We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lynwood House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lynwood House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lynwood House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 131: English reviews
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Lynwood House doesn't look amazing from the outside, being on a main road, but inside it is stunning. It's furnished to a high standard with spacious rooms and high ceilings. We stayed in Room 3 at the back of the house and it was so quiet you would think you were in the secluded countryside. The room and bathroom were...

Thank ABA1972
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share such possitive feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope the interview went well and we will hopefully see you again. Many thanks, Julie

Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is a delightful place to stay. Nick and Julie are very welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. We took Nick’s suggestion and visited King’s College Chapel on the Friday evening for Evensong which was wonderful. The bedroom and bathroom were beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The location is superb, just a short walk across Jesus Green to the centre...

Thank OswestryLyn
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review

We're so glad that you had a great time in Cambridge.Thank you for taking the time to write review. It was lovely to meet you and we hope to see you another time. Best wishes, Julie

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Very clean, cost and welcoming room. The owners are really friendly and the breakfast selection, quality and portions were great! Just a 10-15 minute walk through a park or along the river into the centre. I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Cambridge.

Thank lineyt
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review

Nick and I really appreciate your great comments. We look forward to seeing you again if you return to Cambridge. Many thanks, Julie

Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Lynwood house is a great place to stay. Nothing special from the outside but inside its great. The owners are quite shy but pleasant and escort you to your rooms. We were in the family suite which is perfect size for four people. Comfy beds, lots of sockets, decent tv. Tea and coffee facilities with cookies and sweets. A nice...

Thank Ben P
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review. We are glad to hear that you were comfortable in room 7 and that you enjoyed your breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again if you return to Cambridge. Kind regards Julie

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Perhaps a Certificate of Excellence has its drawbacks. In this case we were disappointed. Because we altered our reservation the landlords changed the confirmed room nr. 3 to nr. 4 without notice. Room 4 was cramped and the website photos are too flattering. The owners forgot that guests do bring luggage! My partner and I were continually in each others...

1Thank ZAS125
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We always appreciate feedback as it allows us to see where we can improve. We’re sorry we didn’t mention the change of rooms when you altered your booking. It is certainly not our intension for our website...

Reviewed 26 October 2013

Just returned from a 2 night break away in Cambridge, staying at Lynwood House. Did a bit of research before booking, which paid off, as the Lynwood ticked all the boxes. We stayed in room 4 which is at the back of the property and is a twin room, it was very tastefully decorated with a lovely shower room ensuite,...

Thank 999Norwich
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review

We're glad you managed to enjoy your visit to Cambridge even with your sprained ankle. (which we hope is now better). Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review and for recommending us to others. Best wishes, Julie and Nick Owners

Royal Tunbridge Wells, England
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed in Lynwood House for a small break in Cambridge. It was a great discovery because of it's location, cleanliness and welcoming service. We couldn't really have asked for more from a bed and breakfast. It was within easy walking distance from the town which allowed us to see all the sites in Cambridge during the day, then return...

Thank sjf8723
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again if you return to Cambridge. Regards, Julie Owner

Oxford, UK
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We were very impressed with Lynwood House. Our room (No 3) was spacious and stylish, with a luxurious ensuite - excellent shower, very nice toiletries, and very fluffy towels. Breakfast was wonderful - a wide range of different things to choose from. We found it very convenient for the centre of Cambridge - about a 10 minute walk, via Jesus...

Thank speedrabbit
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments, we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, Nick and Julie Owners

Redhill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We spent 2 nights at Lynwood House having chosen to visit Cambridge for the 1st time as part of a 2week "holiday at home" (being unable to go away on holiday because of caring for elderly parents). The location is ideal as it`s only a couple of minutes walk to Jesus Green which then takes you on a pleasant 10-15...

Thank Annabellacottonsocks
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review

Nick and I are glad to hear you enjoyed your well earned break with us. You made the most of the sights of Cambridge. We will also pass your comments on to our invaluable cleaner Marcellena. Many thanks, we look forward to welcoming you back. Nick and Julie

Woking, Surrey
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My wife & I stayed for 3 nights and were very impressed with the quality of the accommodation, the great breakfasts and the homely service offered by Julie & Nick. Just 300 yards or so from the River Cam and only half a mile or so from the city centre, it's a fabulous position from which to explore Cambridge and...

Thank Simon R
happygolucky50, Owner at Lynwood House, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate the time taken to share your experience, we're glad to hear you enjoyed our hearty breakfast. We hope to see you again if you return to Cambridge. Best wishes, Julie Owner

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (11)
Room/Suite (5)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Dining (1)
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (33)
Room/Suite (21)
Dining (3)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.0 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,187 reviews
1.4 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.6 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#21 of 36 in Cambridge
159 reviews
1.7 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,613 reviews
1.9 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lynwood house is a beautifully renovated Victorian House situated just north of the river Cam, a short walk to the centre of Cambridge. Our seven spacious rooms have been lovingly refurbished. Luxurious bathrooms with power showers and underfloor heating. Our award winning breakfast is a real treat, with a selection of cereals, homemade granola, fresh fruit, fruit juice and yogurts just to get you ready for our traditional full English with homemade oat crusted potato cake, or choose an omelette with a wide choice of fillings, or haddock and poached eggs or scrambled eggs, our organic breads are baked within 1 mile and delivered straight from the oven to our door. We also have Lynwood house honey from our own bees at the bottom of our garden. We provide modern facilities, free view televisions, media stations, wireless internet access. Hospitality trays with nespresso machine and free parking. No credit card surcharge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lynwood House

Address: 217 Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 1AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range: ₹ 7,685 - ₹ 12,018 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lynwood House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, SpeedyBooker.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Lynwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lynwood House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Lynwood House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 3 at the back of the hotel was nice and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles MartinB310856, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room # 4 was in the back and was very quiet. Going down a couple of steps to the ensuite bathroom was a bit disconcerting.”
 of 5 bubbles A5063MMjohnr, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room no 7 is on level 2, up two flights; queen plus two single beds - I was alone on Business but this is PERFECT for a young family.”
 of 5 bubbles HannahHughes, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rear rooms are quiet, less traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles ElaineR130, 5 Dec 2015 | Read review
“The room I was sleeping in was really quiet”
 of 5 bubbles gloryn420, 27 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5