We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kirkwood House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Kirkwood House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 63: English reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

As a solo traveller i stayed at kirkwood..check in was fast and friendly..i had a single room at the rear of the main house which really suited me...room in perfect condition and tv..kettle..tea making options...the house keeping was super with excellent cleaning and towel change etc...wi fi was amazing fast and i was happy..cambs town is 15 to 20 minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
Kirkwood2014, Owner at Kirkwood House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and rating. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and in Cambridge, and that everything was to your satisfaction. We look forward to hopefully accommodating you again in the future :)

Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

This guesthouse is a very adorable place, I would recommend anyone that wants a confy place to stay for good money. The bedrooms are clean, there is housekeepers every day to make sure all is cleaned, communicating with 15m walking to city centre and people who works in here are very friendly and I had no problems. I will definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jandira T
Kirkwood2014, Owner at Kirkwood House, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your wonderful comments/sentiments and score rating. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your lengthy stay with us, and we sincerely hope to accommodate you and your friends/family again in the future. We hope that your studies in Cambridge all go well also, and that you settle into your accommodation comfortably :) Thank you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2016

I am very rarely scathing about any hotel or Restaurant. I always think I am quite good at choosing an establishment to suit my needs. I had a single roon in which it was not possible to swing a cat and a bathroom where I could pretty much deal with all ablusions without moving! At £250 for 5 days I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank r11chard188
Kirkwood2014, Owner at Kirkwood House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very flattering, positive feedback. I feel I would like to point out one major issue with this review, and that being that I feel it was written purely out of bitterness and sour grapes. I say this because, not only did you book and pay for a lower rate, non-refundable option room, but, at...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2016

My partner and I stayed at this guesthouse for our trip to Cambridge. It was very good value for money, especially given it's close proximity away from the town centre. You could walk it in 25 minutes (as we did) or you could take a bus. The manager pointed us in the right direction for walking to town, and also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank organisedmadness
Kirkwood2014, Owner at Kirkwood House, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your kind words and wonderful, positive feedback and score rating. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a lovely time in our beautiful city, and we look forward to welcoming you and/or your friends and family back in the future :)

Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2015

Mark who was covering reception was efficient and friendly. Had not realised that by booking with booking.com I had already paid. Room 5 on first floor facing the rear was small but functional. Bed creaked loudly when I sat down. The wooden slats was nearly out so we slotted it back quickly. Bed comfy, quilt thick and was warm as...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank lynda h
Kirkwood2014, Owner at Kirkwood House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review and score rating, and the constructive criticism offered which has been noted. We also like to think of our rooms as clean, comfortable, well equipped, functional and affordable. Though all room and bathroom sizes differ, as long as they meet the above mentioned criteria, we feel that we have the major bases...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2015

We had a good stay at Kirkwood house. The gentleman who was on reception showed us our room in the anex. He was friendly and offered us a map of Cambridge to find our way around. He said if we needed more towels or tea and coffee to let him know. The room was clean and bright. Good quality tea...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Andrea D
Kirkwood2014, Owner at Kirkwood House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and score rating of our Guest House. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and in Cambridge, and that everything was to your satisfaction. We look forward to hopefully accommodating you again in the future.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 8 August 2015

If you're on a budget, this lodging house will do. No breakfast provided but there are supermarkets and eateries around the area, about 5-10 mins walk. Toilet is incredibly small but is clean and hot water is readily available, condition of the room is also acceptable. There's free Wifi but from my room on the 2nd floor the signal is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alvin135
Kirkwood2014, Owner at Kirkwood House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. We feel that we offer clean, comfortable, functional, well equipped and affordable accommodation, and I am pleased to hear/read that it seems that this is what you felt that you received from us :) We hope to accommodate you again in the future.

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 22 July 2015

Its not only that the room was dirty, small and smelly or that the toilet was incredibly small but I also had the worst experience in my life. They didnt let me sleep my last night in the house and when I came back to pick up my bag the day after they didnt let me take it until I...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank avecespeces
Kirkwood2014, Owner at Kirkwood House, responded to this review

Dear Sir I will put your pathetic attempt at trying to slander my property down to pure sour grapes, as you seem to have missed out about 90% of the story as to what actually occurred and why you were charged an extra night. You booked 7 nights with us, and you stayed those 7 nights without any problems whatsoever....

Atlanta, GA
Reviewed 6 May 2015

Arrived after a horrible trip. Was greeted and my room number was changed on the spot "so I didn't have to walk so far". Room directly across the hall from the reception desk. Didn't even have a door knob, obviously was a store room. No desk/table of any kind except one in the corner with the coffee service. Had to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank RetteT
Kirkwood2014, Owner at Kirkwood House, responded to this review

Dear Madam Your room was changed on the spot, so that you were given a ground floor room, due to the fact that within 30 seconds of you setting through our front door, you had the audacity to complain about the distance we are from the train station, and how tired you were, and vent you anger out on us....

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2015

Although "ok" the room looked "tired" the bathroom was tiny and the shower head was broken and wasn't very good. However the bed was nice and comfy and we slept very well. Our room really needed updating though our co travelers did have a much nicer room which did look like it had been decorated more recently. There is limited...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JimmyFB

4 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.5 km away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#21 of 35 in Cambridge
154 reviews
0.0 km away
Lantern House
Lantern House
#74 of 127 in Cambridge
65 reviews
0.2 km away
Carlton Lodge
Carlton Lodge
#76 of 127 in Cambridge
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Arbury Lodge
Arbury Lodge
#40 of 127 in Cambridge
40 reviews
0.1 km away
Worth House
Worth House
#3 of 127 in Cambridge
589 reviews
0.1 km away
Acorn Guesthouse
Acorn Guesthouse
#81 of 127 in Cambridge
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Kirkwood House

Address: 172 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 1DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range: ₹ 4,179 - ₹ 7,481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirkwood House 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Kirkwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkwood Hotel Cambridge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kirkwood House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Find somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles r11chard188, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We found the Wi fi a bit hit and miss but maybe this was just the room we were in.”
 of 5 bubbles 835andread, 11 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Never book a room in this hostel! You will regreat it”
 of 5 bubbles avecespeces, 21 Jul 2015 | Read review
“The closet is room #1, saved for people who don't meet her standards of apparent wealth”
 of 5 bubbles RetteT, 5 May 2015 | Read review
“Number 8 is chilly”
 of 5 bubbles sonicyouth00, 12 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay