We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oddfellows

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Oddfellows
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,060 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,055: English reviews
Start your review of Oddfellows
 Click to rate
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

To start ....Friendly, most accommodating staff and wonderful 2 story bedroom. Attention to interesting details...The more you observe the decoupage walls, airplane wing desk, typewriters on the wall the more there is to see. Well located within the city walls and blocks from the best shopping and restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindseywineangel
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I had stayed previously at Oddfellows hotel with my boyfriend 2 years ago and always wanted to go back so when me and my friends were looking at a night away, we considered Chester and I automatically thought of Oddfellows. My and my two girlfriends stayed in an apartment and we had a wonderful stay. The apartment was clean, comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vicki H
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Left disappointed after a night away here. Been looking forward to it for months for my birthday night away with my boyfriend, paid £180 for the night for the Caldecott cottage. We arrived to a receptionist who wasn't very welcoming and told us we couldn't check in yet, we were only 15 minutes early. He said we could drop our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Molly O
Management response:

Dear Molly O Many thanks for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. We were sorry to read some of your comments but thank you for bringing them to our attention and for providing valuable customer feedback. So glad you liked the room (despite the wait for a new hairdryer), enjoyed your meal and...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The bedrooms were very quirky, kitted out with Nespresso machines, digital radios, and a velvety shower (that is technically in the middle of the room with somewhat translucent glass sides; I wouldn't visit with a parent). The restaurant was small but again decorated superbly; the food was lovely, and gluten free requirements were catered for. Wine list was good and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josh W
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Held our sons wedding reception and ceremony here, on good friday what a fantastic time we had , accommodation, food, service, was first rate.Nothing to much trouble for the staff.Thank you to all concerned it was exceptional.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank graylynn2013
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Me and a colleague popped into have a spot of lunch in between meetings. I have stayed here before and it was really good - we walked across Chester as I wanted to show my colleague this really cool place. The service was so poor I wish we had not bothered. 12.30pm on a Thursday lunchtime and it was dead,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The_magic_diner
Management response:

Dear The_magic_diner Many thanks for taking the time to write following your recent visit to us. We were sorry to hear you were disappointed with the service. Please be in no doubt that we have investigated the matter with the team, and we do hope to see you again soon. With best wishes from the Oddfellows team.

leeds
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Location - fantastic Decor - amazing and unusual Bedroom - brilliant Welcome - solemn Bar staff - great Food - gorgeous Service - needs improving Value - worth it To round our stay up , something different , don't expect friendliness and warmth , it's a city centre boutique hotel which is worth a stay but not worth 5 stars

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank helen k
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel was recommended by a friend who had recently stayed. I took my wife for her birthday for a two night stay. There is no on site parking, car park nearby with a discount but it adds another £17 to your stay. Staff are polite and efficient. Ordered the light breakfast in our room for two, only one breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G3989
Management response:

Dear G3989 Thanks for your Trip Advisor review. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. I'm afraid as a city centre hotel, it is made clear that we are unable to offer free on-site parking but can offer a discount at the NCP. Please accept our apologies for the lack of complimentary breakfast-to-go for both of you if you did...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Recently popped in to Odd Fellows to have a beverage with my friend and I was actually appalled! The whole restaurant was pretty quiet with NO staff in sight for a good ten minutes I was walking around like a headless chicken looking for staff to get a coffee, I was waiting for a hay barrel to roll across room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AllegraD123
Management response:

Dear AllegraD123 Thank you for taking the time to write following your visit to us a few days ago. We always take feedback from our guests extremely seriously. Please rest assured that we have investigated the disappointing levels of service provided to you with our team. We do hope to welcome you back in the future. With best wishes.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

To say Oddfellows in Chester is expensive is an understatement your unlikely to get much change, if any from £20 2 drinks but worth it, the staff, the decor, the drinks even the customers from time to time are first class. I've even been a wedding there which was a lovely event. It's not really a place to send the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne S

476 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (450)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (89)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
Other (235)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
8.0 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.4 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,016 reviews
0.2 km away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
1,985 reviews
1.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Oddfellows chester
Oddfellows chester
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As a hotel, bar and restaurant, Oddfellows brings a fresh and unique experience to Chester. The 18 exclusive boutique bedrooms each have their own charm and combination of iconic and contemporary furnishings. The design of the bedrooms is inspired by architect John Douglas who designed Chester’s landmark Eastgate Clock, cinematographer Peter Newbrook who brought the Oscar-winning Lawrence of Arabia to life, and the illustrator Randolph Caldecott whose humorous images were simply irresistible. Complete with The Garden by Simon Radley -our Mediterranean-inspired restaurant - and The Secret Garden - a unique indoors/outdoors oasis; Oddfellows provides the ideal escape... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oddfellows

Address: 20 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: ₹ 6,784 - ₹ 22,008 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oddfellows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oddfellows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oddfellows Hotel Chester
Oddfellows Chester, Cheshire
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oddfellows staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Oddfellows staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We loved having a loft bedroom with king bed and living room on the first floor. Room #16”
lindseywineangel, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for the split level room with bath”
712paul, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The room with the circle bed”
liams964, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We did not stay so no comments on that aspect.”
rodm635, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room that is likely to be less noisy than ob the front. Twins are on the top floor.”
lexisw, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5