We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Clifton Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Clifton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

597 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Clifton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 574: English reviews
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Having a room on top of the DJ's mixing desk was never going to result in a good nights sleep. Overpriced and no concept of being a hotel. I have paid less for 5 star quality in many other cities. Eye of the Tiger at full volume at 12.30am......

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Richard H
Jamie-Lee V, Front Office Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard H, I am very sorry to hear that you had a disrupted nights sleep whilst with us at The Clifton. The bar downstairs only has a license to play music until 12.30am so I am slightly confused as to why there was still music playing at this time. I will be keeping an eye on this. I do...

Copenhagen Region, Denmark
Reviewed 21 September 2015 via mobile

Small hotel with good service and a wonderful staff. 24 hours service - the receptionists are ready to helt you with anything - at any time. Complimentary fruit, coffee and tea in the rooms. Cozy restaurant/pub in the basement. Within walking distance from shopping and restaurants. Very good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten M
Jamie-Lee V, Front Office Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kirsten M, Thank you so much for this great review. I am so glad that you had such a pleasant stay here and experienced the excellent customer service that we aim to give all our guests. The complimentary hospitality tray with fresh fruit and homemade biscuits always seems to go down well! Do come back and stay with us...

West Midlands
Reviewed 15 September 2015

We stayed here for one Friday night recently as we had a university open day visit the following day. We were surprised to find the hotel entrance was between two large areas where crowds of people were drinking (there is a bar in the basement) and where there was an extremely noisy atmosphere. Check in was a desk in what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chui-Ling
Jamie-Lee V, Front Office Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chui-Ling, As we discussed on the phone, last weekend was a particularly busy weekend for us here. We had some large groups staying as well as numerous people visiting for the university open day. I do apologise for the noise you experienced and hope that the refund we have given you would make up for this. Our reception area...

Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2015

I booked 4 'Executive Double' rooms for myself and three colleagues and we shared the same experience. The room was tiny, the bathroom required a contortion exercise to access the washbasin, there was no suitable chair to allow the use of the laptop on the miniscule desk (I had to move the desk paraphernalia onto the bed, and perch on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeeJayat60
Jamie-Lee V, Front Office Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DeeJayat60, It’s great to hear that you found the staff here really helpful and pleasant. They all work very hard in order to give every guest who stays excellent customer service. I am sorry to hear that the size of your room did not suit your needs. Please be assured that if you were to come and stay again...

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 7 September 2015

Very good value/price. I stayed in a single room with bathroom. The room was spacey, clean, relatively quiet. Very close to the city centre (10 minutes), staff is helpful. The only negative comment: the internet is not included in the price (but it is affordable: 8 pounds for a week), and in the peak hours (evening) sometimes breaks down.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank micimack0
Jamie-Lee V, Front Office Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear micimack0, Thank you very much for this great little review! Excellent value for money is exactly what we hope our guests will receive. Like you mentioned our location here is so convenient, lots of people really appreciate it so I’m glad you did too. Just to make you aware wifi is free for guests that book with us directly...

Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 September 2015

We stayed for 9 nights at The Clifton Hotel. The staff were extremely friendly. The beds were comfortable and the coffee/tea facilities were refreshed every day with 3 pieces of fruit every day. However, some inconveniences. Both room and especially corridor were extremely hot. A ventilator was provided and we used it, which helped somewhat. The bathroom was OK, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
Jamie-Lee V, Front Office Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RobertH, Many thanks for this great review! It is such an encouragement to us here at The Clifton when someone has a really pleasant stay and appreciates the friendly staff! I am glad to hear that the reception team helped you out as best as they could with the heat issues you experienced. In regards to the parking it...

Tavistock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2015

Stayed here for a week whilst with the Devon Golf team. Our room was lovely and the housekeeping staff very pleasant when we bumped into them. It must have been a nightmare trying to sort out out team for dinner every night as we had to pre order every day for that evening. quite a few times they got it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shezza8105
Jamie-Lee V, Front Office Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear shezza8105, Thank you so much for this really great review. I am very pleased to hear that you found the staff in the hotel and restaurant friendly and that your room was lovely. Racks is a very popular restaurant in Bristol so this may explain some of the longer waits you had at dinner. However, it’s good to hear...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2015

The room has all the necessary elements one needs for a short stay. Personally, a mini-fridge would come handy, but is really not a necessity. Furniture is starting to show signs of (miss)use, but nothing relevant. Good restaurant, and good breakfast service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank armelro
Jamie-Lee V, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear armelro, Thank you for your kind review of The Clifton. I am pleased that you found the hotel to be adequate for you needs and that you enjoyed the food in Racks Bar & Kitchen. Some of our Executive Rooms do have mini-fridges installed and we would be more than happy to pre-allocate you a room with a fridge...

San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Last week I stayed in the hotel for a couple of nights. I absolutely loved the breakfast, I must say that I am a big breakfast lover so it was a good plus. The rooms where fine and spacious. The receptionist was really good, and friendly with a big welcoming smile. In summary good place, great location good price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabo Q
Jamie-Lee V, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alberto1423, Thank you very much for your lovely review of The Clifton Hotel. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you found the room to be spacious and the front of house team to be friendly and welcoming. I will pass your kind comments regarding breakfast onto the breakfast...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2015

A reasonable budget hotel close to centre of Bristol. Staff helpful and bar (in basement) good. Probably best for younger people (am not 100 despite sounding like it!??!?!) No air conditioning and opening windows was noisy

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ewan C
Jamie-Lee V, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ewan C, Thank you very much for reviewing The Clifton Hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you found us to be good value for money and ideally located close to Bristol City Center. I am happy that you found the front of house team to be friendly and helpful and that you were able to enjoy Racks...

143 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 km away
The Washington
The Washington
#28 of 37 in Bristol
613 reviews
0.5 km away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#26 of 37 in Bristol
481 reviews
0.7 km away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#29 of 37 in Bristol
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Berkeley Square Hotel
Berkeley Square Hotel
#30 of 37 in Bristol
513 reviews
1.2 km away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#24 of 37 in Bristol
859 reviews
1.0 km away
Travelodge Bristol Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clifton Hotel is situated in an ideal location for visiting Bristol within walking distance of both Clifton Village and the City Centre. A small and independent hotel part of the Clifton Hotels Group we provide clean and comfortable accommodation at competitive prices. We welcome guests with a smile priding ourselves in providing levels of customer service that were mentioned in our recent AA report as being of five star standards. We hope that guests enjoy the relaxed café reception area and our busy and vibrant restaurant Racks. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel

Address: St Paul's Rd | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: ₹ 3,752 - ₹ 7,838 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clifton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Clifton Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Clifton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For a quiet room it would be better to ask for a room at the back of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles welshigirl, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“there are a lot of stairs,not suitable for a disabled person”
 of 5 bubbles busyfamilytraveller, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“High up the rooms are quieter. Probably nicer views at the side of the hotel that's not above the terrace of the wine-bar.”
 of 5 bubbles amdgriggs, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Top floor has least noise from the bar and road, but the walls are thin.”
 of 5 bubbles 356JudyS, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 22 which is the opposite side to the restaurant racks”
 of 5 bubbles LPG52, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5