We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

490 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 462: English reviews
Start your review of Hilton Cambridge City Centre
 Click to rate
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Not a cheap hotel but the extra cost will be due to the location I'm sure. The rooms are good and I have no complaints with any aspect of our stay. If you want to be in the centre with easy access to all the interesting areas within short walking distances then this hotel is ideal.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank christianlY8935FW
RFinn, General Manager at Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear christianiY8935FW, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.com following your earlier stay with us. I was delighted to learn that you found our unrivalled location an ideal base for your trip. I was so glad to read that you had such a positive and enjoyable stay at our hotel. Our paramount aim is 100%...

Yorkshire
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night with my wife, centrally located, didn't use the valet parking, used the Just Park app and parked at the Double Tree a few minutes away which was £16 instead of £25. Very clean hotel with impressive lobby and bar area, room on 4th floor was clean and well presented, a plus was having Sky on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireGucci
About Hotel's Favourite Review
RFinn, General Manager at Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear YorkshireGucci, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Hilton Cambridge City Centre. I was delighted to hear you enjoyed a comfortable stay on this recent visit. I hope that we may get the opportunity to be of service again on a future visit to Cambridge. Happy travelling! Richard.

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

All hotels in Cambridge are , in my experience having stayed here in Cambridge many many times- exceedingly overpriced for what you get. The Hilton is no exception to that rule. However that apart this is a swanky hotel in a lovely central location. Loved the valet parking( costs you £25 for 24 hours) but it works well in an...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kootenaylass
RFinn, General Manager at Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear kootenaylass, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor.com following your recent return visit to Cambridge. You are correct in your observation that Cambridge can be perceived as an expensive City, however all our rates are competitive in the local market and market-led. I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your overall stay at...

London
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Pleasant hotel, nice bar and restaurant areas. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff were outstanding in their helpfulness and efficiency. The breakfast was excellent. Parking is expensive but at least there is parking (valet). I would definitely stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzieinlondon
RFinn, General Manager at Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear suzieinlondon, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor.com following your recent visit to the Hilton Cambridge City Centre. I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, and in particular our breakfast buffet. Please be assured that I have passed your very kind comments to all staff concerned. With thanks...

Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Excellent facilities, helpful and polite staff. Excellent afternoon tea on Sunday. Great parking, friendly concierge staff. Central, easy to walk to most central attractions. Smart, comfortable and clean room. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim1Spence
RFinn, General Manager at Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Tim1Spence, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor.com following your recent visit to the Hilton Cambridge City Centre. I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, and in particular our Afternoon Tea and friendly team. Please be assured that I have passed your very kind comments to all staff...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife myself and our daughter recently stayed at The Hilton Cambridge, Downing street, The staff were all super friendly, professional and made us feel special, nothing was too much trouble, Great breakfast menu nine out of ten would be ten if they had kippers, However one fault, dinner menu limited and poor, we could have resolved this by eating...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank noel h
RFinn, General Manager at Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear noel h, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.com following your earlier stay with us. I was delighted to read that you found our unrivalled service and great breakfast buffet menu excellent, and that you all enjoyed your recent stay with us. By the way, we do have breakfast kippers available to order a...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Sometimes the brand cannot deliver and in Cambridge it doesn't. A beautiful city full of character needs a similar backdrop for a hotel, sadly this is a dull hotel. My first experience was my booking being deleted due a card issue, it would have been nice to be told rather than emailed. When I arrived early they wanted an early...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcusotbc
RFinn, General Manager at Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Marcusotbc, Thank you for your review and opinion of our hotel. I categorically deny that we are dull and soulless, and based on the majority of other reviews on this site we are not. However, I can only apologise if you felt this way and we did not meet your expectations. Clearly you are entitled for your opinion and...

Hopkinton NH
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed for a weekend in between business meetings. There was everything right about my stay. Prompt and friendly check in, spacious and immaculately clean room, comfortable bed with a quiet night'a sleep are great starters. The hotel is in the heart of the city, yet only a mile from the train station. It was a tad tricky to navigate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmasci
RFinn, General Manager at Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear jmasci, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.com following your earlier stay with us. I was delighted to learn that you found our unrivalled location an ideal base for your business trip. I was so glad to read that you had such a positive and enjoyable stay at our hotel. Our paramount aim is...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Hilton Cambridge attending a wedding held in the hotel. I paid handsomely for my double room which was very comfortable and clean with beautiful sheets on the bed and soft pillows for my head. My room was at the front of the hotel overlooking the street where I wasn't disturbed by noise or traffic. My only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amanda947
RFinn, General Manager at Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear amanda947, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor.com following your recent visit to the Hilton Cambridge City Centre for a wedding. I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your overall stay at the hotel, and in particular our comfy beds. Please be assured that I have passed your very kind comments to all...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel clearly lacked sufficient staff. Check in was slow and unhelpful. A bit of initiative and attempt to understand what they guest was requesting would have been helpful. The lady and young man behind the lobby bar showed no urgency to come to us to take our order. Until the manager by the name of Shehan took our order....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HG19
RFinn, General Manager at Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review

Dear HG19, Thank you for your review and for choosing the Hilton Cambridge City Centre for your recent stay. I was sorry to read that you stay was not indicative of our usual high service standards and can only apologise for the perceived lack of service team members whilst you were with us. Whilst we were extremely busy during your...

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,190 reviews
0.6 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,626 reviews
0.5 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
396 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
851 reviews
3.0 km away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hilton Cambridge City Centre is superbly located at the heart of the city, an ideal base to explore the many attractions on our doorstep, fantastic shopping, cobbled streets, amazing architecture, historic and stunning colleges and not forgetting the River Cam flowing gently along the 'backs.' This modern 4-star hotel is a 5-minute walk from Kings College, Cambridge Corn Exchange and the bus station. 10-minutes' walk takes guests to peaceful riverside parks and pubs. Travel to Ely or historic market towns such as St Ives or Huntingdon. Newmarket Races hosts some of the racing calendars most prestigious racing programmes. Imperial War Museum at Duxford home of the World War II Museum, Concorde, and other famous planes such as Spitfire and Lancaster bomber. All 198 of the stylish, contemporary air-conditioned rooms and suites offer free Wi-Fi. Together with self-contained conference and event facilities, guests of our 4 star Cambridge Hotel also benefit from on-site Valet car parking and fitness room. Guests can enjoy seasonal British dishes in the The Book Room Restaurant. The Book Room Bar offers an extensive wine, spirit and cocktail menu as well as Afternoon Tea. For those seeking more of a casual dining experience, we offer lighter bites and snacks in the lounge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Address: 20 Downing Street, Cambridge CB2 3DT, England (Formerly Cambridge City Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Price Range: ₹ 12,170 - ₹ 27,199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotel.de, LateRooms, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Cambridge
Crowne Plaza Hotel Cambridge
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton Cambridge City Centre staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Cambridge City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No problem with a room overlooking the street regarding noise”
 of 5 bubbles amanda947, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms near 326 - noisy pipes”
 of 5 bubbles robina167, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the street would be nice and have more light”
 of 5 bubbles BrigitteR994, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Executive sweets have room to work and lots of comfort”
 of 5 bubbles TravelingJ969, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Far from train station but still you can walk for 10 min”
 of 5 bubbles LeedsLeisure, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5