We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The White Horse Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The White Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 95: English reviews
Start your review of The White Horse Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 28 January 2017

The pub looks nice enough, but if you are looking for a room for the night you should look elsewhere. We arrived for a short weekend away, absolutely ruined thanks to this place. Having had no sleep (it was too late to go elsewhere) I wouldn't come here again. Firstly, the room stank, no, not just a little bit, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cookpassbabtridge
Paula R, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam I do not know your name as you clearly made no mention of this to me or my team during your stay so I was unable to resolve your complaint which would have been much easier. Firstly, I am very surprised that the room smelled as we have very high cleanliness scores however if this was the case...

Staffordshire
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Stayed here over New Year as we were visiting friends. Wonderful friendly landlady who went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable. Took our 10 year old daughter and it was great the sofa bed made up with a proper mattress on it. She loved having the double bed to herself. The room was clean and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacxxx
Paula R, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Jackie for you kind review, we look forward to seeing you again when you return in March.

Reviewed 28 December 2016

The first problem was finding it! Make sure of your directions before you set out as it's down a small side Road in a very small village and the sign on the main road through the village has been obscured by brambles! On being shown to our room, which was up a sort of fire escape outside of the main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim V
Paula R, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Hello Kim Thank you for your review and please accept my apologies that your concerns were not dealt with in a better manner. Reading this review was the first time that I was made aware of a problem. We have since checked the door many times and have not had a reoccurring problem so we can only assume that there...

Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

This was our 2nd visit in 3 years to the White horse inn,the staff and rooms are lovely but I was ready for going home at one o'clock in the morning after been kept up with the constant noise from people sitting outside below are room having a cigarette as you can imagine the conversations got louder as the night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen060863
Paula R, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Hi Karen I'm sorry that you were disturbed by any noise but as you know from staying with us before, we are a pub and you had unfortunately booked the room next to the front door. We had a 30th Birthday celebration so it was particularly busy on that night. If it hasn't put you off, which I hope it...

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

We arrived late Saturday evening and were welcomed by the landlady who is very friendly and wanted to please and nothing to much trouble for her. Was shown to our room which was in a quiet courtyard out in the back of the pub and we were in the one of 2 ground floor rooms. The room was very large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stones2012
Paula R, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and do hope that we see you again in the future. We are currently refreshing some of our rooms as we are aware that they would benefit from a fresh lick of paint. The work has already begun and will be completed within...

Reviewed 1 November 2016

Good for families, and dogs, with very friendly and helpful staff. Great spot for walking and cycling. A lovely breakfast was available, with fresh coffee or tea and toast served.We had a room for 3, but it could accommodate 4.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
Paula R, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review, we hope to see you again in the future. Paula

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely quaint room, very clean, staff very friendly & helpful! Couldn't do enough for us. Will definitely stay here again. Reasonable room rate & great breakfast. Quiet village location.Highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
Paula R, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review, it makes our job so much more rewarding. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Visiting family in Chester. Check in smooth very friendly. Lovely clean room - everything as needed. We had two dogs and they were made very welcome. Spacious room with sofa bed. Rain shower was fantastic and you won't want to get out. Toiletries provided. Good wifi. Nice and warm room and very comfy bed. Nicely decorated with lovely touches. Very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
Paula R, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we hope to see you again.

Plouasne, France
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We had a nice big warm room. Staff and locals so friendly and so helpful. Lovely food. Great service. Would definitely stay again So thank you all for making us so welcome. And for all your kindness and help.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pheath2016
Paula R, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

It was our pleasure Peter, thank you for your kind review. Paula

Reviewed 7 October 2016

What an awful place. The room and bathroom were filthy, looking out over car park full of rubbish or a grubby smoking area, depending which way you look. The carpets were stained, the walls were stained, there was dog hair everywhere and the amount of dust, mold and all round grime was worse than any hotel I have ever been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
Paula R, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Andrew,firstly you did not stay with us or give us the opportunity to offer you an alternative room. Instead, you removed your car from our car park and then ran into the pub, threw your key at a member of my staff and rudely told her that you were not staying. Oh....and that was after spending over an hour in...

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
2.7 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarvin
45 reviews
2.8 km away
Roseville Bed & Breakfast
Roseville Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 81 in Chester
75 reviews
7.5 km away
Rowton Court Hotel
Rowton Court Hotel
#32 of 81 in Chester
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Trafford Hall
Trafford Hall
#1 of 1 in Wimbolds Trafford
88 reviews
5.7 km away
Devonia Lodge Guest House
8.1 km away
Fernlea Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The White Horse Inn is a traditional country pub in the heart of the village of Great Barrow, just outside the historic city of Chester. We have been under new ownership since March 2014 and have completed a full renovation of all guest rooms and kitchen since opening. We have a very small menu Thursday-Sunday, the star being our popular home made stone baked pizzas, however we are always happy to accommodate our room guests and offer them a meal plan should they request it. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn

Address: The Village, Great Barrow | Chester, Chester CH3 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: ₹ 4,497 - ₹ 9,402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Inn Hotel Chester
The White Horse Inn Chester, Cheshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The White Horse Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The White Horse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the king room Nice big bed and big bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles pheath2016, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles 232eddieb, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a downstairs room or you have to climb a metal staircase outside.”
 of 5 bubbles RichardC961, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are at the back and quiet. Room 1 was fine apart from a little problem with the position of the TV and the lack of a second chair.”
 of 5 bubbles fazakerly, 28 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Room 2 spacious”
 of 5 bubbles H3601YCgaryc, 10 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5