We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Coach House Inn

PricelineUS$ 130*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Coach House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

406 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 403: English reviews
Start your review of The Coach House Inn
 Click to rate
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We were in Chester on a wet day and looking for somewhere for coffee and lunch where we could take our two small dogs in. We were welcomed here and enjoyed coffee and lunch with drinks. There is free wifi access. The place is clean, the staff friendly and efficient and the food good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Derek H
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

This place is just perfect. When we arrived we were shown to check in and offered for our bags to be taken to our rooms. The room was absolutely gorgeous and spotlessly clean. The staff were lovely and attentive and we had a great night. Breakfast was nice and when we asked about checkout we were told 11am but to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LauraAndGarey
Elisher D, General Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this kind review! It's so wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at The Coach House so much! I shall be sure to pass your kind comments on to all the staff about the service, and Chef about the breakfast, as we work so hard...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Set on the high road, with outdoor seating it's the perfect place to people watch on a Sunday afternoon. The roast & wine was good value for money, and the service friendly and helpful. Perfect for a quiet drink or full on meal in a brilliant location. Would come again.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Rebecca V
Elisher D, General Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Hi there Rebecca, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review! It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your meal here at The Coach House so much, and that you were able to make the most of the wonderful weather while having a roast outside! Hopefully we will see you again soon, Best Regards

London, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We returned to the Coach House Inn for dinner after visiting here last November. We happened to be in Chester on race weekend and booked an early dinner. It did not disappoint - the restaurant itself is a most pleasant space and the wait staff are very professional and attentive. We ordered a Rioja and when the server poured for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janice D
Elisher D, General Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Hi there Janice, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review! It's always so wonderful to hear when somebody has enjoyed their meal with us so much - especially on days as hectic as the races! I shall be sure to pass your kind comments about the professionalism and quality of the service you received...

Limassol, Limassol, Cyprus
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had three nights here while attending a reunion. The room was a good size, spotlessly clean with a extra large bed. We were greeted with warmth by the staff. During our stay we felt the staff were excellent and nothing seemed too much trouble. Would recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to return

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helen M
Elisher D, General Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Hi there Helen, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this kind review! Here at The Coach House we pride ourselves on our customer service, and it's so lovely to hear that you found the staff so welcoming. We hope to see you again soon! Best Regards

Gloucestershire
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Inn is situated right in the heart of Chester between the Shopping Centre and the Cathedral. There is a multi-storey car park at the rear adjacent to the present bus station, which costs £8.80per day. Charging hours are from 7:000am until 3:00pm, and the car park is locked after 11:30 at night. The Inn has nine rooms, four on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tony50Cheltenham
Elisher D, General Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Hello there, Firstly I would like to take the time to thank you for leaving us this review - it's always wonderful to hear back from our guests, and knowing that you had such a fabulous stay is even better! It's brilliant to hear that our facilities all met up to the high standard that we work so hard to...

Devon
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good welcome. Very comfy room, superb beds good nights sleep. Rooms amazingly soundproof. First breakfast was awful, it put us off eating dinner there. However free hot drinks from the bar. Fresh milk for drinks in room. Fridge in room very useful

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank merrycroft
Elisher D, General Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this feedback! It's always wonderful to hear from our customers, especially when you enjoyed your stay so much! It's brilliant to hear that you love the rooms just as much as we do - we put a lot of care into our redecoration of the hotel, and...

Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here instead of usual chain hotels, fantastic location for Chester City centre and just a short drive to Cheshire Oaks, good sized very clean room, bar and food very good and staff very friendly and helpful No on site parking, but car park is less than 50 yards away....is secure and reasonable cost, for city centre parking

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sjb181
Elisher D, General Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Hi there, Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us this review! It's always wonderful to hear that people have enjoyed their stay with us so much, and that the service and food were up to the high standard that we work so hard for here at The Coach House. Hopefully next time you...

Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2017

This is a Fantastic hotel. Good food, beer and wine. The rooms have been refurbished to a very high standard. All the staff are helpful. The hotel is situated in Chester centre which means once the car is parked you can walk everywhere. This time we caught the bus to Cheshire Oaks which is really worth a visit. We shall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank francesstainton
Elisher D, General Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Hello there, Thank you for leaving us this lovely review! It's so brilliant to hear that we here at The Coach House were able to make your visit to Chester so great, and that you received the high standard of service and quality of stay that we work so hard to achieve. Hopefully we will see you again soon for...

Pershore, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

When I booked, a member of the team called me to confirm my booking as I mentioned I had a disability. This was to let me know about parking, but also that there wasn't a lift. Also confirmed they would find a spot for my scooter and get me a room on the first floor. Very thoughtful and helpful. On...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hoobs
Elisher D, General Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review

Hello there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review - it's always wonderful to hear feedback from our customers, and we appreciate it greatly. It's brilliant to hear that the staff were so helpful in making your stay perfect, and that you loved the room and the decor so much. I shall also be passing your...

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,049 reviews
0.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,595 reviews
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
665 reviews
0.3 km away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Coach House Inn provides luxurious, affordable accommodation in Chester city centre. The eight bedrooms have been refurbished this year to a high standard, providing comfortable, convenient accommodation for our guests.Located next door to the architecturally acclaimed town hall and opposite the famous Chester cathedral, The Coach House provides a perfect base from which to explore Chester and Cheshire. All rooms are non smoking with ensuite and have tea and coffee making facilities, colour televisions, direct dial telephones and free wireless internet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Coach House Inn

Address: 39 Northgate Street, Chester CH1 2HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: ₹ 6,653 - ₹ 9,769 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Coach House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hotel Chester
The Coach House Inn Chester, Cheshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Coach House Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Birmingham
over a year ago
Brisbane, Australia
over a year ago
Pontefract, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Coach House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a room at the front. There was some noise from late night revellers, but it wasn't too bad. The quieter rooms are at the back.”
Tony50Cheltenham, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“1 & 2 were excellent”
merrycroft, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 is the best room. It is quiet and a nice size. Pleasant views of the Cathedral.”
francesstainton, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask about the noisy heating and avoid that room”
marvellousmarie2016, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Have not used the hotel”
loraines708, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$ 130* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
LateRooms.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates