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2014

We popped in for lunch yesterday having not been in for over a year. It used to be gorgeous, warm and welcoming. It now isn't. The front and back room were all full so we were directed to the annex room which I've only ever been in at night. In the day the decor makes it appear seedy and it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank OrangeClair
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Clair, Thank you for taking time to write your review and in the most part I can agree with you. The Commercial had become tired, we knew that but December was not the time to start any refurbishment. We closed for 3 days a week in January and February and set upon decorating, cleaning and generally sprucing up the...

Reviewed 13 December 2014 via mobile

Where do you start, the lad at the bar very rude and unhelpful, food was horrid and cold, took about 10 minutes to get tomato sauce after asking 3 times. They didn't bother asking if the meals were ok, he was more interested about making a cup if tea rather than serving customers! Avoid this place!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tom J
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tom, Unfortunately there is not alot I can say to your review. If you could let me know which member of staff you had the disappointing experience with I can arrange follow up training. To say "Avoid this Place" from the little you have written makes me think you had a problem with the staff member rather than The...

Askam in Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2014

I have stayed here on two occasions and in two different rooms,both of ehich are very modern,tastefully decorated and clean. The tea and coffee tray is second to non,and there are even little juice sachets,which are very refreshing. The beer and draught larger are very fresh and crisp,and all the staff are welcoming,the cakes are very tasted too.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 321Katrina
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katrina. Thank you very much for taking time to write about The Commercial. It's lovely to hear that you have stayed on a couple of occasions and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your next visit. Best wishes Rebecca

Potton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2014

Before staying at The Commercial you have to understand a few things and their website makes these clear. This is predominantly a music pub with rooms. They don't do weekday evening meals and the breakfasts are standard basic fare served in a bar by people who are not waiters and have other jobs around the premises. That having been said,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CityGardener
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Many thanks for taking time to write a review reagrding the hotel facilities. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and have taken your comments regarding staff into consideration. All the staff multi task which is why sometimes, when someone cannot work a shift, a member from another department steps in to help. Please do not hesitate to...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2014

We hosted a business drinks reception at the hotel last nigh in the downstairs bar. It was an informal gathering of professional business people of around 30. I found the staff to be excellent, friendly and ver accommodating to our requirements. The food was excellent with plenty to go around and the hotel sourced us some fantastic wines for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PaulCharlieEdwards72
Rebecca_DaviesGM, General Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul, thank you for taking time to write a review. I sometimes think visitors to The Commercial see as just a weekend late night bar when we are so much more. Being able to host events such as yours gives The Commercial staff the opportunity to show their skills in other ways. Thank you for your continued support and...

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.4 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
626 reviews
0.3 km away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,556 reviews
0.3 km away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 45 in Chester
1,030 reviews
0.5 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luxury accommodation, a wide selection of drinks, the warmest of welcomes, the liveliest of atmospheres in the most exquisite of locations… ‘…A gem hidden in the heart of Chester…’ We have five beautiful double en-suite rooms, including a luxury 'Lord Byron suite', each with a book of poetry written by their namesake for your enjoyment during your stay. We have 3 high quality entertaining bars serving traditional ales, fine wines, superb spirits and fabulous cocktails. We attract a fun-loving clientele from 18-80, especially at weekends when our renowned resident DJs spin their collective mix of disco-dancing tunes. We will always ensure you are made to feel very welcome at the Commercial and we provide something for everyone, every day of the week! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Commercial Bar & Hotel

Address: Northgate Street | St Peters Courtyard, Chester CH1 2HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: ₹ 5,400 - ₹ 10,309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Commercial Bar & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commercial Bar, Restaurant Hotel Chester
The Commercial Bar, Restaurant And Hotel
The Commercial Bar & Hotel Chester, Cheshire
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Commercial Bar & Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
11 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Commercial Bar & Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay away at weekends”
 of 5 bubbles leew218, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms great loud music can be herd every room so don't like this don't stay”
 of 5 bubbles tobydog, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay in rooms only went to dine”
 of 5 bubbles archiealleni2016, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Keats is above the live music area so pick another if you go to bed early.”
 of 5 bubbles DuncanLlandudno, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There are some nights where there is music going on....probably check when booking...if that's likely to be a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles allanmiller2, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5