We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Clifton Hotel

Hotels.comUS$ 58*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 58*
US$ 59*
US$ 58*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Clifton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

629 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 604: English reviews
Start your review of The Clifton Hotel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The room was a good size with a modern bathroom. The fresh fruit, tea and coffee was a lovely bonus and the staff were lovely, especially Dorotea. We were visiting some friends and it was perfectly located near the city centre. Thank you The Clifton for a fab stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank h0lidays123456
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

There's a lot that needs fixing about this hotel: v tired decor, tiny bedroom and shower, etc but it is a wonderful location and the young staff are excellent: friendly, fresh,interested . Especially appreciated the personal phone call from Alex explaining that we'd been transferred from another hotel in the same group

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anontraveller2017
Nottingham
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was too small. Bed was uncomfortable. Bed linen was itchy. Room was dirty an dusty. Room was hot and uncomfortable to sleep in. Toilet space cramped. Shower was broken. Water pressure was too low. Not enough electrical sockets. It is a shame because the hotel is situated in a great location, but needs serious refurbishment and repair. We will...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank danU4291QH
Jack C, Front Office Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear danU4291QH, Thank you for taking the time to review The Clifton. I am verry sorry to hear that you experienced some problems with your stay. We have invested heavily in refurbishing our standard room types over the last year, and have just opened a lovely new garden area in front of the hotel, so I am dissapointed to hear...

Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here as part of a hen party package, there was a group of us spread across 4 rooms. 3 of our rooms were near each other but unfortunately 1 group was separated and put 2 floors down from us. The hotel has a secure car park nearby which had plenty of spaces even though it was easter weekend....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zoe P
Jack C, Front Office Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Zoe P, Thank you for taking the time to review The Clifton. I am pleased that we were able to group 3 of your rooms together, and although we were unable to do this with the fourth room, I trust that it did not cause too much of an inconvenience and that you were happy to use the lift...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was here for the weekend for a catch up with friends at a party. The room was lovely, clean and welcoming. Doretea who checked us in was super friendly as were Roisin and Marek who were our check our and night porter. Staff were friendly, polite and helpful, great venue with bar and restaurant on site, fan be a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michymoo70
Jack C, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Michelle, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your lovely review. It is most appreciated. Dorotea, Roisin and Marek will be delighted to read your comments. They all work extremely hard to provide great customer service so it is so nice to see this is appreciated by customers. We would love to have you back at...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really enjoyed staying here for a hen weekend. There were 19 of us, and it worked out perfectly for location, price and comfort. The staff were all really helpful and friendly and made the booking process so seamless (even when our numbers and requirements kept on changing). The breakfast was really good (service a little slow due to how...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lauranne81
Jack C, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lauranne81, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. I am glad to hear that you had a great stay with us. I shall pass on your comments to the team, they will be delighted. As you say our location, value for money and great service make us the perfect choice for groups looking to spend...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent service at the hotel, staff were very kind and accommodating - had a very late check in but it was no trouble. Room was very clean and I would stay again. I found the hotel very quiet and peaceful also

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cedgec0mbe
Jack C, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi cedgec0mbe, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. It is most appreciated. I am so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us at the Clifton and found the hotel clean and the staff excellent. We would love to have you back again soon. Kind regards, Jack Chesher

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

An inexpensive hotel with character, and a great location for university, centre and Clifton, with private parking close by. A good sense that the hotel has a positive attitude, is attending to details and making improvements (smart new bathroom, but dated bedroom) very clean, but avoiding the chinz and swag of the chain hotels. A pleasant individuality, a welcoming cafe-cum-reception,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachelcreate
Jack C, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Rachel, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. I am so pleased to hear that you found us to be convenient, clean and characterful. I am also delighted to hear, as a repeat customer, that you recognise that we are investing a lot in the hotel at the moment. I shall pass on your comments...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel offers great value for money and is ideally situated for Bristol University as well as the parks, independent shops, museums and galleries of Clifton. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful - nothing was too much bother! Although my room was on the small side it was cosy, clean and comfortable. The breakfast on offer was also of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher_Farr
Jack C, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Chris, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your lovely review! As an independent business we rely on reviews from happy customers such as yourself to help us compete with the big corporate chains. I am so glad to hear that you found us conveniently located and the staff friendly and helpful. They all work extremely...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

They try very hard fruit in your room etc, I chose a single executive room it was small about 7 ft wide with a en suite . The hotel has a cheap makeover with new but poor painting in main corridors and meeting places. There is new carpet over tired banisters and steps. The doors and nos are very poor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michael m
Jack C, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mike, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am glad you found us good value for money and appreciated the personal touchs we like to add such as the fresh fruit in the rooms. I am surprised you were given the impression the whole hotel has had a full refurbishment. We are in the process of...

134 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 km away
The Washington
The Washington
#28 of 37 in Bristol
646 reviews
0.5 km away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#32 of 37 in Bristol
537 reviews
0.7 km away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#31 of 37 in Bristol
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#29 of 37 in Bristol
495 reviews
1.1 km away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#27 of 37 in Bristol
891 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clifton Hotel is situated in an ideal location for visiting Bristol within walking distance of both Clifton Village and the City Centre. A small and independent hotel part of the Clifton Hotels Group we provide clean and comfortable accommodation at competitive prices. We welcome guests with a smile priding ourselves in providing levels of customer service that were mentioned in our recent AA report as being of five star standards. We hope that guests enjoy the relaxed café reception area and our busy and vibrant restaurant Racks. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel

Address: St Paul's Rd | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: ₹ 3,545 - ₹ 7,667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clifton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Clifton Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Clifton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the side street are quieter”
anontraveller2017, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“rooms not near the lift”
zoep239, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room”
keithd649, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“My friend asked and got a quieter room on the first floor the other side of the building to the resuarant/bar, and pub opposite.”
miggins2017, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check radiator thermostat & eat out!”
Deb121orah, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$ 58* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 59
Hotwire.comUS$ 58
TravelocityUS$ 58
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates